Advertising Steem "The Right Way"

in #steem5 years ago

Ever since the price of Steem started its downtrend, in tune with the rest of the crypto market of course, I have seen quite a few posts advertising Steem, Steemit, comparing it with other similar social media platforms and also very often advocating its decentralized status as a pro argument for it. Nice, but does that really help?

Not too much in my opinion, because most of the readers or vlog viewers on this topics, on Steem, are insiders. It's you and me that already have the experience with it and mostly know everything about how it works. Thus I consider such posts more like a booster in confidence for us "the believers" and not that efficient in attracting new users.

mic-1132528_1280.jpg

Now the question that might come from you guys is how do you advertise Steem/Steemit? I have some simple methods and one of them is word of mouth. Yes, I have explained Steem and Steemit to people that have no clue about a cryptocurrency and I have done that to people that used to mine cryptos as well, "the scholar" and the newbie, but unfortunately with not much of a success. I tried though...

Another thing that I have done from time to time is to share some of my posts on twitter. I don't have Facebook and unfortunately I don't have many followers on twitter either but at least I try and I don't give up on doing that. The blog posts that I consider worthy I share them on twitter every time. Who knows, maybe some average John will read about it and sign up.

What is keeping Steem/Steemit from being "hot" and attractive nowadays? Its "cold price" I would say. Yes, I know the whole market is down, but if you look at Steem's price you will notice that it's about 20 times cheaper than the ATH while XLM for example and some other cryptos are only about ten times lower. I know that not all of us are in here for the money but the average John signing up might want to buy himself something nice at the end of the month with his earned Steem.

one-against-all-1744091_1280.jpg

When I tell people that I earn about $1 or less worth of Steem a day they don't ask much questions anymore about Steem and kind of give me that pity smile but I always always mention its ATH price and translate them what its actual value is for the patient one. It's a bit hard definitely to get new users this time around but not impossible.

However, I consider that the right or the best advertising that Steem can get is outside its yard. Making it known to people like myself that have a bit of taste for cryptos, have enough free time to fill your feed with all sort of blog posts and have the patience and trust in the platform to still write pages even when one Steem is worth less than 30 cents. We "have" to bring people in more than to convince the existing ones how good it is.

Source of images: https://pixabay.com/

Thanks for attention and have a great day!
Adrian

Sort:  

Hello @acesontop, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84