Managing the Voting Power of Multiple Staked Tokens - 2

in #steem5 years ago

An update on the first couple of days following the creation of new accounts to manage the voting power of all these lovely tokens we have available to us right now.


curious-1326327_1920.jpg
No-one is impressed with these steak references you are making. saucy


While I was writing the initial post I had that fairly common thought/feeling I have when producing content, which goes something like:

no-ones going to care less about this boring ass post, take some photos of your breakfast or something

But to my relief, the post seems to have been well received having 25 Resteems and over 200 comments to date. I did get one comment stating that it all went over their head, but I am also seeing a bunch of .pal, .leo, and .sports account popping up, so that's pretty cool.

Anyway, I've been eating my own dog food

as well as trying to reply to every comment on the post, and the multiple 'help me out please' DMs via Discord. My table manners are OK, I guess, but I am left handed and the knife action is more of a press and separate as opposing to a smooth cutting action.

Anyway, I've got some findings to share for those that are now running with multiple accounts, or thinking about doing so. Probably best to have the initial post read first too.


Delegation of SP to fuel the account/s

I started out with 25 SP for the .pal account and this looks to be plenty. You could probably get away with 10/15 SP if you have no plans to post content or vote 100's of times each day.

My .sports account has authored a couple of posts and I have been commentating, as well as voting, with this account also. I ran out of Resource credits pretty quickly, delegated 50 SP and ran out again, and now the account has 100 SP delegated. Now I know what it feels like to be a new account..... moving on!


Vote_Weight_Scaler

This setting on www.steemrewarding.com was the one I felt would need tweaking the most until the right balance was found. I started out way to high on this with a 350% ramp up on posts that were tagged with palnet.

e.g. A 30% or more vote from abh12345 would mean abh12345.pal (and leo, and the rest) were going to be giving a 100% vote out.

I quickly found out that this was too high, especially for the .palnet account and currently, the vote_weight_scaler is set at 125. It's higher for the .leo account, and I think it's a case of playing around and checking in on the VP of each account often - which is pretty easy on all the front ends i'm using as the current VP is displayed each time you click the voting button:

steemleo.com

sportstalksocial.com

palnet.io

The 'Estimated Vote Value' is pretty cool too, and I know these features are available on other Steem front ends - steemit.com seems to be lagging here.


Clunky collection of rewards

I read a post earlier today that I now cannot find which spoke about claiming rewards via the wallet pages on some of these new sites, and I must admit they seem a bit hit and miss. To be fair, i've had the occasional issue with steemit.com rewards collection where I'll need to refresh / logout/login in order to claim.

Anyway, I do think it works on all, but the easier way is to (script auto claim, errr, ok, next!) log into steem-engine and claim for each account that way. Damn, that could get a little annoying but with Steem Keychain it doesn't take as long as you'd think.


Replying to comments

OK so this is confusing me a little as not every comment appears on each interface and at present, I have 6 Steemworld's open. If you do plan to post from mulitple accounts, clearly you have as much spare time as me and so this might not be a huge hassle...... naa, it's a bit of a hassle. Fair warning :)

First Tag of your Post / Upvoting Comments

I was asked earlier today how I was finding upvoting comments invividually on multiple interfaces. The answer is that I'm not doing that, sorry!

The main account will be doing most of the comment upvoting, and if you have set up a trail rule as above and used a relevant tag (e.g. steemleo) as your first tag, the trail rule will kick in and vote for the comment also.

This only works on the first tag of the main post, e.g.

Someone replies to your post in which you have used #steemleo as the first tag and you vote this comment with your main account, the comment will receive 2 votes.

If you have also used tags #palnet #sportstalk #imafuckingtagspammer, your alt, even with a rule set to follow based on those tags, will not vote the comment.

More manual curation

With the previous comments in mind (did you skim? tut tut), I've actually found myself browsing around each of the interfaces I'm now connected with and curating and voting manually with 'spare' VP. 'About bloody time', some will say, and I will say yes, it does take bloody time.

But this is how it's supposed to be isn't it?

Manually curating your favourite topics, pushing what you see as the most solid content up the pile, irrelevant of the time the post was submitted, and the 'value' it currently holds?

Second chances

Is how I feel about it at present. I want to try to push what I see as the decent investment related posts on www.steemleo.com further up the pile, and right now is a good time to be able to do that. Mr @nonameslefttouse explains it much better than I ever could in his recent, most excellent work, which included:

The platform became the mall. My blog became my shop. Every voter became my customer. Steem Power became that pile of money that needs to grow and grow....

... In order for my shop to survive, the mall must survive. If I hurt the mall, I hurt my shop....

... I've been wanting to expand my shop for quite some time. Unfortunately, over the past while, some silly geese decided it would be wise to pay people to stop coming to the mall.

The new tribes are currently (mostly) without any major bid-bots or 'rogue' stakeholders applying votes to total garbage. And it's easier to keep the mall clean if a little work is done each day - sales of the good stuff should go up, and the past sell by date crap will hopefully be kept to a minimum - maybe that shop will have to close and make room for an awesome shop?

Last bit

I have moved some stake over to the likes of PAL, LEO, SPORTS, SPT, BATTLE, etc this past week or two, but I also think that:

  • Steem Power is key long term
  • SMTs are still wanted/needed
  • Tribes/communities via SCOT tokens are a lot of fun right now!

The longer SMTs are 'delayed', the more time these tribes will have to grow roots. I do hope there will be options in time for integration between steem-engine/SCOT/SMT, or maybe they can run nicely side by side.

Have a nice evening all, time for bed.

Asher

Sort:  

Greetings @abh12345,

You are doing a good service replying to many comments even unsavory ones. ^__^

bleujay has a query for you.....I would have left it at @noleo4u, but they seemed to have loads of comments with no end in sight.

The query is this ....Does steemleo have a discord or somewhere one can leave a query about one's content being acceptable......mine is questionable to be sure....but if looked at from the investment, business perspective.....they would be winners!

All the best.

Cheers!

Thank you @bluejay

I do try to respond to all my comments, even the unsavory ones sometimes :)

This is the Steemleo discord, the link expires in 1 day: https://discord.gg/zvXsP5

Cheers!

Thank you so much for the discord link.

The discord was quite helpful.

@gerber was there.....helpful as ever.

Cheers!

Thank you......appreciate your kind reply and link.

Cheers!

Lots going on!
I think it will settle down and people will focus on the things/communities/tribes they're interested in rather than trying to gather every coin everywhere. And that will be what makes coins sustainable and valuable - the value of the community, whether it's posting, engaging etc.

There sure is - my brain is starting to ache and my sleep quality deteriorate!

Totally agree with that as there will soon become too many tribes for any sane person to try to keep tabs on. There could well be 100's though, even before SMT. Exciting, interesting, scary!

FYI
https://economicstudio.github.io/vp/?a=abh12345&t=LEO
On right you can see Vote weight multiplier:
Just click on it (uses KeyChain)

not sure how the down vote thing works yet, have only just started to play with this.

oh and the claim automation works also. credit to blockchainstudio

Nice :)

What if i want to vote a LEO post at 100%, VP will be drained on all the other tokens, I think?

hmm? i currently have set all tokens up differently ie LEO x 10 , Sports x 5 etc. but it only works one way i think. so all depends on my steem vote. ie a 5% up vote = 50% leo, 100% nexion, etc. i stay on steemit so not sure how it works when voting on the particular tribe page - thought you would figure it out lol

I'm glad to see that you're still around @michealb

It's OK if you are logged onto the tribe page with a tribe login. But if you vote with your main I think all the VPs will fire and be wasted. You'll have to test :)

I must admit there is a revival in the blockchain.
Now tags mean something and everyday we will see which tag makes more sense long term.
Glad you can share your findings.
By the way under what tags can you see this comment ?
Keep on posting

I see a revival also :)

Tags are quite important at present, and i hope they are used wisely.

I see

which i presume means that when I vote with my main account, you will also get a vote from my .leo account too. Did you set those tags somehow?!

There is a lot of difficulty in keeping things under control, I would like to be able to have my cake and eat it too, but that is hard in this case. I love the fact that what I see as various magazines on a rack to go to and check out for content, I know I am not going to be a poster in a lot of these magazines, but I do like to read and browse, so that is good.

I can see my Leo VP sitting pretty high and my PAL VP sitting high also, it would be nice if some of the tribes are able to do something like D-tube has done and make it easy for us to set the VP of the native token and then of steem.

I love the fact that what I see as various magazines on a rack to go to and check out for content

For sure, much better when the content is more organised.

... it would be nice if some of the tribes are able to do something like D-tube has done and make it easy for us to set the VP of the native token and then of steem.

I think this will come, and will hopefully drive more manual curation.

Frankensteem 🤓 that's entirely too much trouble for me personally. While, I respect the efforts, for me creating alt accounts to play with second layer tokens and tribe on is never happening. Unless of course somehow these tokens are worth way more than they are now.

We want a new steem to attract new users and here we have this monstrosity of complicating things and requiring multiple accounts to best take advantage of the mess.

You said yourself you felt what it was like to be new, so we expect a 15 sp account to be able to accomplish this when in 2022?

Verdict is still out for me on this entire concept...

Edited to add, for a mobile user this is all entirely ridiculous.

Oh yeah? You'll head over when the moon and not help the mooning? :P

Totally agree with the rest of your points. It's hassle, complicated, too much for a new user, and I have already given up trying to do any of this on my old iphone.

I think you misunderstood me as I wasn't clearly expressing myself. I didn't mean I was not going to engage with and support tribes, only that as a mobile user with little stake in these Scot tokens I can't be bothered to maximize my efforts by following your course of action.

By all means go for it! I get that it's necessary if one wants to truly be hands on and take advantage of what's available..

I got my engage tokens and staked Leo, I'm not sure about pal, and being that I live in Malaysia which has capital punishment for weed I got out of that. This is despite having extensive knowledge in the field after decades of growing, extracting, and basically everything that can be done. But, the community is very niche and I'm focusing on things that have universal appeal..

I'll be here for any mooning lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Just pulling your leg :P

This route is totally unworkable as a mobile user, and if stake is only small right now, I don't see the value in the time it would take to set-up and manage.

Will you be attending Steemfest seeing as you are fairly close by?

I'm really hoping to seeing as its just a quick skip to BKK for me. Very cheap on air asia as well I think the last time I booked that flight it was not much more than a 100 USD round trip.

Now as for the steemfest pass and attending the events properly? Unlikely, but I'd like to hang out and be around the scene. I might wear a little troll costume or something, keeping in the spirit of my obstinate ways.

But, yes Thailand is like a 3rd home at this point, if we moon I'm totally opening yet another reggae bar on a beach in the southern islands. Now convincing the wife that I "need" to take a "business" trip will be a whole other matter entirely. A 4 dollar steem price 25k btc and 1 dollar engage token I'll be there with troll bells on!

Nice, well I hope you can make it.

And dude, if you do get to open that bar at some point, I have 2 months experience and would like a job!

Hired! Those 2 months are going to pay off big time ! 🍸🍹🍻

Posted using Partiko Android

So I've been doing the .scot thing for a few weeks now and here's what I've come to:

All posting and commenting are done on my main account. Originally, I was posting SPT-info on neal.spt and PAL info on neal.pal, but then I ran into the management problem you are talking about. It gets out of hand quickly.

So my .spt .pal .leo accounts are just for voting. I set curation trails on myself within those tribe tags. In addition, I add some tribe auto-votes on some of my favorite tribe-specific authors when they post in the tribe. So neal.leo autovotes edicted when he posts in steemleo, but not on other posts.

This approach has vastly simplified things. I only need to claim rewards on my .scot accounts occasionally and everything else is through my main account. And I'm sure someone will come up with a SCOT auto-claimer like we have in STEEM.

Sounds good.

I think for many, posting on .pal/.leo isn't required as this content is likely to be accepted from a main account, and just needs the tags.

.spt and .sports are a little more niche, and I made the decision not to crowd my main account with multiple posts on niche topics, mainly because i don't see widespread interest and didn't want to take advantage of the fortunate set of auto-votes attached. I'm well aware that most don't have this luxury / give a toss, and would recommend posting from main account for newer community members, mostly :)

A SCOT auto-claimer sounds nice, auto-claim and auto vest please.

Thanks for your thoughts.

I can see how that would make more sense with your level of votes.

Can you explain a bit wider plz, what you mean here by "auto vest" ?
Great post btw @abh12345. Confirms all my findings. Even have learned smth new, like the importance of tag order (for comment voting)

Thanks! I'm glad you found something of use :)

Auto vest relates to the automatic collection of rewards. I see many accounts (via their wallet) claiming rewards every two hours, and actually, this is a feature that is available on https://steemauto.com/

However, this is only (I think) for Steem based rewards, and not the curation/content earnings from the SCOT tokens.

It's still early days, and many of the features we now take for granted with Steem, e.g. steemworld.org are not yet available with the tribes and their tokens.

Hope that helps!

Oh yeah, it helps. Thanks !

@abh12345, You've started whole new journey brother, hope that you will going to achieve effective management of all accounts and will going to get productive results too. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Certainly have, and I hope others can join :)

I am enjoying this exciting and renewed journey. Good wishes from my side brother.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great post covering our NewSteem challenges in a NewSteem manner.

I love the options some more than others and hope it continues to grow!

:) I think when I vote on this post we will be swapping 3 currencies!

Thanks!

Honestly, it's quite a painful process and will still mean extra effort day-to-day. Also, I would suggest that for the new guy, it's a bit too much.

I'm hoping that new people will be on-boarded by a tribe, and not need to worry about a lot of this stuff. They wont have been dropped x tokens and be wondering how to manage them I guess.

When things are not so new that is exactly how I would picture it.

Let's say someone creates a token for homesteaders, we already have one for weed, and others who like to talk about these things notice and sign up. Not everyone has to worry about collecting all the tokens. I think that will be early adopter behavior to be honest.

Overtime we need to migrate our onboarding and marketing efforts to the Apps.

Hello
I must admit that today was my intro post and much here went over my head. I feel like day one in option trading class all over again. But I am going to follow you and read your post again, plus your other posts because even though I don’t understand what your saying now, I feel it will make sense later and be valuable. Plus you seem to want to share knowledge and give pointers, so I am willing to read and reread, then read other posts until it all becomes clear. Nothing easy is worthwhile. 😩😊
Thanks for sharing.
@shortshots

P.S.
I have only 5 Leo, so I need to buy at least a thousand l
Leo or get some delegated to me before I vote, but I will be back to upvote this post.
It has value.

Welcome to frankensteem it's alive but! I'm not new and I wish I didn't understand this because it gives me a headache and I'm not convinced tribalism is a good look or viable concept for a struggling monetized social media experiment.

Best wishes, have fun, don't go too far down the rabbit hole...

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi :)

Most of this isn't required for the new arrivals, or even many existing members who do not care for the tribes/communities branching out at present.

Existing members have been dropped tokens, twice in the past couple of weeks if you played your cards right. Once invested, each token has it's on value and voting power, and with one account you have restricted management of this.

Anyway, I would just focus on finding your feet with content around the topics you enjoy. Cheers.

This is quality info. I plan to set up something like this.

No weedtoken? What about the Korean ones?

I still don't see the purpose in tokenizing a forum. Maybe after HF21 cuts rewards or too many people join Steem or SMTs do something, it will start to make more sense. For now I mostly collect, but I do buy a little.

Posted using Partiko Android

Cheers :)

No weed or Korean ones as yet, I think I've got enough on the go as is.

Tokenizing a forum I saw as one of the main drivers for SMT, but outside of the Steem network. Right now with SCOT, it's pretty much all in-house with existing members setting up and contributing, which is OK, but we need investment from outside as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14