Should You Repurpose Content On The Steem Blockchain?

in #steem6 years ago


DTubers!

How are you doing today? I hope you are living life to the max!

In this video I talk about content reuse from the context of repurposing.
What do you think? Do you or don't you? Why and why?

Enjoy


Banner.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Sometimes I will post a video across both dtube and dlive simply because dlive and dtube seem to have different audiences. Also, I do it because one seems to be more reliable about playback than the other, or vice versa. Dlive seems to work a lot better than Dtube, and I don't see the people running Dtube fixing the buffering problems any time soon. So for me, yes, it is simply reliability for the most part. I don't personally frown on it

In fact, this comment wouldn't post on Dtube, so I had to come back to the blog to put it up... Unknown Error...

yeah.

Ok, that's an interesting perspective. A lot of people use YouTube for that. So they'd post a video on DLive or Dtube, and also embed the video via YouTube in the case of playback issues. I hadn't thought of people using DTube and DLive to hedge each other.

Thanks for the comment.

I've found Dlive to be pretty good for that, so much so that I can't decide on which one I want to use as my main platform. Both have really good interfaces, but dtube seems to have some unsolved issues as of yet. So hard to decide :)

Very interesting video bro !!! I think it's more admitted across musicians, producers, and artists on the platform that they will reuse their content, some of them are lifetime work and it makes sense that some of it will be reused.
You will notice producers like @darqub or @grant-vegra that offers remastered versions of their songs, which adds even more value for me to the platform , showing the creative process and involving the audience right in the laboratory.

It's actually encouraged on @dsound for example, where if you use the same title twice, the previous one will be replaced by the new one, providing an optimization of the library on the IPFS. Smart right?

Oh wow, I didn't know about that on DSound. That's actually brilliant! That solves a few issues related to the 7 day steem blockchain cycle.

Thanks for the valuable comment @edprivat

I think re-purposing is ok as we really do begin to see that there are different audiences for each. As you mention, there is the duplication feel sometimes for those on busy or steemit, but really I personally don't mind it. What I have seen is people taking old video's they made a few months ago, changing the thumbnail and a few things like intro and small components and re-uploading again on the same platform which is not cool at all and I frown upon. In that specific instance, they have zero interest in the audience, and are only attempting to reap additional rewards.

Haha. Gosh, I have a LOT of content I could do that to hahaha.
Yeah, that's probably not the best thing for the platform either.

I post on both DLive and Dtube. It is the same video on both platforms. 2 different audiences and reaches more people. I don't consider it re-purposing it at all. There are people that strictly view DLive and people that view only on Dtube. If you follow someone on Dtube and they are on DLive you won't know they posted anything unless you follow them on the other platform as well. DLive also sends you a notification (like youtube does) when someone you follow posts a new video or has a new stream up. Dtube does not do that at this time.

You are right about followers sticking to one platform. I have the same experience. However if you're on Steemit or Busy, you see both posts to DTube and DLive. But I get what you mean.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70