Pets Vs No Pets

in #steem-bounty6 years ago

Hi Everyone,

I'm going to set a #steem-bounty for my first time ever on this post so you could get paid for your comment. The @steem-bounty payment is in addition to any upvote or curation rewards. This is a very simple question, why or why not is it a good idea to keep pets? No answer is right or wrong, I just want to hear the reasoning. Thoughtless off topic comments will not qualify for a bounty.


IMG_20180603_154200.jpg

Unless you live in a box, you probably know my opinion on pets😸 Most of my life I've had pets, a few cats, a couple dogs and other various creatures. The worst time to have pets is while you are away at university, traveling or if you can't adequately take care of them. I wouldn't have a dog because I live in a condo, there is no yard and I have a full-time job. Crypticat is fine on her own, I don't believe a dog would be.

There was a period of my life where I couldn't have a pet, but now I have a cat and life is better. People who don't have pets without a reason come across as odd to me, just like people who have too many pets. What do you think?


Screen Shot 2018-03-28 at 3.59.43 PM.png How to Bounty

The steem-bounty project is brought to you by @knircky to encourage people to comment. So you know what to do. Comment about pets.

Thank you in advanced for your comments upvotes, resteems, and following. If you comment and follow me, I'll be sure to follow you back and upvote any quality stuff of yours I come across.

Bye for Meow 😺 mRrrrrrrr....

Sort:  

I like pets, however, at the moment, I don't have any but I had 2 dogs and I know how fun is it to have pets. I also had a cat once. All these pets were very loving...I still miss them. I think people who don't have pets may be due to a reason, otherwise, I think everyone, (or most of the people) love pets.

You're right. I'm sure you have a reason not to get a pet right now that shows you respect animals more than many pets owners.

I love pets a lot. I had fish, dogs and cats, and I know how lovely life is when you have pets. I also like hens and ducks, and lamb as well. I may have lot of pets if have enough space.

Hens, ducks and lamb? Are you sure those are pets? If you or anyone ate them, they are not pets! I'd love to get enough land to raise some livestock, I'd have plenty of cats running around and a dog too.

A balanced human has at least one pet, usually a dog or a cat. Dogs have masters, cats have servants. A balanced household has both, the combined weight of the cats being equal to the combined weight of the dogs. (Feline mustelids do not count in the equation.)

If you have a pair of mastiffs you should balance them with about 35 cats. If on the other hand you have a pair of tigers you should probably have about 130 chihuahuas, or snacks.

The best cats are the ones which turn up at your door and ask to be let in. Unless they are old and cranky, but you have to let them in too.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

You really know what's going on in the world of pets. Thanks doc!

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.33$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

I have a lovely frog and some fish. The frog is rather nice but he can be noisy at night so he gets his own room. The fish are repaxing and perfect. Both can easily be left to their own for a couple of weeks thanks to water filters and autofeeders. I am thinking of buying a fluffy white cat but they make a lot of fur and dander and I cant leave it alone for two weeks. There are a lot of low maintence pets that dont cause any allergies. I think children take up more time and money and you cannot keave them alone for even one or two days. Maybe robots can make great pet substitutes beacuse they can take care of themselves and be programmed to your liking.

Robots won't replace pets, they will just replace toys and appliances. Adult brains aren't wired to care for them. Simply turn it off. Glad you have frogs and fish, but I'm sure a cat would enrich your life much more. Find a neighbour who will take care of your cat while you're gone, pay them for their time.

Pets like dogs and cats will give you back a ton of love. Also pets help children to learn responsibility and connect with animals. The only drawback could be the expenses. Sadly not everybody is able to feed himself and a pet (not even counting the vet bills, toys, ...)

My thoughts exactly, if you can't afford a pet don't get one, cats especially mixed breeds aren't that expensive. Dogs often cost more than owning a car. Often kids get pets and dump them on their family, I don't know why any parent would accept that behavior. A family discussion is a prerequisite to pet ownership. Some parents don't want cats because they think they will hurt their children, this to me is also ridiculous, what kind of cat would attack a child who is playing nice?

I have two dogs and enjoy their company and being the leader of my pack. I believe that the responsibility of caring for another life has positive affects on a person’s mental state and out look. One of the most relaxing things for me is sitting with one of my dogs while watching tv or listening to something and petting them and existing with them. Just being around them has a calming affect on me. They have been training wheels for me for when I had children. Now I have my son or daughter or both on one side and one if my boys on other and those quiet moments spent enjoying each other’s company and existing together are my most precious moments. I believe these moments have lead to deep, meaningful relationships and I would have never discovered these precious moments without my dogs. I don’t know if that makes sense to anyone besides me or if that really answers your question @crypticat, but it felt good to share my experience!

You get it. When I come home and see Crypticat it makes me happy to be home. The other day, I returned from vacation and couldn't pick up my cat right away because it was with a relative out of town. The house felt empty for a few days and we weren't as happy, I prioritized half a day to go get the cat.

I would not want to keep pets ... too much responsibility for me

Having no pets is a wise choice if you want to limit your responsibilities

I have some thoughts on both sides of this issue.

First, I'll give you the 'no pets' argument...
A friend of mine has some very extreme views on many subjects including that of pet-keeping. Her argument is that a pet is basically a slave to its owner.

While I do find her point over-the-top in its validity, I do think it has some things to think about. If you are keeping an animal in a cage (except for some very useful purpose - i.e. farming or conservation reasons), you are depriving them of their natural habitat.

For this reason, I really do hate many pet stores because they encourage animal collecting - I have to have such-and-such because its trendy, not because I want and understand the animal.

For me, a caged animal is no longer an option unless it fills those other requirements. (I will be keeping fish soon so that I can use them in aquaponics - i.e. to help me grow vegetables to eat.)

Saying that, there are plenty of people who cannot keep a dog or a cat due to apartment living, so fish, birds and rodents become their main options. In those cases, I would recommend having something that can be cuddled and appreciated outside of their cages. (My son had a rescued pet mouse at one point - he did love that thing and would carry it around with him in his pocket. The subsequent hamsters were nowhere near as friendly.)

The pro-pet arguments are many...
Teaching responsibility - for (supervised) children.
Lowered blood pressure in those who have a cuddly something to sit on their laps or whatever.
Giving a rescue animal a needed home and love.
Teaching/fostering unconditional love...

I think the reasons are many - I just don't want to see animals "collected" in order to be kept in cages... Neither do I like to see farm animals in pajamas or other ridiculous notions - again, there are reasons (i.e. a hairless animal or one who has had something happen to require assistance) but by and large a pet's natural fur/feather/whatever is more than adequate to cope with most of our conditions - and is actually hampered by adding fake coverings!

Sorry so long - I'm a writer, can't you see??? I almost decided to make this into its own post, in fact - may yet do... but not today.
(I have a fiction series you might like to check out when you get a chance.)

Great answer! Collecting animals isn't a nobel hobby. However keeping certain animals in a safe environment is probably better than leaving them in the wild in many cases. We are destroying most natural habitats anyways so may as well try to keep some of the animals alive.

I followed you and will check out your posts. Thanks for dropping by

I think having a pet is a good thing because you are never alone and you learn how to take care of something. This is especially important for ouer children.

Absolutely, kids should have pets

I think it is a good idea to keep a pet. Why? Because it's a win-win situation for you and the pet.

The reasons for this is:

  • You get a loyal, attentive partner
  • Based off of disabilities, you have someone to assist you
  • Upkeep is low, all they want is you
  • They get you tons of views on whatever platform you're on :)

  • The best part is you get to choose a pet or in some cases they come to your place and choose you. You make sure you're compatible with each other by your preferences so they'll most likely be seen as how they should be, family.

    Pets are family and they do give you something to Steem about 😺

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.36
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.039
    BTC 70112.96
    ETH 3549.99
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 4.71