My thoughts on Star Trek : Voyager

in #startrek6 years ago (edited)

voyager.jpg

Happy Friday Steemit.

Yesterday, I finally finished watching all of Star Trek Voyager.
If you haven't seen Voyager, but plan to, you should probably not
read this, as it will be full of spoilers.

First, I should say that I loved Voyager and was surprised at how dark it was. I had only seen Next Generation and some of The Original Series before this, and Voyager was way darker than either of those.


The last episode:

Since I just watched it yesterday, I should say that the last episode ended too quickly.
After 7 years, they went from the Delta Quadrant to Earth within a half hour of show time, and there was so wrap up at all. We didn't get to see any family reunions, or what any of the people would do once they got back to Starfleet.(would the Maqui be arrested?)
They didn't show anyone actually getting to Earth either, just to orbit.

I'm also still freaking out about 7 of 9 ending up with Chakotay.
That literally came out of nowhere.
I really wanted 7 to end up with the doctor, or the Vulcan ensign(Vorik) in Engineering.
volik.jpg
I always assumed that Chakotay would end up with Janeway if
they they both made it back to Earth.
CoupleJanewayChakotay.jpg


Now let's look at some of the aliens the Voyager crew ran into on their journey.

A look at The Delta Quadrant's Races
kazon.jpg
The Kazon
The Kazon sucked. They were the Delta Quadrants Klingons, only they were dumber.
Their only redeeming quality was that they were smart enough to form an alliance with Seska, but they treated her poorly because they are dumb.
They only hold a tiny amount of space, and I'm sure it will get smaller.


vidiian.jpg
The Vidiians
The Vidiians are terrifying.
Cursed with The Phage, which basically rots their tissue, they are always looking for fresh meat. They will harvest your lungs and keep on walking. Your tender organs mean more to the Vidiians than you do.
Never, ever initiate contact with, or go anywhere near the Vidiians.


species8472.jpg
Species 8472
Species 8472 are pretty much inter-dimensional demons.
They are totally badass, and they should generally be avoided.
The Borg made first contact, tried to assimilate them, and these fuckers made the Borg run, run away.


hunter1.jpg
The Hirogen
The Hirogen began as 9 foot tall, Predator-style hunters, but they kept shrinking...
hunter2.jpg
They would have been awesome if they stayed 9 feet tall.
For some reason, they were shorter in each episode...
hunter3.jpg
If they were still giants in later episodes, they might not have been slaughtered by their own training holograms.


Now I will profess love for my favorite characters, who kept me watching 7 seasons of Voyager.
My favorite characters

Tuvok-
wwtd.jpg
My favorite character on Voyager, and my choice for captain. He really should have been the first officer, but for political reasons, it was Chakotay.
Tuvok has impeccable logic, and he always makes the right choice.
Tuvok is totally my current my role model.

The doctor-
doctor.jpg
The most capable doctor in the quadrant, he's self aware, and he can sing.
He repeatedly saves the crew from certain doom, and I love his dickish sense of humor.
Apparently he would also be good at scrubbing plasma conduits.

7 of 9-
7.jpg
Seriously, the hottest Borg in the galaxy...
7 of 9 has logic that rivals Tuvok's, and knowledge of the delta quadrant's aliens. She needs very little recharging time, she's brilliant, and she never stops increasing efficiency, and she can sing.
I want 7 of 9 on my ship...

Seska-
seskaBjoran.jpg
If I were on Voyager, I seriously would have been with Seska. Janeway's decisions were not in the best interest of her ship or her crew, and Seska is the only one who seemed to figure that out.
I would have joined her mutiny, and together we would rule the delta quadrant... well, we would rule Kazon space for sure.

Kes-
kess.jpg
After finishing season 7, I admit that I don't remember Kess that well.
She's super cute and she's a telepath/potential god-person.
Normally, she's very sunny and cheerful, but don't piss her off.
Having a telepath on the ship is a good idea though.

Cpt. Janeway after season 5-
janeway.jpg
For the first 5 seasons, I thought Janeway was insane.(and she was)
Her stubborn adherance to the Prime Directive is what stranded them to begin with, and it also cost them several opportunities to get home sooner.

Janeway also had an obsession with the Borg that put her crew in peril repeatedly, and she generally valued the well-being of every alien over the well-being of her crew.
This slowly changed, and by season 6, she was caring for her crew over the Prime Directive.
I truly would have left her ship or tried to take it over with Seska.
If I joined the crew in season 6, I probably would have stayed.


I'll probably post soon about my favorite episodes and scenes.

I'm down for all Voyager talk:D

Live long and prosper, Steemit.

tuvokLiveLong.jpg

Sort:  

Cracking up at your description of the Kazon!
Hugs friend!⭐️

The Kazon totally sucked...

I need to give Voyager a proper rewatch. I haven't seen it since it's original airing and was pretty honestly my favorite Star Trek series. Looking back, there were a lot of fun cameos, too, ranging from Sarah Silverman to Dwayne Johnson (Fun tie-in to WWF since they aired back to back).

The end of the series was definitely abrupt. Wish I could say I remembered most of it, but man, Delta to Alpha in 30 minutes was pretty jarring.

I didn't need more TV to watch right now..... but I do feel the Delta quadrant is calling my name.

If you've seen it before, you can just skip the shitty episodes!
The Delta quadrant awaits!!!

It was very interesting
Thank you for subscribing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70625.87
ETH 3563.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71