The Age of Blockchain Games Has Arrived

in #steem-monsters6 years ago (edited)

I have a game plan for increasing my SP. I strictly follow that plan and it's working so far. I have been continually increasing my SP since I started. I figure if I just stick with The Plan, I could accumulate hundreds of thousands of SP in a couple of years. That's why I watch carefully how I spend my hard-earned Steem and SBD's. But even with all my caution, I simply couldn't ignore Steem Monsters. And I'm not even into trading cards but I bought a starter pack and several booster packs.

The response to Steem Monsters has been amazing. Within a couple of weeks, they've reached 1000 starter packs sold plus almost 40,000 booster packs to boot. That's roughly $80,000 USD of funding within two weeks.

It's been making a big splash in the steemit Ocean. People are giving away booster packs for free. Some sponsor contests. There are already fan fiction and fan art around Steem Monsters. But get this, steemmonsters.com is still in Alpha! That means the potential growth of the game is HUGE!

(Honestly I bought the cards to sell them later. Because like I mentioned, I'm not really into that kind of game.)

But that's not just that. It opens the door for similar games.

I remember when I was working in a call center. I was assigned in the helpdesk and I helped AT&T customers get back online whenever they had connectivity problems. It was fun but there were slack times when there were very few callers. To relieve the boredom, we played text-based games such as Vampires VS. Werewolves.

A similar more popular game would be Mafia Wars.

Exciting Times Ahead

Man those text-based games were addictive! With Steem Monsters pioneering blockchain-based games on steem, other similar games would soon follow. Think Mafia Wars but with real steem winnings.

This has many benefits. New users who want to play the blockchain-based games will have to register on steemit thereby increasing the userbase. The games could be a new way of earning SBD, Steem or SP. And there will be something else to do on steem instead of just forcing yourself to write crappy posts just so you'll have something to self-upvote.

Steem Monsters early buyers are addicted to the game and they’re just opening the packs they bought. Imagine if the game is already playable. The cards are already tradeable but not yet within steemmonsters.com.

A massively multi-player online role-playing game (MMORPG) on the steem blockchain is tremendously potent. I hope other developers follow suit soon so we'll have more variety of games to choose from.

Sort:  

The main use case of STEEM might actually be the games. There is too much spam and self-voting on the platform to make it a viable competitor to Facebook.

I think I got your game plan, too. Pa share naman kabayan what is your game plan...baka mali ako, he he...

@digitaldreamer I like your plan. I'm a new user and I see a lot of people buzzing about Steem monster. I look forward to earning sbds so that I can join the game! It's so cool you've earned a lot of SPs with it. I don't want to be an exception too!

tipuvote! :)

Hey thanks for the upvote!

You never know how things turns out later. You might like the game and start plating it :) These Steemmonsters are really addictive. I wasnt sure at the beginning, but finally thought about it as an investment and bought many packs. Will still buy more in the future and lets see how things work out :)

I conclude you also like steemnova a text game too.

Hey thanks for the heads up. Looks like a cool game. It's not receiving as much attention as Steem Monsters but it looks like something I would like to spend some time on.

Steem Monsters is very hot topic of today which surely gives many a lot of excitement and anticipation for this new blockchain based game. We'll see here how far blockchain can go now and tomorrow.

неплохой способ заработка

like it. big up, big up :)

Thank you great topic

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85