Making some Minnows

in #steem6 years ago

I've been spying on some accounts and those in the list somewhere below now have 500 'active' Steem Power :)


fishy.jpg
Image courtesy of pixabay

Hello all

After a few days off it's time to catch up with Steem. I see that the release date of the much talked about Hard Fork 20 has been announced. Hopefully this code-change will come and go without a hitch, and I'm wondering what the key changes will be.

It's likely that the timing of ones vote, if seeking to try and maximize curation rewards, will be the biggest change. And I'm looking forward to seeing some analysis / research into what people think is the 'best' time to vote for your favourite people / authors.

Time will tell if the new development will increase earning for curators, but I think this will likely be the case if you already vote for those who are upvoting their own posts in the first minute. Those using bid-bots early on in the life of their posts will also need to re-think when to time their bids.

As far as I understand it, the curation rewards that at present go to the author when they vote early on their own posts, will go back to the rewards pool when HF20 arrives. Personally, I think it would have been interesting if these rewards were distributed out to the curators on the post in which the author has upvoted 'too early'. Either way, I hope curation rewards improve slightly for all but we shall see.

Moving on to today's main topic of this post, I've been doing a bit of spying on various accounts that are progressing to Minnow status, and thought it would be cool to give a few of them a little boost. The rough criteria I chose is:

  • Actively posting / commenting / engaging
  • Have engaged with me in the past
  • Voting on reasonable number of different accounts
  • Not excessively self-voting
  • 300 SP or more

Soo, the following accounts have been delegated between 100 - 200 SP to boost them up to 500 SP.

@barge, @crypto-econom1st, @janton, @foxyspirit, @yogajill, and @mrday. Good luck to you all in becoming a Minnow in your own right in a few months time :)

It's likely that the delegations will last until the end of September, when my current paid lease ends. If any of you are planning on taking a leave of absence, let me know so I can redistribute elsewhere.

Did I forget someone?

Probably!

If you know of a Red Fish who seems to fit most of the criteria above, who is working hard to becoming a Minnow, then let me know in the comments. I'll check up on their activity and delegate (up to 250 SP) to the nomination who fits the bill the most.

Thank you to my delegators for giving me the chance to pay forward some of my Steem Power to other community members.


Right then, time to continue with the 190 Ginabot notifications that are waiting for me, and the replies I have yet to respond to. Apologies in advance for the tardy response time, particularly on my Engagement League post - tut tut!

My excuse is that I've gotten into Li-lo (inflatable bed) drifting in the Balearic sea, but no, I've not built up the courage to get over the creeper feelings and have not approached other drifters with the go-pro and some conversation, yet.

Have a good weekend all, I'll see you on Sunday at the latest :)

Cheers

Asher

Sort:  

This is awesome! So glad to see @yogajill in the mix! She leaves the sweetest comments on my posts. Thanks for all you do to make the blockchain a better place, Asher. 💖

Hi @katrina-ariel, I'm glad you approve of this choice and thank you for the kind comment :)

Community oriented as always @abh12345. I have no doubt the recipients are well worthy.

As someone that has received a delegation recently, I've noticed it makes a significant difference in the growth of my account from curation rewards. It's also allowing me to benefit others a bit more too.

Thanks @sparkesy43

I hope the above benefit in the same way you have stated.

Congratulations to all the delegatees. I know what you are feeling!

@abh12345 thank you for starting the initiative with me if you know what I meant. 😉

Sorry for creating another notification.

My pleasure @reazuliqbal, I'm happy to assist the people working hard on Steem :)

Your generosity is inspiring, Asher. Congrats to all those who received delegations! Happy slider bar!

Thank you @phoenixwren, the same goes for many here, including my delegators.

Happy slider bar indeed!

The slider is indeed very awesome to see for the first time 😬

Congratulations to all the new minnows!!! This is great. I think somebody is going to get a new nick name as minnow maker.

heh :)

I like the sound of that!

Well good you just keep right on growing and maybe next year you can be the dolphin delegator.

Very unlikely next year, but that is a goal in the future for sure!

I found something strange today in my wallet when I claimed my rewards for a post😯 I saw there's 0.44 SBD on it.. but I claimed 0.167 Steem and 0.167 SP only.. no SBD at all.. is that something connected with the HF20 ?

Well.. I don't really put any attention on how many SBD I got from a post though😊 all I need is SP and Steem. But it's something new to me. Do you probably know about how is that happened? Or anybody?

Another great gesture @abh12345, hope the Li-lo won't drift you away from us. Congratulations to the next minnows

Interesting!

Perhaps @tarazkp could enlighten us? I'm wondering if the print rate has changed, but is not yet showing in the interface. Or maybe you were sent some SBD via a transfer?

Look at this
image

Then this
image

But I won and got the transfer 1 SBD as the prize
So.. is that something usual? Never had experienced before

The SBD print rate is at 0% now, which means that all payouts are done in STEEM and SP, no SBD. See also here. The "$0.44" you see on the post is STU, not SBD.

Well.. I knew about STU from ginabot a month ago😊 until last week I still see SBD when claiming the payout.. so this is a bit confusing. But now I know.. thank you @crokkon 😉 need to tell some friends about this too. Well.. in Bahasa Indonesia off course.

It's not clear how you ended up with the SBD - I wouldn't worry about it though, just sell it for STEEM on the internal market and power up :D

Will do that soon😂 it 3 am in my place and I might be the first who experienced this in my little community. Thank you...

Hey, @cicisaja.

So, over the last few days, the system has been primarily rewarding us with a STEEM/SP split if we've chosen the SBD/SP option. The reason why there's no SBD right now is because something called the SBD debt to ownership ratio is at or above 5%. When that happens, no SBDs are 'printed.' It's was bouncing above and below for a while a day or so ago, so there was a mixture of STEEM/SBD/SP.

So, this isn't anything from the new HF. That's not scheduled until late next month. When it happens, though, it's more likely that SBD will be received in the SBD/SP payment option rather than STEEM and no SBD because the ratio is going up to 9%. All very complicated and confusing, but that's what's happening right now. :)

Thank you king @glenalbrethsen 😉 I'mnot confusing anymore.. I read the post and try so hard to understand.. and I can say that This is a better choice they made. Why busy with getting SBD when all I need is Steem and SP? Now.. it's getting challenging to keep active on steemit.

Let the expert thing about debt ratio.. uhmm, never thought that that kind of debt ratio existed in blockchain too 😂

so how can we get free sp

Free SP? You can't. Not really. You can get SP through posting, commenting and curating, so while you're not using money to buy SP, you are still spending time to do those things. Essentially working for SP, which I wouldn't consider something that's free.

You can hope that someone will delegate you some SP, but that usually doesn't happen until after you've done some work, like has happened with the folks listed here. They've all been creating good posts, engaging with folks on their blogs, and upvoting as much as they can. That takes time and effort to get noticed.

So, other than maybe winning a contest, where you still have to post or comment, there's not much in the way of free SP, @sullijay, that I'm aware of.

Work work work, Glen!

Nothing in this life comes free, way to represent, hard working Glen!

Steem does continuously have some of the best contests on all the internet though. I'm going to work on some of them this week ;p

You're going to work on creating some of the best content, or you're going to continue to work on commenting on some of the best content? :) Congratulations for the win in the engagement leagues. You're the one who knows about work.

As it is, I'm not even sure what is being referred to here, so anyway, did my best to clarify and explain. No response yet, so we'll see if there is one.

Yeah, thats the best way, just give them the sauce, see if they spread it on ;p

Content/Contests. I am going to enter a few contests this week, and keep creating some short video content, and also I love commenting on the best content from around the platform! It's just such a pleasure to be here, thanks Glen for being a part of that!

Don't know but at least you got 1 SBD here

Yes.. I have that 1 SBD.. bigger than my payout post for sure. Uhm.. I get used to 50:50 then 25:75 .. what about other voters in that post? Did they get something too?

I don't understand the question.

Aah.. forget about my question😊 I already find the answer. I was just thinking about the steem bounty, thank you for your attention.

Yes it's the print rate.

There is basically already to much SBD. So instead of having a SBD pay out you get liquid Steem.

https://steemit.com/sbd/@themarkymark/sbd-print-rate-0

Whooaa... this is really cool.. thank you @crypto-econom1st😉 i need to learn about this..

I am on my grind to becoming a Minnow aswell :D

Soon.

Soon I will get there

You are a nice and generous person, good to see that :D

The grind is real!

Hopefully you can find a community to give you a bigger leg up - good luck and thank you :D

WOW this came as a surprise to me!! I haven't been active as much because of summer, kids, activities, cakes etc and yesterday/today have been the first days where I can spend more time on here. Perfect timing :D
Thank you for what you do, you are an amazing being and I am not sure exactly what brought you to me, whatever that may be I am forever grateful. Sending you internet hugs!

Oh yes, I forgot to tell you all prior to the delegation :D

I have a feeling that like you, people will start to return in the coming weeks as the summer draws to a close for those of us in the northern hemisphere.

Thank you for the kind words, I'm glad the timing was good for you!

Well then, we should get to know each other ^_^ I should get to know a lot of people actually and I am currently spreading my wings as I learn about other discord communities.

I have a question about delegations. Lately I have been wanting to delegate to 2 communities, Helpie and Steemit Mamas, but I was told that if I am being delegated to, the delegators tend to not like that. Is that true? That is what has been holding me back as I do not want to insult anyone. Is there somewhat of a guideline for delegations?

No matter what anyone says, you can always delegate to me.

Preferably starting with amounts as of 10k.

😋😜

HAHA one day if I ever get there... just maybe ;)

We should :)

The pond, although relatively small, is still very large when you consider engaging with individuals. I need to try harder with that too!

I checked your delegations, and would have passed you over if you were delegating to pay for vote services, but I wouldn't consider it an insult if you delegated to a community account like the above.

The goal today was to make some minnows, if you delegate to the above you'll fall back to a red fish again :) If you do decide to delegate, it wouldn't make me decide remove the delegation.

That's good to know. So then it would be wise to wait to become a minnow before delegating to anyone with or without delegations?

Wait, with having 500, I am now a minnow? OMG O.O Where is my head at!!! Can you tell I was a bit lost? LOL

I thought it was more lol

I would suggest not delegating until you have 600+ SP.


You are a minnow now with a total of 500 ish SP, and should see the 'slider' on the steemit.com site :)

WOOHOO hahaha. Thank you so much. My screws need to be screwed on a bit more tighter. That is good to know about delegating.
Looking forward to getting to know you more in the near future. For now I gotta get ready as I am heading out ^_^

Take care!

:D

Enjoy your trip out, thanks!

Hey, @foxyspirit.

I just wanted to say congratulations on the delegation. I think it's well earned and deserved. :)

Thank you <3

That's an amazingly generous thing you're doing there @abh12345! Thanks to people like you, Steemit works for a much greater range of contributors!

And I know for a fact that delegations like this make a huge difference. I'm blessed to be the recipient of a couple of delegations; they have made a BIG difference in my ability to make a difference for others, and in building my own account.

Of course, also congratulations to @barge, @crypto-econom1st, @janton, @foxyspirit, @yogajill, and @mrday!

=^..^=

Thank-you so much @curatorcat 🐱 it makes HUGE difference! I am so grateful. And can't wait for the day to #payitforward ❤🍓🐶❤

Hi Asher ,that is very kind of you. I also thought it would have been better going to the curators on the post instead of going back to the pool. Would also be keen to find out the best time to vote. Have been experimenting with a mixed bag of results though.

:)

Currently i'm finding that a good time to vote on many accounts for curation rewards is before the 'busy' vote, as many of those i support regularly use this interface.

My guess right now is that exactly at 15 minutes might be best. I expect at least that lots of auto votes will be set at exactly 15 minutes.

But to be honest I still have to read and understand the exact changes. As I stopped reading those HF20 updates, since it seemed to be a project that would be finished somewhere in 2023 😜😆😂

I'm going to hazard a guess at 8-10 mins :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33