My UA Rank Dropped By 9,015 Places Overnight!

in #steem-ua5 years ago (edited)

Do you ever get that amazing feeling that you are finally on a roll? Perhaps you get that job promotion that you've worked really hard for. Maybe you finally finished that novel you've been working on.

All of a sudden things seem to be going your way. Well, This is how I had been feeling over the past few months. I have a confession to make. For several years I have been falling into a pretty deep depression. I'm in my 40's and have gotten overweight. I have really been hating my job as a software developer. It has started a vicious cycle that drove me to hate all the things that I love such as drawing, making music, enjoying nature etc.

bo7dt8a5jz.jpg
Me, excited about life - exactly 13 years before my UA Score Tanked

A year and some months ago I created an account on Steemit.com out of sheer curiosity. I have always thought about starting to write a blog, but could never really think of anything to write about. I posted here and there over the first few months, but then decided to really start putting some effort in. I needed to do something creative to get me out of this funk. I have done a lot of traveling in my life, especially over the past 13 years or so. During this time I took a lot of photos, so this gave me a treasure trove to dig into!

I really started to get into an awesome groove. I've made some wonderful friends on here. I am extremely active! I reply to and up-vote every comment (unless I miss it). I try to post at least once a day; sometimes twice! Over the past couple of months I've watched my followers increase by anywhere from 1-10 per day. I still have a humble following under 500, but as I said, it grows daily. Of those new followers, I have been getting at least one 5k+ SP follower every couple of days. It has been really fun and exciting!

That brings me to @steem-ua. For starters, I really have nothing but great things to say about the project. I think they are really making a great effort to improve things here. As soon as I heard about the project, I immediately delegated 100SP. A bit later, I upped it to 250, and then finally to 300. I watched my score and rank slowly creep up, quite organically over the course of several weeks. This made sense and is in line with my engagement, posting, gradual increase in stake, and increase in followers with respectable SP.

This brings me to today. I logged in this morning to see that my Steem-ua rank had dropped 9015 places all at once. My score dropped from 3.745 (#4954) to 2.69 (#13969) with no way to even understand what I did, or didn't do for that matter, to deserve it.

This is not intended to be a slam, or a negative portrayal of UA; I am sure that this drop is somehow my own doing. I suppose I am just sulking a bit. I try not to be too much of a crybaby these days!

yqbqmlr059.jpg
Me, today, old ugly and fat after losing 9015 UA Places

If anyone could enlighten me, please do! I wasn't able to get any information in the official discord channels. I'd also love to thank all of my lovely friends, new and old who take the time to read my posts.

I appreciate each and every one of you!

Sort:  

Quite honestly never heard of this. thanks for enlightening me :)

You got it man. I think it is a great thing with a great intention. I think it needs a bit of work though, as a whole lot of the people at the top don't even interact much, they just have a ton of SP. But not all, of course.

I don't even know what that is. Am I on that list? Where's this list?

LOL! Are you making fun of me now? Okay, fine. Perhaps I deserve it ;p

No dude I seriously don't know what that list is. Am I on there?

You can see your ranking here: https://steem-ua.com/

click "View your UA Score" and connect with Steemconnect

Blah. It's asking for my posting key. Not interested.

Oh weird.. When I do it with steemconnect, it just asks to authorize the app to verify my identity

If you delegate a bit of SP to @steem-ua, you get up-votes based on your score. You'd probably get some juicy up-votes. Here is the original post if you wanna check it out:

https://steemit.com/ua/@steem-ua/introducing-userauthority-ua-steem-ua-and-ua-api

Talking about depression and stuff. What's depressing me is the amount of support I've lost due to delegations and bots, etc. Lost a lot of organic support. I don't feel like I deserve a handout. If that organization wanted to support my work with no strings attached, they would. They don't, so I guess I have to be fine with that.

You make a very good point, my friend. The drop in my ranking made my UA vote kind of gimpy. I initially supported the project because I thought they were doing something good to replace the useless reputation score.

I swore off bid-bots and promotion bots about 3 weeks ago.

As I sit here contemplating it, I may be better off de-delegating everything and making better use of my hard earned SP by making my own decisions on what is good content.

I don't want to contribute to the problems on this platform; but would love to be part of the solution. I will sleep on it!

Wow dude.. UA just released a new tool allowing you to see other people's UA scores. You have an amazing score:

https://steem-ua.com:5000/accounts/nonameslefttouse

I guess you are doing something right in their eyes.

You're not going to believe this. I came here just now to say pretty much the exact same thing to you. I went to respond in line with the chain of words we previously shared, but clicked the "view full" option, then saw this comment was 15 seconds old. What a trip.

Get out of my brain man!

check my UA score. never heard of it but i am not giving my keys either :P

https://steem-ua.com:5000/accounts/gooddream

You can check it without your key now, @gooddream. Yours is 4.178, 2983rd place among all Steemians

The sad news, my friend and I can not say exactly what happened, perhaps there was some kind of failure in the system. From myself I wish you to restore your rating to the previous level and even higher! Thank you @nuthman

Why the discord channel not giving you information about dropping your score? They should tell you why it's dropped.

Posted using Partiko Android

I guess no one was monitoring it today. Maybe someone will answer by tomorrow!

I'm sorry about depression--everything seems depressing these days. Maybe a side effect of getting old (24 seems quite old to me).

About your UA dropping. I dunno. The little I know is that it's based on your followership and interaction with the system. Maybe some other steemians are putting in more work (spamming).

My suggestion: if you're worried about your ranking maybe you should do something about it. Find new ways of engaging with the system. Personally, I really don't care much about ranking, well it does feel good when you're going up. Maybe I will check mine as well

Posted using Partiko Android

I was less concerned with my ranking going down than the fact that it dropped by so much, so fast. It usually goes up a couple hundred, or down 50 or so. It has never made such a negative jump like that. It makes me feel like I really screwed up somehow.

Maybe something is wrong is wrong with their UI... And p.s I see some of the top users on their site and well... I reserve my comment. You're doing a good job, just know. I'm not a fan of the photography community but you tell a story with your pictures and experience and I consider it worth my time--though I must confess I haven't been reading a lot lately

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I feel the same way about some of the top ranked folks.

Yeah, a lot of people on here just dump a bunch of pictures. I like to use the pictures to help people to see what it is that I experienced. I am not very good at writing eloquently, so perhaps all of the photos are a crutch. It is nice if a few people get a kick out of my posts or find them funny or interesting.

By the way - If I could have it my way, I'd be 25 and stay that way for the rest of my life. Best age ever! Not too young, not too old. Prime age.

That age reeks of responsibility too heavy for my shoulders. But I'm a strong man-- I overcome things 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

lol! You will be fine. Enjoy your 20s. They go by too quickly.

I heard about ua, but not much. I m not in their server. I dont know if I have a ranking in their list. But if it is a rat race than I am not interested!
I startefmd posting in steemit from 15th aug this year! Since then I like it very much as I have found many friends, met wise, kind and helping people who are helping me to become a better person and a better blogger. I have found great bloggers like u and many others. I think it is a great platform and better than facebook, twitter as all are very active here and do engagement with each other irrespective of their level, status or other suits.
There is a saying in our local which in english means "a well know father dont requires a cross!" If anyone is doing well with his work and engagement, I think je dont have to worry about any rank or postition. Our passion, our love and our care can not be measured and justified by any rank cause you know, nothing is perfect.
I dont want to slam or hurt anybody.. But this is my opinion about it!

you are doing great @nuthman!

keep it up!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, buddy. I think I am better off just removing my delegations and hope for the best. The point is to enjoy the process. If I make some money or get some recognition in the end, well that is a bonus!

Absolutely... I personally realize that steemit is not a place to earn a good money only by writing posts (if you are not investing into it)..
But you can enjoy it as a social media.. And at the end of the year, you may get some handsome amount to buy a basic camera lens! 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

It looks like Steemit has caught a kind of depression, which is probably caused by natural law after the high in January/February.

It all depends on how you look at your delegation: Was it an investment that paid off for you and brought you relevant profit in the past (in the form of money or recognition)?

Then you could get over the current slump and classify it as a past investment. I made a high "profit" for myself for a while when everyone was doing well here and the euphoria was blossoming.

Now that I have some unusually small voted articles, it feels like a punishment and a lack of interest in general. Furthermore, one thing is quite unclear: Why, for example, one is supported by a patron or several for a while and one has got used to a beautiful cushion and then, all of a sudden, this reconciliation stops.

It is offering oneself in a very open and sometimes inscrutable market, where nothing is binding. As long as you don't belong to a community that occupies the niches here and that you join in order not to roam as a single wanderer, everything falls under the category of competition and survival alone.

Even under the umbrella of a community one is not subject to any binding order except the personal ethics of the individual members. This uncertainty is really very hard to endure because people don't like to move in an unpredictable space.

For the security factors one makes a contract in the world out there. There is no such thing here. There's such a thing as developing a sense of when to serve a community and get a lot back from it, so it's moral honor to give what you receive. Inside and outside, it's hard to stick to the code of honor when you see how many violate it. Well. That's another topic.

What makes it difficult for you to know if what you're doing is of value is the comments (since a high vote here is nothing special without a corresponding comment commitment). Are you only praised by your readership because they hope in return that they will get your follower-ship or a higher vote than 1 cent from you? Here again: a high uncertainty factor. The comment field is extremely important and is always underestimated.

Basically, you might have a handful of active readers when it comes up who really want to get what you offer or consciously perceive and give you valuable feedback.

It's basically a pretty untenable state of affairs and I think big players and their preferred content producers should indeed enter into some kind of contract with each other, with at least the time dimension clarified and you know when one payment will expire so you can take care of the next. Otherwise, losing a supporter hits you hard and unprepared.

But I would only look at it that way if you want to live off it. If you're not dependent on steemit as the main source of income for your livelihood, then this is the Zen field where you get to know your ego damn well.

Yeah, I think a lot of people were experiencing a form of mindless ecstasy by the beginning of this year. I already had a steem account at the time but had really invested anything into it, or really spent any time getting to understand it.

I was, however heavily trading 10s of 1000s of dollars in BTC, ETH, and various shitcoins. I made so much money that I could have retired. To put it into perspective, If I had sold everything back in January, I would have had enough money to be one of the highest powered whales on Steemit right now. Just let that sink in. Then I just rode it out. I lost nearly everything.

I have been slowly transitioning my worthless cryptos into Steem over the past few months, because at least it is a project that is doing something. You live and you learn! It certainly was hard to watch myself go from rich to... well back to me over the course of a few months - without even spending a dime.

Oh, wow. So it can go.
Chances come and go, that is the risk with high risk platforms. One never knows when and how the game changes. Must hurt. But you'll get over it, you were already poor and you know it has all two sides. And I mean it. It is not as empty a phrase as it sounds.

I could have cashed out in the beginning of this year. But I did not. Actually I was even to lazy to think about all this money (which was a LOT for me). But now I am down to 2.000,00 something ...
I don't know. Maybe there were more reasons, also taxing, exchanging and all that ... but overall, I guess, it is because I did not invest any fiat money in the first place. Not a dime. So this earned money came from others in just three months (after I got my account here) and maybe I thought that is just not normal or something - lol ! In the end,... I guess, ... I don not care so much about money at all. ...
... maybe you don't, too ? Why call it "shitcoin" for example?

Yes, learning I do a lot here. ... Or so I do think. Even that seems sometimes uncertain. Okay, it's late and I sound probably a little confused.

Good night - or good day for you, Rick

I wonder what my UA score is Sir @nuthman I do not want to delegate nor give up keys just for it.

https://steem-ua.com:5000/accounts/cryptopie

You don't have to give your key anymore to see the score.

First time I heard of a USER AUTHORITY rating. What is it good for? Just to say you have a high rating.

I have been using it as a gauge to see how I am growing with the community. Unfortunate there doesn't seem to be a good gauge since the community is so volatile. haha. I suppose it is like real life!

You nailed it. Real life's a crap shoot. :-)

I have never delegated to UA and have no interest in their numbers. Is there something to be gained by delegating to them?

Yeah, you can delegate anywhere from 50 to 250 SP. Basically 250 gets you 7 up-votes a week from them, 100 gets you 5 votes a week, etc. The vote amount is based on your UA score. That is why I was kind of bummed when my score dropped so much, because the value of my daily upvote dropped.

They give you really nice up-votes if you manage to get a good score. But I guess it isn't as good as getting real votes from real people - but those votes sure help with visibility.

The part I dislike is how much my own voting power drops when I give away SP in delegations. I like commenting and spreading my votes around to friends and people I see doing good posts. I made the mistake of doing too many delegations, only to realize my account is not yet big enough to support others. Hopefully it will be someday! Now most of the delegating I do is by using Steem to lease SP through Block trades.

That is reasonable. I am waiting for some SP to return to me from some delegations that I removed a couple of days ago. I like having control of my own voting power, but also getting involved with a tiny few projects that I like.

I have a lot less SP than you do and have 300 SP delegated to Qurator. I often wonder if it pays off for me to leave it there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19