One year on steemit!

in #steeemit6 years ago

I can't believe it's been one year since I joined steemit, I only realised when I got the Steemit update comment that it had been a year since I had made my very first post on the platform. It's really been a journey since joining and I do give steemit credit for changing the entire course of my life over the last 12 months.

IMG_4343.JPG

I found steemit by chance when I saw someone talking about d tube on a youtube video, I gave it a look and saw all these posts with huge monetary sums next to them. Of course I was looking at the trending page and I can't say I have ever hit those heady heights myself! Steemit however, got me interested in crypto on a much deeper level. I was an ABSOLUTE beginner when I joined, I didn't even understand what a wallet was or how to send money from one wallet to another, I basically didn't know how to do ANYTHING. I remember many days of feeling like my head would explode every day as I tried to learn how to do new things and then as soon as I had learnt it thinking how easy it was and why did I find it such a big deal. I began cashing some of my money out and trading on bittrex and binance and learning about various companies and generally beginning to understand more about the blockchain world. Along with some people in my real world experience I am so thankful to @businesswri and @seanreilly who helped me in lots of ways and stayed up into the early hours trading crypto and getting excited when SBD zoomed up in value in about 3 hours. I still remember having NO SBD from paying for bots and calling around everyone I didn't know very well but who's number I had from the meetup group at 2 am to let them know their sbd had gone up x 16 haha.

After a few months of blogging I started helping to organise some meetups in London and I set up a discord channel to help those who were in the uk to find each other easily a and be able to organise meetups for themselves, you can still find this channel .

https://discord.gg/Q33WbtF

I met some amazing people big love to some of the regulars including @gillianpearce @bleepcoin @steevec @adetorrent @rod.crisafulli @teodora @immarojas and all the other amazing people I have met and a special thanks to my big partner in crime @redrica who I would now consider a real life friend.

kr6vfq43ls.jpg

pdnx7z8pju.jpg

I also began attending other London block chain events one of which, was the N.O.M.A.N events organised by Euros Evans who is now my boss! I began working at @etch as community manager in around February of this year and that was a whole new depth of learning beyond trading on the exchanges and blogging on steemit! I had been loosing interest in fashion and advertising photography for a while, not enjoying the commercial nature of it and the moral responsibility of promoting an unhealthy image. I just wasn't sure what else to do with my life, I had been working on my own magazine www.ultravioletmagazine.love which, I still know I will pick up again at some point but when this job opportunity came up my life became temporarily all about the blockchain world. I feel excited to be working with something that can help people and that is a part of what I believe will be a huge part of our future.

Over the weekend we launched our bonus platform and I had to do the walk through, it really makes you think when doing something like that how much you have learnt in a year and also is terrifying to put yourself out there.

I still have so much more to learn and i'm sure a million more days of feeling like my head will explode but thats the journey of life..we are all eternal students of life!

BLACKE.jpg

Here is to year 2 I can't wait to see what it has in store :)

Sort:  

Congratulations on your one year anniversary @ultravioletmag.

I was really surprised to discover that you have only been here a couple of months longer than I have. You seemed so knowledgeable when we met and I was still in the completely confused by it all phase!

I really enjoyed reading your story for the past year and feel sad that I've not been able to make the more recent meet-ups. I'm still hopeful that you'll get down to Brighton sometime though. The spare room awaits! 😍

Are you going to Steemfest?

So glad to hear your job is working out well for you.

Hopefully it won't be too long before we meet up again.

Sending you lots of love. xx

I missed the sun but still totally up for coming! maybe can be a Christmas Brighton !

I celebrate this moment with you dear. It is a great milestone achieved so far. May this aniverrsary brings much acievement to you always @ultravioletmag.. Resteemed.

Congrats on your 1 year anniversary!

Good to find you (and Euros and Etch too) on that, there Twitter :)

I just saw your from Wales you and Euros will get on like a house on fire :)

Ha! Yes, flying the flag for Wales here in crypto land!!!

ONE YEAR STEEMIVERSARY!! Wooohoo

It's been so awesome getting to know you, and having our regular fun steemit meet ups ;) I so wish you were coming to Steemfest 3 too!!!

Picturing the day we all get to go on retreats on Steemit island or something equally as awesome as that!

See you very soon <3

still have a month for steem to x10 and ill be on my way hahah

Crazy! Time has flown by, but so much has happened during the past year.

I'm glad we've kept in touch, there have been plenty highs and lows... but mostly lows! It's been good fun though, and here's hoping we'll be toasting at a meetup after the next bull run. :)

for sure!!! I am ready for this bull run

Congratulations Sara! And the new job too...even if it's almost a year down the line.
More meet-ups then?? Cheers!

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

thank you!!! hope to catch up soon!

Soon Sara! You going to SF3? Be well girl.

Congratulations on 1 year. Last year was exciting and a lot of fun. I don't take those times for granted

yeah I hope the same timing happens this year... will be ready this time haha

haha, I better get ready for the next bull run

Congratulations @ultravioletmag. I wish you another great and more amazing year on steemit.

Qn. Are you into crypto trading?

Happy steeming.

Thankyou :) I do trade a bit yes and work for a blockchain company

Happy anniversary. Sounds like you've had a blast.

Here's hoping we get to the next one!

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has been upvoted by @steem-ambassador.
The #promo-steem mission is to support high quality promotional and educational posts which raise the profile and value of STEEM.
For full details of the programme, please visit https://promo-steem.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77