Lazy man garden coming right along

in #ssglife5 years ago

Over my on call shift I was able to get some work done in the garden. I've been collecting cardboard for my Lazy Man garden. This is how I use it. You can see it in this picture running down the aisles. Then I use smaller pieces in between plants. Now I won't have to weed the garden the rest of the year, and maybe next year too.

IMG_20190801_074306860.jpg

I ran out of straw on my last row of potatoes. Here you can see all the cabbage, spinach and lettuce varieties are done.

IMG_20190801_074336407.jpg

More garden updates coming soon. I can't believe how well it is doing for getting it in the ground so late.


Proud member of #Steemsilvergold.

DQmYeRXrmb4fhJ8e6pYYGjAx9SCZSrW7cfuYFH9TQP5NXYX.png

Sort:  

I learned something new again!!! Thanks, @vgholdingsllc!

It's Good to Learn something New. I Learned something New once I saw the Cardboard Too.................

The cardboard and straw breaks down and helps your soil. You ever pick up a piece of something that has been on the ground a while? Notice it always has a bunch of worms? Worm castings are excellent for the garden. People even pay money for it. This way I get all I want for free!

Posted using Partiko Android

I used to have two worm bins in my first home.

You never cease to amaze me @silversaver888!

You’ll be eating salads in no time. 🙃

I've already been using our lettuce in salads. Soon will be adding our tomatoes, cucumber and onions!

Those cabbage look strong and will probs give you a great crop. I've never tried the staw growing way for potatoes. Everyone I do know that has, has always had a great crop of spuds. Can't wait to see what you get.

Yeah I'm hoping for a decent sized potato harvest. Last year we did pretty good. Updates coming soon @welshstacker!

Looking good man! These posts just get me more excited to start a garden next year.

Thanks @plaid. Just wait. Fresh food from the garden tastes so much better. Even better than the stuff you get at Farmers Markets. Can't wait to see what you plant next year.

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

With a click bait title like that, I had to have a look at what you are doing! When you have that much ground to cover, you need to make life a bit easier for yourself.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Thank you vgholdingsllc! You've just received an upvote of 74% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Hi, @vgholdingsllc!

You just got a 0.62% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Nice! What grow zone are you in?

I'm in the middle of Michigan. Not sure of our zone...but it's getting cold here already at night. LOL. I'm working on a greenhouse made out of old trampoline frames. That will be coming soon.

Ooo, I'd love to see that. I have one of those and would like to make good use of it. Yeah, Michigan is pretty cold. I'm near Raleigh NC. We had a nice cool week here but our second summer (lol jk) is about to start tomorrow. We jump back up to mid to upper 80's and some days next week we are due to hit 90 again. Yet the nights are cool. Tonight is somewhere in the low 50's. Such odd weather here in NC. haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14