; The thought process of a successful painting

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago

Recently, I am feeling a bit of down and stress. Since last year after my graduation in an Art school majoring in Interior Architecture and Design, I have realized I am actually very passionate about Illustration (happened right before I graduate). I was contemplating to study a new major may be in West Malaysia, but I am no longer financially supported by my family. Needless to say, I will have to wait another few years in order to save enough money to pursue my dream. (long way to go) I do wish one day, I will be a successful Illustrator! It will be truly amazing to illustrate children books for better education for our next generation or Illustrate my own story into drawings.

Thanks for reading it although it is not relating to the topic I will begin shortly.

2016-05-17 03.37.21 1.jpg

Okay...

The thought process of a successful painting

It is not an easy task to create a beautiful art that comes with a story. I have successfully created mine and willing to share it with you all. This is what I learned and use in this painting. Important keys to know before you start painting
-color
-light &depth
-composition
-golden-section theory
-hierarchy
-design principles

  • unity
  • balance
  • movement
  • emphasis (focal point)
  • rhythm
  • economy
  • proportion
  • harmony

Step 1 - Sketch

Here is some contradiction sketch I did.
For example:

  • More vs Less
  • Isolation vs Crowded
  • Happy vs Tragic
  • Hot vs Cold
  • Weak vs Strong

Scan copy.jpg

Step 2 - Sketch Refining

I made a comparison between each sketch I did base on the content and composition. After that, I further develop the sketch with more details and stories. This is the time you thought about the design principles. Which is your first, second, and third focal point, how to draw an object and play around with the proportion to catch someone's attention, where to place it so that it doesn't become one of my focal points, is everything works together in one piece and etc... There are so many things to think about!!

Step 3 - Color Decisions

After making a decision on my final sketch. It is now ready to darken and refine
the line. I have decided to use primary analogous split complementary color scheme on this painting. Also, I sketched out how is the light and shadow come from, then I roughly place the color swatches on the painting to get a rough idea which will be my focal points.

Scan4.jpg

Step 4 - Draft

It was hard to make everything look harmonious, that's why a draft is important. This is the process how I decide which color goes to where and which part is the part I should tint, tone or shade.

Draft.jpg

Step 5 - Final Draft!

Finally!!! I have sorted out everything! It definitely looks much better and everything seems to work out altogether.

I sincerely hope you guys enjoy reading my post. Thank you so much
I will appreciate it a lot if any of you could upvote my post or resteem this post and help me to pursue my dream.
Thanks again=D
@originalworks

From my previous post, I've talked about tips on how to decorate your house. As I mentioned earlier, accessories play a big role in decorating a house. A painting is considered as an accessory too.
Link to my post https://steemit.com/interiordesign/@ejlo3310/tips-to-decorate-your-house

Sort:  

This was insanely informative, felt less like a Steemit post and more like a tutorial on your own personal blog.

Steemit is also a good platform to share our own experiences with other too. Glad you enjoy reading it

woow, you make a great contribution, I love to see the way you explain in your painting, I envy with your talent

Congratulations @ejlo3310, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 12800 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $5944.81. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Hi @bitgeek Thank you for the information, it is quite a surprise for me actually! Thank you again^^

There's so much consideration to go through for a good piece of art, Good job and all the best in your pursuit for passion! :)

Thanks Max, do check out my booth next time if I happen to exhibit my artwork in Artisan Market

Glad to see u in this community of artists....welcome.

Thank you so much, the co-founder of Steem-Cartoon. Thank you for your hard work too

Not much work. The artist did most of it

Another talented artist discovered... welcome to our community... we love to see your passion and showcasing your beautiful arts here... you incorporated design principles theory into practice and implemented it in your arts... great job ejlo! Hope to see more of you...

Hello @sireh, thank you for your support, I will try my best on it

I'm following u. Love ur art

I'm happy you enjoyed reading my post. If you could resteem my work, it will be even better to share it to the others^^

Love your art! And the way you explain the steps you made to make that art is very handy! Thanks for sharing and i wish you success in your future endeavors! See you around! 😀

Thank you so much for your support! Loving my art is already a big support to me. Hope you will enjoy reading my future posts.

my pleasure! see you on the flip side! :)

Love your work @ejlo3310. Nice to meet you :)

Nice to meet you too! I have just upvoted your post- Steem Cartoon : A Boy in a Candy Store. It is quite informative and really brings me to another level of appreciating Malaysian artist

thanks @ejlo3310. I really appreciate it. :)

The way you explained your process was so useful! I had no idea there was so much thought given to so many elements. Thanks for taking the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87