Some of My Favorite Winter Squash

in #squash5 years ago

P.jpg
Recently, I posted about carving squash for Halloween. With Halloween in the rearview mirror, we are barreling towards Thanksgiving time in the United States. If the only squash we saw in October was an orange pumpkin, things change a great deal in November. The pumpkins we know and love (along with the immature zucchini I was carving in that recent post), are simply different members of the squash family.

Squash of many sizes, colors, and shapes are common during this part of the autumn season. They generally are called winter squash because they are mature and hardened enough to survive into the winter and provide a source of cold weather food for those who store them. With modern refrigeration and the availability of imported food, this may have become less important, but our ancestors have always stored squash for food through the winter.

For some reason, I really like squash in many of its forms. Here are some of my favorites. Most photographs were taken by the author, except for those separately credited below.

P2.jpg

Pumpkins

Okay, I had to start with these. Even though we’ve been through this for Halloween, pumpkins are awesome. I enjoy carving them for jack-o-lanterns. Some varieties are reasonably good for eating once they are cooked. But as far as eating squash, the orange pumpkin is not as good overall as some other kinds. Don’t forget that there are other colors also, including white and dark green spheres. The dark green ones are sometimes called blue. Pumpkin seeds can be roasted for a healthful snack also, which is true of most squash seeds, though some kinds make better seeds for eating than others do.

B.jpg

Butternut

Butternut squash is probably the most well known culinary variety and for good reason. These squash, though they may be less impressive on the outside with plain beige skin, taste delicious. Butternut squash soup is a family favorite each year. Bake it, roast it, steem it, puree it and use as a puree or filling. Butternut squash is sweet and delicious.

H.jpg

Hubbard

This is an old time squash variety and some version of it probably has been used for centuries. Hubbard squash can come in different forms and colors. Most common may be the blue hubbard. It could be described as a teardrop shape, perhaps, with a slatey blue exterior that is orange on some kinds (the image above shows a blue one and part of an orange one on the left). The flesh of the hubbard can be dense and is sweet, though less so than the butternut. All around, it makes for very good fresh eating.

G.jpg

Gourds

The term “gourds” normally applies to ornamental kinds of squash that are grown as décor rather than for their food potential. An assortment of gourds this time of year normally includes some twisty and bumpy shapes in green, gold, and perhaps also white and orange. Gourds can be hollowed out and used to make birdhouses, lanterns, and other objects. They also last a long time and make a nice table decoration this time of year. But they generally do not produce much food and it is not as good in quality as others.

A.jpg

Acorn

The great mystery of the acorn squash is where its name came from. Just kidding! These squashes are shaped a lot like acorns. They are small, pointed, and ridged. Their skin is usually green with a touch of orange, though if you let them sit around the orange color spreads. Inside, the flesh is golden or a pale orange. It tastes nutty and not as sweet as a butternut squash. These make for great eating, though, because they are fun to cook. You can halve them, hollow out the seeds, bake the squash, and then stuff them (before or after baking, depending on the filling) with something you like to eat.

L.jpg

Long Island Cheese Pumpkin

While these are called pumpkins, they’re basically another variety of squash. The name comes from this squash’s resemblance to an old style wheel of cheese. Inside, the flesh can be intensely orange. The flavor is sweet, smooth, and creamy when used as a puree or for a soup. We do not see them too commonly in my part of the country, since I think they grow best in the northeastern climate, but I’ve enjoyed eating them a few times.

KabochaCCsoLeblanc.JPG

Kabocha

I was an adult when I tasted a kabocha for the first time. I thought it was more like a sweet potato than a squash. The flesh inside is almost dry, crumbly, and extremely sweet. The popularity of kabochas seems to have spread in the U.S. recent years, perhaps fueled by Asian immigration and culinary tastes. This is definitely one of the best kinds of squash.

DelicataCCgreenmountaingirlsfarm.jpg

Delicata

These are small squash that are usually tan with green netted striping. The shape is somewhere between a pill and a papaya. The have a very mild flavor, as the name suggests. Some prefer a sweeter squash, but if you want that, you could spread a little sugar or honey on top before baking these. They also work well when stuffed and baked, taking less time in the oven than some others due to their small size.

Photos by the author except for Kabocha and Delicata. Kabocha: Creative Commons via Wikimedia.com by So LeBlanc, Delicata: Creative Commons via Wikimedia.com by Greenmountaingirlsfarm.

Sort:  

you people cook pumpkin in so many ways, and habituate to eat those dishes. but in my country we have 2/3 traditional recipies, and we used to eat like this. personally I just hate this veg. whenever mom cook it I get angry and stop eating at home! hahahaaa.
But in your photos it really look awesome!

I have a friend who hates eating squash, so you're not the only one who doens't like it! Nice to look at, though.

Excellent review and beautiful photos, my friend, I certainly have some idea about pumpkins and many times used them as food, but today you showed me how many varieties there are and what can be done with them. We unfortunately have one or two varieties of pumpkins growing, but now my knowledge has become much more! Thank you @donkeypong

Yes, there are many kinds. They do seem to vary by region also.

There is also some regions without pumpkins))

Brother, how are you? I did not know the great variety of pumpkins that there are, I have only seen one type and it is the most common where I live, in truth that of your posts you learn a lot, my respects for you brother, at home you have made pumpkin pie, cream pumpkin, pumpkin arepa and we use it in soup, you encourage me to make a publication about pumpkin chicha, my grandmother prepares it and it fits very well.

My regards, brother!

That sounds great!

Friend, how are you? what a variety of pumpkins exist, I live in Venezuela and I have only seen one guy, because of the crisis that Venezuelans are experiencing, the pumpkin has often been our savior, from them a variety of dishes can come out and it is economical.

Grateful with your post, I like to learn and you put heart to what you write.

In my area, Aceh has no Halloween celebrations. So Pumpkin is only used to make cakes and cooked as a complement to eating rice.

It goes very well with rice.

I was planning on eating stir-fry leftovers for dinner, but now I really want some squash! Acorns are the ones that we most commonly eat, but I've seen a few of the others recently. I might need to do a store run to pick a few up. What do you call a bunch of squash? Is it a bushel? Or is that apples and such? Heh

I have never seen a white pumpkin before, maybe I should browse more , I really like them but they are not easy to come by in Africa, just few places and in my country 9ja you need to search very well, I have never see one in my local government in an open market. Meanwhile I have mentioned you several times saying one thing I really like about your blog.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. "White" pumpkins are kind of creamy white or grey on the outside. On the inside, they are normal pumpkins with pumpkin flesh that is not white.

W.jpg

I have never tasted any other than pumpkin and butternut.
Sounds good. Will look out and give them a try

Oh I love eating squashes, but only when my mother prepare it, taste is just amazing. I'm really not sure what kind of squashes do we eat from your post. :D And only thing that I know that Hubbard are meant for decoration here. :D

It is very healthy! Thank you for reminding!
I'll eat it today)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89