More AI to Steem blockchain. Here comes Steeve App.

in #steem-ai5 years ago

A few days ago I talked about the necessity of enhancements at the user interfaces level, to improve engagement and as a consequence, curation. I was proposing in that post (and still am), that those enhancements be included in all major user interfaces that people use on Steem.

In the meantime, I found out about a piece of jewel. It is a new DApp, so a new user interface, also based on the code of Busy, like many others we have in the ecosystem.

Steeve is its name, apparently a combination of Stee[m sie]ve.

Steeve has been built by "a team of AI enthusiasts", as they describe themselves, @mor, @void and @hr1, "who want to leverage the technology for improving the user experience here on Steem blockchain".

It isn't the first attempt to use AI to improve Steem. I reported about the previous one, but Steeve seems to be the first truly usable interface for Steemians, which is both very new and also actively developed.

So, I have been using Steeve since yesterday for all my Steem activities, except wallet-related and posting. That involved checking out my feed quite often to have the feel of the new DApp, curating and commenting.

My new AI enhanced feed looks fantastic!

I discovered stories and authors I had no idea about. And all because the AI algorithm analyzed my past follows, upvotes and comments. I'm not sure how Google Analytics will play a role in this algorithm, but in a way, knowing that you open a post but don't interact with it is a good indicator too.

How is the feed at Steeve different from my classic feed? The AI enhanced feed has one normal feed entry followed by one recommendation by the AI, the next feed entry followed by the next AI recommendation and so on. The new recommendations can be refreshing, because they can be from a relatively different domain than what you chose to add on your feed, but still very good content (usually nothing very new from what I've seen).

Another interesting addition is the "Read Next" recommendations section, at the end of every post. I'm not sure how these posts are picked, "popularity among other users" seems a little broad. Are they popular to users who also read the post where the recommendation is being shown? Or within one of the same categories? Or in general?

One more thing the developers want to test out with Steeve, is showing on Trending pages, when searching within certain tags, the amount of upvotes that don't seem to be associated with bidbots and their voting trails. Read more here.

Something you might be familiar with from Busy, is bookmarking posts you want to remember. You can do that on Steeve too. But what I haven't seen on any other DApp yet, is the possibility to define your own custom tags, so you can easily check them out if they are not trending among the general user base.

Steeve is still very young, and still missing some features older DApps have. But it has its own AI enhancements which I'm sure compensate for now.

I believe other UI developers will think seriously about implementing their own AI enhancements in the future. They're making an impact, in my opinion.

This space is likely to get quite competitive at the DApp level. Interesting times to be witnessing, for so many reasons!

You can read more about Steeve App recent updates from their post.

I reused the image from the above post, it looked better than my own screenshot.

Sort:  

Steeve is not based on Busy in any way, it is a completely new user interface implemented in Angular 7 ;-)

Thanks for the review!

Posted using Steeve

Thanks for clearing that up! I was confused by the similar look, and I know the same Busy base code has been adapted by a number of DApps.

Thanks for sharing this app! I'm sure the variety of related quality posts on my feed will broaden my horizons. Also it will be good for discoverabilify for authors who lack attention they deserve. I found your post from recommendation by @qurator. Aren't they doing an awesome work?

Yep, I've just seen the mention in qurator's post, I'm glad they found one of my posts worthy to be among the qurities for the second time I think. They are doing an amazing job for sure!

As for Steeve App, I sure hope it will bring more value to the Steem ecosystem. I was very pleased with the results, especially now when the feed was kinda lacking in consistent content on a daily basis. Looking forward to test it more.

Hi @gadrian!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.526 which ranks you at #15820 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 55 places in the last three days (old rank 15875).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 275 contributions, your post is ranked at #257.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86