Hwoarang - T7FR Costume

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago

Hmmmm.....

Maybe some you guys might notice this, but I'm kinda like a gamer, but not as crazy active as the hobby is quite expensive. And I'm a bit of a TEKKEN fan. And I'm still playing the latest TEKKEN game which is TEKKEN 7, even though I'm not planning to play it online with my potato PC. Still, it's enough for me to play it and figure out the mechanics of the game, coz I'm kinda semi-hardcore when it comes to fighting games, especially TEKKEN.

Of course, TEKKEN is already out in June 2017, but it's been out in the arcades since 2015. And the update, TEKKEN 7 : Fated Retribution, in which it will become the base for the console and PC release was out in 2016. AAANNNNDDD... I've been keeping this sketch of mine for over a year until recently where I finished it. Well, better than nothing I guess!

Hwoarang T7FR.jpg

....I gotta be honest. I thought Hwoarang's (this character up here) looks overly designed for his new costume, but after seeing him in motion, his fighting style (Taekwondo) fits him quite well, so I tried to draw that costume.... and kept it for almost a year LOL! It's not until recently that I inked it and colored it.

DSC_0100.JPG

And then there's the inking process.

DSC_0101.JPG

By the way, all of this was done traditionally, as it's still my prefered way of doing my art.

SOOOOOO..... after that I put all of that coloring with my Copic Marker and some Magic Pen(I forgot what it's called LOL)

IMG.jpg

I kinda like my coloring even though is was rough, but a you can see above, my printer scanner is not doing any justice on this work of mine. So I do a bit of editing in Photoshop.

As you can see, my artstyle as of now (and always) is super rough, as I tend to be a bit impatient with my work. I even remember being in a drawing class, my lecturer said that I relied on expressionism too much. (some people surprising liked this kinda mess though....)

But the question is, why draw Hwoarang tho? I liked Hwoarang when I see his gameplay in motion, particularly his fighting style which is Taekwondo which resonates well in me, since I'm a former taekwondo practitioner myself (man I missed Taekwondo training so much these days, really wish to practice it sometimes). Lets just say the animation for this game was great, and yes most of them are mocapped, but starting from TEKKEN 3, the animation was so realistic that you almost feel like watching a martial arts demonstration.

BUUUTTTTT....

His gameplay is mostly for advanced players. Sure you can have them taekwondo kicks for funsies, but he has a lot of moves that transitions between stances which is a good or a bad thing. You can pressure your opponent with his myriad of stances for crazy mixups, but doing so with his huge movelist makes him hard to manage. And you do have to learn most of his movelist as sticking with one flow with him is risky and predictable. As such, my current main as of now is Asuka Kazama.

Enough of me nerding out on TEKKEN. Enjoy..... O3O

Sort:  

Congratulations @gordon92, this post is the forth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 4246 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $588.24. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gordon92 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25