Panoramic Window View of DTLA on Feb 12th 2019, Vol 26: Kid Schoffer, Steel Drum Bassist, Ink Runner, and Cajon Smacker In one day.

in #steampeak5 years ago

The weekend and Monday got really complicated. I had to do some spring cleaning. It's not over yet. It's good to stay light and unattached from material possessions.

8AM


Today, Tuesday, Started off with a quick errand for some local kids.

Someone had a toy that looked strangely familiar. Later I realized that it was reminding me of The Existential Coloring Book. They had no idea what I was talking about.

Buy the book here: http://www.thepsychologyshop.com/the-existential-coloring-book/ or here: https://mcphee.com

I also had this text conversation with my master and cellular life support facilitator around the same time:

img_2343

Anti-cholesterol Trend?!

Later, I learned about a new anti-cholesterol combo seen in the image below:

75edef02-1490-4746-be79-42cf0e21e7f2

9:03AM Rant about music and the loose mention restrictions on AtomCollectorRecond's Discord server. I could have been nicer, but timing and patience was blah blah blah... why allow every and anyone to use the general mention on your server?

I'm not bragging. Stop laughing... I got help. I changed my settings, and I still don't know how that server can help me make Steem... Let's move on.

10AM


Task one of the day completed and not I'm in the car driving to a high school for a lunch break performance with our neighbor @steelparade. There will be lots of driving today.

11:00AM


We set up the band equipment. These are my "nice" shoes. Shiny does not necessarily equal comfortable or healthy.


We are gonna rock the school's courtyard for part of their diversity celebration. We've performed here annually and even the new scaredy cat school principal wanted us back. Look Steel Parade if you want reliable musical services and a successful even.

Remember all that talk about using a window frame as a frame for a panoramic image? Well, here I am trying to use the front of the school as a frame:

That panoramic framing is featured again later in the task after this one, but let's not skip ahead. Scroll just a little more to see a short high energy version of our band. The weekend inspired me to play loud and energetically.

12PM


Our Performance Broadcast (free steel drum music):


CLICK on this link to enjoy it. https://www.pscp.tv/w/b2UZhDFtTUtQdldZa3lnRUd8MWxQS3FkZHJtcE14YoNj_uUDqzZRSbdWjXUZDYwRmpN-NlMdWYPDKvDYqBRJ?t=4s

Steemseph and SteelParade Brea 2019.GIF

Steemseph and SteelParade Brea 2019.GIF

Why does Steampeak hate my GIFs?

Most of the students seem too cool at first, but once they get my loud bass in their face, they lighten up. We usually play loud and energetically at this venue because it's outside and it's fun to let loose. These kids need bass in their cellphones stained faces.

3PM


Back on the road again. I'm running an errand again, but this time to DTLA. This is where the Panoramic window series actually starts. I'm cramming the entire day all into one post because I'm already behind on the two post series I have already started.

It's clear! The sky and the freeway too! It's such a novelty to me that I actually take a weird panoramic of it. The freeway is always easy, but look how desperate I am to get a shot of the mountains in the next image below.

I had to zoom and crop the image above to show the snow capped mountains. Can you see them... behind the freeway, telephone pole, buildings, random evergreen and houses? 😐

We've had lots of rain and it's creating snow on some of the closest mountains. Los Angeles is near mountains oceans and deserts. People can enjoy snowboarding, surfing, and racing on sand dunes in one day if they want.

Traffic and images from the road:


The congestion is minimal at this time of the day.

I will never create water marks like that again.

These overpass views are becoming regular subjects in this series also.

The city of Los Angels was host to the Olympics in 1984. The image above shows a remnant of that time. No, not the telephone poles, maybe they are that old, but I'm talking about the torch replica/spire/thing.

I'm getting closer to the city now.

Side streets feel more interesting sometimes.

People live on the street in elaborate tent-like structures.


I'm getting closer. I would only be exaggerating a little bit if I said I have hundreds of images of sidewalk housing.

Hey look, another donut:



Food To Try:


I pass by this greasy spoon on the corner all the time. I want to try it. Hill Grill is the real name and it looks good. Their name is written between two hamburger buns. Therefore I will try a double burger. Have I already talked about Shake Shack? I can't remember if that's a future post or a past post in this series.


Eastern Building:


I've never been inside the Eastern Building. The jade colored tile work at the bottom is nice and it has a very interesting roof.

The Eastern Building is usually hidden from view in my panoramic picture perspective.

They should use it in a Ghostbusters movie.


Panoramic Framing:


Sometimes I want to get the frame closer the edge. Sometime the stuff on the edge, like the cones, are irresistible.

I'm delivering printer cartridges and that's it.


The Panoramic Window View:




Alien sighting:


I made several of these building collages a few years ago. They are hiding in a hard drive just waiting for the right person to discover them and make us rich... not.

One day it might be fun to put a hundred of these building collages into a book.

That bike in the image above belongs to a parking enforcement officer. They usually come from the opposite direction. I probably would have gotten a ticket if he wasn't busy already.

One more shot of the sun disappearing behind the buildings before jumping onto the freeway and it's congestion.


Almost Done:


Los Angels has had an abundance of rain. When it's clear, it's novel to see snow on the closest mountains.

That imagine above looks like traffic is light. It's not. A following distance of two vehicles is not enough.

I'm headed back to play Cajon. Do you remember what a Cajon is? I made a video about it once. Long, long, long ago here:


7PM


My friend is the regular cajon player and he has asked me to substitute for him. I will be performing with a guitarist/vocalist. He is a really nice guy. It's his gig and he want's me to play the Cajon like a trap drum set player would. I try to sound like a rock drum set player.

Click on the following link if you want to hear my right hand rushing and my left hand overthinking.

https://www.pscp.tv/w/b3_kYzFtTUtQdldZa3lnRUd8MXZBeFJ5eVBScGpKbN_1qRuDgf3yLMDovwYr0m1JioyqMKs59agjyVDmCnAO?t=26s

I'm missing a lot of half time parts too. It's embarrassing, but hey what's Steem without a little embarrassment?


THE END

This is another entry into @socalsteemit's Show Us Your California Contest.
https://steemit.com/socalsteemit/@socalsteemit/show-us-your-california-contest-week-26




This post has been created with Steempeak (https://steempeak.com/@steemseph) it may also appear on Wordpress, but rest assured, my links come back to us here at Steem.

Free music on BandCamp: https://tetrahedroseph.bandcamp.com/music

Sort:  

What a busy day! I love when I am productive like that. It always makes me feel accomplished.
Ren

Hi Ren @xcoutytravelers it is a good feeling. Feels even better when we get paid for all of it too.
Good look in all you travels though the counties. Sounds like a fun idea. I would guess Southern California will be easy and the New England states will be umm... counties almost stacked on top of each other. 😂 I’m sure you know better than I though.
I’m following you on Steem, so I’ll look for your travel insights.
Let me know if you come to California. Los Angeles country, Ventura County, and OC are familiar to me. (Most ppl here call it “OC” instead of “Orange Country.” Some call it “Use a turn signal and get of the phone aśšhole.”)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Most definitely. We visited the SFO area in 2016 and would love to see more, but it will be a while yet.

That will be fun... try to use the rail system as much as possible. I drove there once and it was difficult with a vehicle because parking is scarce and expensive.

Posted using Partiko iOS

We actually did. Loved every minute. Cant wait to go back someday

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70