The late running 9:34 Cathedrals ExpresssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steam5 years ago (edited)

DSC_7884 -1.jpg
We live on a road parallel to one of the main lines out of London, and a couple of houses from a footbridge. So I now have the weekly opportunity to take steam train pictures!
Shooting into the low sun didn't help matters. However there was time to practice on a commuter train and this track-cleaner:
DSC_7875 -1.jpg

The Cathedrals Express runs weekly from Victoria to Bath via Salisbury. At this time of year it's the only steam train which comes along this line, so it's worth getting out for.
44871 (Sovereign) is 'Black Five' LMS Stanier Class 5 4-6-0. It was retired in 1968 and returned to mainline service a couple of years ago.
DSC_7888 -1.jpg
DSC_7890 -1.jpg

And yes I did get a chance to stand in the steam: DSC_7891 -1.jpg

Timetable info from: https://www.beholder.uk/steam/
Which sources from: http://www.uksteam.info/tours/t18/t1204a.htm
Cathedrals Express is run by Steam Dreams, but has gone from their website.

Sort:  

Excellent! Yeah, the lighting definitely didn't help you on this one. Good to see it running. Where did you catch this one? I have some other shots of the Cathedrals Express - but pulled by different engines.

Note: this is a different Black 5 than the one I captured. I've got the 44932 (which is being overhauled, apparently.)

My son has some pictures of the Flying Scotsman, but (so far) I've not been able to get him onto Steem.

This is between Egham and Staines stations, heading West on the Waterloo to Reading line. I could get a better viewpoint at one of the stations - they're both walking distance,and the train even stops at Staines. Might try on the 14th.

Waterloo to Reading? That's an unusual line. I've been on the Reading to Paddington line more than once, but when I've gone to Waterloo, it's always been via Southampton or Salisbury. (Just as well as it was a lot cheaper that way than going Westbury to Paddington.

It's a commuter line. I grew up in Hampshire and we always came in on this line via Ascot. The Paddington line is the smart way to get to Reading and the West. Of course, why you'd want to go to Reading is a different question :)

lmao. Yeah, I agree with Reading being a bit of a cesspit. I lived there for 9 months in 2005, though I was closer to Reading West.
I also spent a year in Newbury - far nicer than Reading! I spent 6 years in Southampton and 7 years in Warminster. Another year was spent up the valley from Cardiff. I was off the train line that year, and that wasn't a good thing. The buses were good, but trains are better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76