Three Dancing Fauns Statue

in #statuefriday5 years ago

Seven years ago I was in Gliwice, Poland. The trip was short, I was visiting the factory that is part of the group company and having meeting with colleagues from other companies too. We have little time to see the town and I took few photos. Recently I found them and this photo in particular.

image

Well, it is a good one for the #StatueFriday from the #sevendaysoutside, created by lovely @erikah.
However, little did I know about the statue. Who are these mythical creatures? Let's find out, shall we?

I googled Gliwice and statues and I found that it is called the Fountain with the three dancing fauns.
Hmm, somehow I missed the third one when I took the photo. But it is there. 😀

It is placed in front of the City hall. The rumours I read about it is that the three fauns represented the mayors of three neighbouring cities that could not come to an agreement for unification.

DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for visiting, upvoting and resteeming.

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

@nelinoeva






Posted with eSteem

Sort:  

This is a wonderful piece, I'm glad you took this photo! 😊

Thank you Erika, I almost forgot what photos I took years ago. 😀

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nelinoeva
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=three-dancing-fauns-statue-3609c4d5c1b89


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87