Star Wars And The Toxic Web

in #star-wars6 years ago (edited)

Social media is full of short aggressive opinions. The responses to these opinions become are also angry in tone, which creates online arguments. There seems little place for intellectual discussion.

This surely is not what the Internet was created for.

This could relate to most topics, politics, news, music, sports and movies

1282288_L.jpg

I Love Star Wars

I'm going to focus here with one of my favourite obsessions. Star Wars. I’ve loved Star Wars since I was a young boy. At that point, there was just the original trilogy to contend with.

Many years later, we have prequels and sequels and some new anthology films. In particular, I'll point to Episode 8: The Last Jedi (2017), directed by Rian Johnson. I was fortunate to see it a day earlier than the general release. I was free of any preconceptions or reaction.

2369316_L.jpg

The Last Jedi Is A Masterpiece

I'm glad of that. I thought the film was amazing. It was everything that I wanted from a Star Wars movie. Adventurous and risk taking. Many thought it was going to be a copy of The Empire Strikes Back. It wasn't, but I came away with the feeling that this was the best Star Wars for a long time.

I did not want to spoil anything about the movie for anyone, therefore I would refrain from posting any opinion about the movie. Instead, I would wait the next few days for the reaction. In terms of my own personal friends, some shared my opinion, others were more lukewarm about the movie.

1084773_L.png

However, there soon became an army of haters who absolutely loathed the movie. According to them, director, Rian Johnson, had ruined Star Wars for them. Completely.,

I have no problem with people disliking the movie. People are entitled to their opinion. But constant online abuse in the direction of those concerned with the movie is not fine.

1542459_L.jpg

"Manbabies"

Earlier this week, Kelly Marie Tran, who played a new character, Rose, had decided to wind up one of her social media accounts. She had received all types of abuse, including some regarding her appearance.

Rian Johnson came out of support for her, whilst calling these trolls, “manbabies.” I agree with Rian, that they are exactly what these people are. Big babies that can't get over themselves. In fact, I'm going to to call them manbabies for the rest of this blog.

These “manbabies” have used hashtags such as notmystarwars. I have some news for them. It was never your Star Wars. It is the Star Wars of whoever is in control. Originally that would be George Lucas and next it will be J J Abrams Star Wars when he directs Episode 9.

1193161_L.jpg

Everything Must Go

If Star Wars is going to run with annual movies, it is not going to get away with them sticking to one formula. The Force Awakens was a great fun Star Wars movie, but it was not groundbreaking. It just helped the audience to connect the old classic trilogy to the new stories. It was probably intentional and it worked, but that formula cannot be used again and again. The audience will get bored.

Each film needs to be different in tone.

Just a few thoughts that I will leave you on. Firstly, I never intended for this blog to be entirely about Star Wars. It just happened to go that way after writing a first draft.

1141607_L.jpg

The Empire Strikes Back Didn't Have This Problem

I will also take myself back to being an 8 year old boy watching The Empire Strikes Back at the cinema. I remember when the film finished thinking, “is that it?” There is no conclusion. The film has just stopped. I would have to wait a long time (3 years) for the next episode.

When I watch it now, I know I am watching the greatest Star Wars movie. Thankfully, back in those days, there was no social media and no silly “manbabies” to ruin it

Thank you for stopping by and reading. Don't forget to just enjoy these movies whilst they're around.

All images copyright free from Pixabay.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mr-neil from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72