A JOURNEY OF SELF-LOVE

in #stach-dsw5 years ago

imagePixabay CC0


Hello, my name is @imbigdee and I am on a journey
See,
I have been rejected, dejected and subjected to pain, anguish and disappointment
By the very people I call my friends and family members
I have been told I will never be somebody in this life
I never listened to those words
I really want to be somebody so I set myself on a journey of self-love
If I love myself, I won't accept failure
If I love myself, I won't accept those words
I struggled hard and never stopped
And today, I am better than most of them because I chose to love myself.

I was born through pain and blood
I came out with a straight face but the doctor smacked me till I cried
Why did he? Is it because of my big head?
I grew up to be chastised and bullied
Some people even nicknamed me "Edward"
Just because of my imperfection
Then I found myself on this journey of self-love
I stopped caring about what others say
I fell in love with myself completely including my imperfection
Because I know, if I don't love myself no one will
And today, self-love has made me found true love.

Finally,
I love myself too much to be rejected
I love myself too much to be dejected
I love myself too much to be troubled
I love myself too much to be broken
I love myself too much to be hurt
I love myself too much and that's what I call self-love
Because I know if I don't love myself first, I will never know the value of LOVE.


This is my presentation on Stach discord server for Stach-DSW (Stach Discord Spoken Word) hosted by @winarobert yesterday. It was a great show and there were great presentations too.

My Thoughts: Self-love actually helps us reset to factory settings when we go too far to please people or find what is not lost. If we can find way to love ourselves, we can truly understand how love truly works. If we find ourselves hurt or broken, let us not cry or panic too much, we should love ourselves first before going back. A journey on self-love is a journey to finding happiness and true love. Thank you.


@imbigdee writes.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @imbigdee!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 1.687 which ranks you at #31533 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1385 places in the last three days (old rank 32918).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 312 contributions, your post is ranked at #2. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75