No manual curation up top?

in #steem5 years ago

Who's looking out for for content these days with the ability to stick a nice vote on?


owl.jpg
source


Below is a list of the 22 largest Steem accounts, by active Steem Power, which have voted for a piece of content in the past 14 days.

By my reckoning, there are 9 bid-bots/paid voting services, 10 community orientated accounts, 2 spam orientated accounts, and 1 'other'.

And 0 manual curators?

Among the rest of the whale sized accounts (500k+ Steem Power), there are 6 accounts that seem to manually curate: thejohalfiles, theycallmedan, kpine, blocktrades, tombstone, and glitterfart.

Well done if you have received a decent vote from the above accounts recently (and thanks to them for curating).

In 50th place on this list is acidyo, and just above him are nathanmars, donkeypong, canadian-coconut, and v4vapid who make up the list (as I see it) of manual curators. (Thank you)

Again, you have to feel quite lucky to get a vote from the above - your content among 186696 posts and 629227 comments in the past 14 days.

The list follows a slightly better pattern as you look down, the likes of reggaemuffin, anomadsoul, kevinwong, gtg, pfunk, pharesim, demotruk, drakos, fulltimegeek, tarazkp, to name most of who i recognize as not a bot, with manual curation taking place. (Thanks also)

Then at 490 on this list of accounts that have voted for content in the past 14 days, ordered by active SP, me. I'm feeling responsible for a lot of content creators all of a sudden.


At few points

And feel free to comment below on your takeaways from the above.

Become a part of a community

The top SP (that votes) is owned by community accounts, and this is me, again suggesting that finding a place in one (or more) of these communities will really help a content creator.

Was it always like this?

Prior to delegation of Steem Power (of which there are pros and cons), the answer is probably 'no'. Summer 2016 was a good time to be a content creator, apparently, but that was then, and this is now.

How can we get more large (and new) accounts on Steem to curate?

One answer is to pay them more. Anything else?


Of the names I've listed above as manual curators in the top 500, many also produce content on a regular basis. Content, not so much because they have something to share, but more so they can use their stake. Posts of recent times suggest a change in content output and more curation with the right incentives, and I've spoken to a few 'tired' accounts that would like post less and curate more.

I'm not sure on-boarding the masses (outside of large SP communities doing it themselves) is the right move at present, there doesn't seem to be enough SP 'spare'.

With SMT and Communities likely taking priority over the next 6/9/12 months, it could be a long wait before any changes come, if they do at all.

And so, content creators out there (like almost all of us), seat-belts fastened, join a community, and be lucky!

  • 10 selfies - proof of stake
  • Content worth more than 10 selfies - proof of brain+lucky?

?


Some numbers, and disjointed sentences for the weekend, have a good one!

Asher

Sort:  
  • 10 selfies - proof of stake
  • Content worth more than 10 selfies - proof of brain+lucky?

😂😂😂 are you going to do an open mic comedy at the steemfest?

Not a chance, I've got a bet on joeparys though :P

I was thinking to add your name as one of those who should do that few weeks ago in a post 😊 but I'm a bit late when I wanted to submit your name. Couldn't wait to read your real "roadtosteemfest" next week.

Haha, very diplomatic classification of 'other'.

I'm sure most people that don't get a regular whale vote tend to head towards the communities/Dapps for their upvotes... and I'm sure that once SMTs come in and businesses start to see the huge amount of content that could be created by offering upvotes, we'll start to see businesses in the top 500 manually curating/rewarding posts that benefit them.

Such a shame no one was collecting this data two years ago or a year ago... I'm so glad you're doing so now, be very, very interesting to revisit annually.

See, I can be sometimes :)

once SMTs come in and businesses start to see the huge amount of content that could be created by offering upvotes, we'll start to see businesses in the top 500 manually curating/rewarding posts that benefit them.

Yes that is something to look forward to, a bit longer to wait though....

I'm sure there was a time where the 20 manual voters would all fall into the manual curators column. Things are a bit different these days, but it's not all bad news. I'll run the list at a later date if remind me, how do you think it will look, 1-3-5 years?

Hmmm, 5 years it might be:

Nike
Coca Cola
Pepsi
Democratic Party
Walmart
Tesla
Dtube
Instagram
Forever21
Steemmarket

Super curious about 1 year away... I imagine it'll be all Dapps... STINC has a ton of SP that I'm sure they're saving to delegation to exciting prospects... I honestly can't even guess we're we'll be in a year. My guess would be that SteemCommunity is much higher up the Witness list as whales finally realise how much good you're doing on the platform to keep people engaged, which keeps them or others producing content, which keeps them invested, which keeps developers choosing the platform, etc etc.

That's a nice list, even one of those would be awesome.

I think bots and dapps will fill the 20, and suspect SC will have it harder as new witnesses arrive, cheers!

If anybody in that list, outside of both Steem apps, they will not be the brands account but at best micro-campaigns managed by their respective (national) agencies.

The biggest issue with that is that unless they tokenize their own SMT (don't bank on it until there's more legal framework available), they will first need to invest in 2m SP to stand out in that list.

That's a massive upfront investment and will require an absolutely long time for boardrooms to be convinced about such expenditure.

This is not running a microsite on Tumblr as for example Nike has been known to do.

PS: I think Wendy's has shown much more eagerness to enter arenas like these where they can "play" and build community.

Did I make the top 500, damn, I hope so. I will have to up my game if not!

Flying high!

Thank you for hodling your SP to give out to content creators :D

Phew. Always hodlin!! :0D

I see that, fine work sir!

thejohalfiles, theycallmedan, kpine, blocktrades, tombstone, and glitterfart.
acidyo, and just above him are nathanmars, donkeypong, canadian-coconut, and v4vapid
reggaemuffin, anomadsoul, kevinwong, gtg, pfunk, pharesim, demotruk, drakos, fulltimegeek, tarazkp

and of course yourself.
I feel pretty lucky, I think at one time or another I have received votes from the vast majority if not all of the ones you listed.
Thank you all of you

Well from what I see on this list I guess you don’t consider a community manually curating on the behalf of that account to be “manual curating.” With large sums of SP that is quite the responsibility for a single person to take on all alone. I think the whole column “manual curator” is quite misleading.

Sorry but you 50% people are crazy in my eyes. If you think trying shift the 22% or whatever they control out of the bidbots to a 25% higher curation is going fix things. Most of those people don’t have the time, resources, and let’s face it they make more money off Steemit then we could ever offer on. It’s just an investment for many of them.

The answer is not to pay them more dividends on their investment. It’s for the base value of their investment to skyrocket. We keep destroying the platform over dividends. If your stock crashes by 90% but hey we pay out a higher dividends. That does not make up for it.

Well from what I see on this list I guess you don’t consider a community manually curating on the behalf of that account to be “manual curating.”

Correct. What should i re-name the column? Steemit content curator?

If you think trying shift the 22% or whatever they control out of the bid-bots to a 25% higher curation is going fix things.

No i don't think that will fix things, and it's more hope based on remarks these past few weeks that existing accounts will curate more. Right now I think it's new investment that is required - New SP holders that are not selling votes.

Loading...

I am at something like #285 of effective SP (due to delegation) and ~#550 of own SP. Counting all whales, orcas and dolphins together (own SP) there are just over 2000 and that includes all of the alts, bots and dead.

Your data shows the future of steem, apps and communities. People need to stop relying on the SP of whales and start building communities with lots of people with some SP. Would be good if more powered up.

That's not many large fish to feed the small, and agree that community building/involvement is the way to go.

I'm powering down a little to cover SF bits but will hopefully be good after that.

WOW, if you're #490, I must be #490,000. XD
I knew not being on Discord for so long was hurting me - can't join those communities without it! Now I guess I should join one of those. I'm in others now, but they're smaller. :)

Discord will definitely help with some of communities, but I don't think it is a prerequisite.

Also, many of the accounts in the 'communities' column, just require content to be produced on their sites. The best place to be for most at present I believe.

Thank You BTW, Something to think about also, those dApps have a reason to upvote the content created via their sites. They are typically getting a piece of the pie as well through the rewards.

Pleasure :)

Yes they may have benefactor rewards set, and earn via curation. Although I've been told that curation is not a successful business model.

It depends on how you vote, whether manual or auto, I've been doing an experiment lately to see just what I could do on the curation side.

I have to say I can relate to Bees comment. I occasionally pull off a post that is not bad. Mostly the posts are a bit hohum, The same people seem to show up no matter the topic. All 3-5 of them :)
I believe alternate ways of earning steem may be the best bet going forward. I also have accumulated cards valued at much more than I could have ever made writing posts.
BTW hope you score your gold legendary. I am hoping for one myself.

Yeah, fair enough. I still think it's possible to get nice votes, but most people are at a level, seemingly irrelevant of content.

I believe alternate ways of earning steem may be the best bet going forward.

Yeah same, and the more alternate ways of earning the better :)

Glad to hear you've collected a nice stack. Did you buy at good prices, trade, win competitions?

I didn't get a gold legendary, but every card is worth a few cents at least. I got 25 packs (should have been 30 but I messed up :D ) today for the season position - 125 more cards ain't bad. Did you win some here too?

I feel bad posting just for the votes. I do try to make it a decent post. I am just not very good at that part :/

Did you buy at good prices, trade, win competitions?

A little bit of all those. I won around 20 pks plus do the daily quest. Won a handful of golds, none legendary yet. But still like Bee said at bottom prices my cards are valued at more than my posts usually pull.
I think the game could be great for the platform. The blogging side seems to be dying out. Nice to see new opportunities opening up.

Keep posting and playing the cards :)

It is nice to see new opportunities, the more the merrier for sure.

And engaging can't forget that :) Yes multiple streams (or drips) will surely grow accounts faster.

Hi Asher. Can't count musing in the list as they manually curate on their site . Ii think that was one post with an announcement last week.
If we make more dolphins we will be ok.

They manually curate musing only content though I believe? I wanted to group them separate from the manual curators who seek a wider range of content.

More dolphins would be nice - invest or be lucky :)

They are doing an exceptional job even though it is only their stuff but it is still curating. Kind of overlaps as some use their answers as their blog post.

Good to hear it.

Being in the community column doesn't take anything away from these accounts, the data was more to represent the lack of 'general' or steemit.com content.

Cheers :)

I've learned in my 11 months on here that it doesn't matter what I write (steemit-related, photography, or fiction posts) or how much I try to expand into other communities, it is the same group of individuals that kindly show their support to me. Not simply via auto-votes either because they have taken actions to let me know they actually do read my silly posts. I never came on here wanting to be a blogger and perhaps my writing, networking, VDS skills are not up-to-par as the rest. ;)

I've realized writing and curating is simply not for me given my time constraints. I've always been hesitant to join communities but have aligned myself with the Steem Monsters community. If I were to sell all my cards right now at dirt-cheap price on the market, I would definitely have made more in my couple months with Steem Monsters than my nearly one year writing and curating. Not too shabby for imaginary cards!

I never came on here wanting to be a blogger

Is likely echoed by many, me included. For the small investor, or someone with 0 investment, this is generally the route to STEEM.

We do have communities that pay to review content growing quite a lot, and of course the Monster cards could earn something too, so that's cool.

For the big players not wanting to produce and self-vote, or sell votes, should things be better for them?

For the small investor, or someone with 0 investment, this is generally the route to STEEM.

Perhaps it is easier now for newbies to get noticed and get big upvotes, but I've seen many receiving pennies on their posts. They then get burned out. It is a long-term investment writing and networking to earn STEEM the blogging route.

Going forward, my recommendation for family and friends would be to buy the $10 starter pack with Steem Monsters, invest the time to play the game for the booster pack prizes, and they may get lucky and catch a good card and sell on the market for profit. The chances of that happening is more likely than aiming for a whale to take notice and curate. If they want to blog, then definitely do so but my bet is SM having the better ROI (for non-bloggers and the average joes).

For the big players not wanting to produce and self-vote, or sell votes, should things be better for them?

Of course but Asher, real world principles are thrown out the door once on Steem(it). You should know that by now!

Going forward, my recommendation for family and friends would be to buy the $10 starter pack with Steem Monsters, invest the time to play the game for the booster pack prizes, and they may get lucky and catch a good card and sell on the market for profit.

Love it :D I want to see many more ways to earn STEEM on Steem!

Not everyone has thrown them out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66