Game Over

in #stachpoetry6 years ago

My breath plays with my body
It's the game of hide and seek
I catch it, then it disappears again
Each grasp a little shorter than the last

I feel it's arrival before I see it
Its evil grin takes dominance in my mind
I taste its overwhelming presence
I know I'm done yet I remain

It leaves again, my breath
This time I'm reluctant to catch it
But it is forced back into my lungs
Death still wants to play

It stares at me and I return the gaze
My family weep, but I'm at my strongest
I smile as it holds the breath one last time
Then I feel nothing. Game over.

image
Pixabay Creative Commons


This is my entry for the Stach Poetry Contest.

Sort:  

This game is very fun. https://reurl.cc/9EGMj

Nice and scary poem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11