Male and female catkins bloom on Goat WillowsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #spring5 years ago

Goat willow (Salix caprea) is a tree that has only one kind of catkins on each tree either male or female.

The names of these flowers are male catkins and female catkins.

The most eye-catching are male catkins. Male trees produce only male catkins. They are large, have a beautiful yellow colour and are available in abundant quantities.

Female catkins are found on female trees. They do not bloom as abundantly as paint catkins, but they have their own beauty. The female catkins have more greenish in colour. The female catkins are the ones that form seeds.

In the photo series, the first two pictures are of male catkins. The last two images show the female catkins.

Beautiful flowers now in the spring. Later in the spring, the leaves of the trees will pop out, and the flowers will disappear.

Many take in twigs of the Goat willow and put them into a vase for decoration.

DSC_0100.jpg

DSC_0097.jpg

DSC_0066.jpg

DSC_0065.jpg

Sort:  

Great photos and very informative information, my Dear friend @Siggjo. This gave birth to several thoughts. This is strange, but I know few trees that have two sexes. Only poplar, birch, mango, willow, cornel, kiwi, or actinidia come to my mind; perhaps I knew something else, but I forgot, it seems that apricot is two sexes. These trees are directly dependent on bees and other insects that pollinate inflorescences. In nature, everything is provided, but man tries to reshape everything for himself. About ten years ago, I did not hear about tomatoes and cucumbers that do not need to be pollinated, now they are. At the same time, people are sounding the alarm that the bees are dying out, but nobody says what kind of chemistry people pour under these hybrids and what nectar the bees have to carry as food to their offspring. I hope that no one will come to mind to grow a hybrid of willow, which will not be able to please us with such a variety of spring inflorescences.

Nice to hear that you value both my articles and my photos @Barski
You should know that I appreciate your detailed and useful feedback on what I have posted.
When I read your comments, they testify to your excellent knowledge of various topics.
And often our comments complement my text with additional valuable information.
Most often I learn something new when I read your comments
Many thanks @Barski

Before, I would not be able to distinguish the female catkins from the male catkins.

Now, thanks to your interesting publications, I even know their distinctive features!
Thank you for such interesting information, dear @Siggjo

At my house, too, are branches of these wonderful trees :-)

Thank you for the excellent macro photography!

Fine to read that you learn something when you read the text of the pictures I post @Singa
Many thanks for writing so detailed comments about both the articles and my photos.
I appreciate that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05