A note about @thedarkoverlord and censorship on Steem(it)

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Do me a favor. The next time some journalist writes a story about how @thedarkoverlord was banned off of the Steemit blockchain tell them "you're a fucking idiot."

Steem isn't Steemit

I know the names are similar, but

Steem is a blockchain
Steemit is a development company that (allegedly) makes blockchain code
Steemit.com is a web interface to the Steem blockchain run by Steemit inc.

@thedarkoverlord and censorship

What happened was Steemit is a company. The company has a terms of service. Thedarkoverlord's approach to extortion falls outside of the terms of service of Steemit. So on the front end of Steemit they no longer show that account.

Is the account gone? are their words no longer there? Is the whole thing fucked?

No.

The steem blockchain still has everything they post stored away. It's still on all the different decentralized servers in all the countries around the world. It lives on.

Can you see it on Steemit.com? No

Is it on the blockchain? Yes

Are there other ways to see the content on the blockchain other than steemit.com? Yes

Like Busy.org or steempeak.com mspsteem.com gosteem.com and like 50 million others

Conclusion

The steem blockchain is censorship proof
the steemit.com interface is not
the steemit blockchain isn't a thing that exists

Before you write another article or flip out about the last one try to calm your tits and learn the difference. Once you have, tell the idiots writing nonsensical stories that they don't have a clue what they are talking about.

A liberty note

Steemit has every right to operate however the fuck they want and show whatever content they want. I think it's a bummer they aren't gonna stand up and say give me free speech or give me death, but it is what it is.

They are a private business and get to make whatever decisions they want for themselves.

The steem blockchain is different. This is a public thing. No one person gets to decide what goes on or off it. Everything does, and then it's up to companies and individuals to make choices of what they want to show. They get the liberty to make whatever decision they think is in their best interest.

Sort:  

Yep. Can see it just fine on Partiko. They posted 3 hrs. Ago.

Posted using Partiko Android

My tits are just fine thank you..

Resteemed, I'd like to help you calm some tits!

I'm rather annoyed at all the people talking about it. Not a one of them told the whole story, and then quite a few of the commentors assumed everyone knew the whole story. It took me quite a while to figure out the whole story because they weren't telling it. I had to piece it together.

I didn't know they were posting info to Steem, or ransoming it or whatever. I'm still a bit fuzzy on what exactly they posted to Steem.

I'm rather annoyed that Steemit decided to remove them from their interface...unless they got contacted by some organization? I think they should have waited until they were contacted by someone, legally. But I understand it.

There was a question I asked before I knew the whole story, in regards to what they're going to do about other people that break the law on here. There are plenty of hackers on here I'm sure. Likely not all of them are honest about it. There are tons of people in the world that are criminals. Do they not have a right to freedom of speech? Sure, banning them from Steemit isn't really fully censorship, they can still go to Busy.org and SteemPeak, but what if they're banned from there too? What exactly is the line? What if instead of asking for money, they were another Snowden of sorts? Would they still ban them? What about if they're just a minor criminal talking about smoking dope and shit? There are a fuckton of those.

The blockchain is censorship resistant, but I won't like if the front ends decide to censor more and more people just because they've broken some laws. The question is, where will their line be?

The answer is wherever they want. That's part of liberty. We're not gonna force every single front end to promote or display every type of content. All of it is on the blockchain and the various interfaces get to choose what they want to show.

We're protecting the right of people to write whatever they want.
We're protecting the right of people to display whatever they want.

That's part of liberty too.

Are they "people" though? My main problem with this WHOLE scenario..this group or whatever isn't helping US THE PEOPLE. They don't give a shit about LIBERTY. If they did then they would HELP US to find JUSTICE & LIBERTY by sharing this info with the world. Instead they would sell to the highest bidder. That's fuccing WEAK! I say fucc them and it aint censorship cuz they aint here to persue LIBERTY or exercise FREEDOM for the PEOPLE.

I bet steem wouldn’t of took it off their front end if they were not extorting. I find steem is still a great place to post whatever. I post about cannabis and not once got censored. People can even post their dick pics here for god sake! 😂😂

Man, why did you say that? LOL. Prepare for dicc pix!!

Hey you can’t talk about censorship with out mentions of dix pix

I doubt that companies will ask employees their opinion on what should or should not be displayed. So it's really just the opinion of the top in a company.

I agree with your Philosophies Bruv, but this is way over the line for STINC.

Given your nick @geekpowered, it seems possible you could provide an app/frontend that would draw lines where you want them.

Just sayin'.

A man is not an army. I would need a dev team. Especially since I don't really do JavaScript development and would pretty much have to write an interface from scratch if I were doing the development myself...or get a lot better with JS.

It takes quite a bit of time for a dev who primarily works in another language to really adapt to that new language. Sure, I could do minor changes and such, but every language has a different style.

It would probably actually be easier for me to start from scratch than to work with the code already out there, because it takes a lot to go through someone else's code, and even more when it's not a language you specialize in.

What you said is similar to telling an engineer that if he doesn't like the choices of a car company, he should design his own. It's fully possible. Quite a few do and make some kick ass ones. But it's a pain in the ass and a lot easier if you have a team and a lot of money to back you.

Every word you write in this comment is true to the bone, and are all amongst the reasons that those who have undertaken this endeavor do not lightly undertake the legal liability for displaying criminal posts.

Sad, but true.

Now, Imma flag myself because I accidentally selfvoted while trying to upvote your comment.

Edit: I would, but I've never done it before (on Steempeak, to my recollection), and it's too much trouble to learn how to flag for the measly tiny reward I gave me LOL

The general public really don’t even understand Crypto, then you have a company that kind of sounds like Steem and they get everything screwed up.
It’s going to take time to try and explain this is a blockchain.... This is a Company running on the blockchain.
They are idiots...... eventually when they “ get “ decentralized blockchain the lightbulb will light up 🤨

I think for the time being we can explain it in a few ways to them. Like it working like a database. Steem is the database and Steemit is just one of a few sites that displays the data from Steem.

We can come up with quite a few analogies for this for them.

Most people don't just "get" things at first glance...especially when the person explaining it to them doesn't really get it either.

I agree with you, we ned to try to explain Steem/Steemit in layman's terms!

Nobody's going to "massadopt" it if being called "idiots".

Posted using Partiko Android

Before you write another article or flip out about the last one try to calm your tits and learn the difference. Once you have, tell the idiots writing nonsensical stories that they don't have a clue what they are talking about.

😂😂 Ahhh man, this paragraph made me almost choke on my coffee with laughter. I used to be guilty of not recognising the difference between steemit as one of many choices to interface with the 'steem' blockchain.... and Steem as a blockchain. But then I did some research about 5 months ago.... Worked out how it really works... And now my tits are as calm as a housewife after her mid afternoon valium 😉

I recently read an article about this story 'off chain' and wasn't surprised to see that the author was a complete tit who didn't grasp how anything works. The gist of the article was that the evil hackers had been thwarted by the good guys - Twitter and Facebook and even the shady environs of the crypto blogging site steemit had shut them down! It really was a quality piece of modern day journalism; badly researched, badly written and factually inaccurate.

But... fuck yeah... team soc media taking on the mfckn evil hackers of the world. It made a good comedic fiction.

And now my tits are as calm as a housewife after her mid afternoon valium 😉

Haha, knoooooowledge – the more you know, the calmer your tits.

Ha ha, for sure... with great knowledge, comes great responsibility... and even greater relief from nipple chafage

I understand how they feel. My posts about nickelback never show up on steemit .com but if you access the steem blockchain with another interface they show up just fine.

Wait, did you just say that posts about Nickelback are censored on Steemit.com?
(Sorry, I can't tell if you're serious, or joking.)
If you're serious, are you referring to the same Nickelback I'm thinking of? The has-been Canadian pop/rock group that everybody loves to hate?

THANK GOD for that! CENSOR NICKELBACK!!!

Why? LOL there's way worse out there!!

Way worse then this group? Sure, I do not doubt that. I have a problem with any set group or individual who instead of helping the PEOPLE looks out strictly to gain from the ability to help or not help. It's like having the ability to change the world for the better but instead taking money TO NOT CHANGE it for the better. In my book that is scum .

You've failed to demonstrate why Nickelback should be censored from Steem. You claim that Nickelback is in a position to help the people but isn't doing so, and therefore they should be censored from the Steem blockchain. But aren't there a lot of other artists and groups that could help the people but don't? What about politicians, social media icons, actors, celebrities? They could all help the people but they don't... shouldn't they all be censored as well, by your standards?

I think my comment was aimed at a different "group", lol. Since you bring up Nickelback, I am all for your freedom to like what you like. My comment was aimed at the group darkshadowoverlord...so, I may have misplaced a reply somewhere. HA. I f you know me , I don;t play no NICKELBACK.
~RESPECT~

You: "CENSOR NICKELBACK!"
Jill: "there's way worse out there"
You: "instead of helping the PEOPLE looks out strictly to gain from the ability to help or not help"
Me: "You've failed to demonstrate why Nickelback should be censored."
You: "my comment was aimed at a different group"

Just to summarize, for anyone who doesn't have the time to look upward and read it themselves. :)

Yeah, I think this is were 2 talking points kind of smashed into each other,lol.
I was NOT referring to NICKELBACK in my comment. Sorry for the misunderstanding .

My God!

"...shouldn't they all be censored..."

There's a killer meme there.

CENSOR EVERYONE!!!!

Thanks!

While I personally do not agree with the decision, I am not a coder so it wan't my call when all this was up on Github, but I thought the actual code to the Steem blockchain also included filters to ensure no Nickelback related anything would show up on the chain as well as the blogging web site. I just don't see them as hate speech like the world does but what do I know.

Srsly!!!?? Whaaaat?

Yeah, whaaaat?!?!?

Hahahaha 😂

That happens to me too! You can search my entire catalog and not find one post I made about Nickelback, or Chill Chad.

Makes me so mad!

Nobody seems to care about steemit inc censoring all nickelback posts but that becomes a slippery slope. If they can censor nickelback what comes next? me, you???

Yep. Pretty soon it could be the Biebs, or Yeezy.

We're all doomed!

Magic Dice has rewarded your post with a 62% upvote. Thanks for playing Magic Dice.

Wow, thanks for the nickelback love @magicdice

Well pointed out. I was confused by this one the other day, a bit of clarity is always good. Steempeak you can still read it. 💯🐒

Great to see a top level witness speaking out about STINC's actions. Thanks @aggroed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65402.71
ETH 3383.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.60