My talk at the Libertarian National Convention

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

So, I was recently able to visit the Libertarian National Convention and give a talk there. I gave a working title of making money with Steemit. I didn't get a chance to fix that, and it was printed that way. There wasn't a huge audience for the discussion, but Ernie Hancock came and he has a pretty strong following of Libertarians. I have a conversation with him on Thursday and hopefully we'll get his base more amped up about Steem. Anyway, I gave a talk so here is the talk slides and a quick gist

Spreading Peace, Abundance, and Liberty on the Steem Blockchain

Intro Slide

liberty.steem.001.jpeg

How I got started - Facebook kept shadow banning me by making me identify friends on memes where it was impossible.

liberty.steem.002.jpeg

The origin story of my name

liberty.steem.003.jpeg

I wasn't immediately successful here!

liberty.steem.004.jpeg

I was helped by @kaylinart and @fyrstikken and learned how Steem can spread abundance.

liberty.steem.005.jpeg

That was an important lesson because the things I was fighting as an internet activist was war, poverty, and spying. This seems to be a perfect antidote.

liberty.steem.006.jpeg

This is what I figured out. Steem is a fantastic tool to spread the message.

liberty.steem.007.jpeg

What is a blockchain? Blocks hold data, and the chain puts it together.

liberty.steem.008.jpeg

What's in a block?

liberty.steem.009.jpeg

What did I start working on?

liberty.steem.010.jpeg

I was elected to help spread this message.

liberty.steem.011.jpeg

I'm working on a backdoor way to onboard people. Come for a game, stay for the community.

liberty.steem.012.jpeg

With the blockchain you can earn through coding, creative projects, and normal business transactions. Steem makes it easier than other places.

liberty.steem.013.jpeg

We'll see where it goes

Hopefully it was worth the trip to head down there. I'll find out more when I talk to Ernie on his show on Thursday at 9am EST.

1

Sort:  

Thank you @aggroed, I enjoyed the slides, is there any chance you can tag the post in #promo-steem tag. This is where we have a community for sharing and rewarding posts about the promoting of Steemit and the Steem Blockchain. This will be a highly valuable read for our community. (& the secondary benefit is that I'm pretty sure you will get rewarded from our @steem-ambassador account). Thanks for sharing and hope it goes well with Ernie - it sounds like you will have delivered a talk with passion to like minded individuals - I'm sure it will lead to something positive that's for sure! Thanks @cryptocurator

I appreciate any opportunity to meet a fellow Steemian in person, and being able to meet a witness is a privilege I don’t take lightly. Thanks for showing up. It was worth it for me.

It looks like they left you off the list. :(
https://libertarianconvention.org/our-speakers/
That's pretty cool you got to speak though. Wish it was on video.

This is the kind of people I hope to see more on Steemit. The values you support and spread through your projects are amazing, I've personally interacted with some people in the PAL network and they have been welcoming and warm towards me, now I'm looking to participate even more with @steemmonsters. I too believe that video games can reunite people, just look at what's happening with the FIFA World Cup, every 4 years the entire world just focus on a sport, watching people playing and running with a ball between their feet.

Can you imagine that the same happens with @steemmonsters once a year with a world tournament or something like that? These are good times, thanks for your contributions so far @aggroed.

PS: That explanation of your nickname is cool af.

@javo1096

Dude this is the most comprehensive and yet concise post ever :-)
Practically sums up the main points without a sweat and does it with style!

Of course your Steemit career must have far more than can be summed up in a few posts but this one does pretty good job of showing your current status

Congratulations @aggroed! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Croatia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

making me identify friends on memes where it was impossible.

How does that work ? like asking you to tag people in meme for some reason ?

It didn't occur to me that a game could be a "back door onboarding" method. Very clever XD Also love the "this is your life" style book presentation.

Well done! Even if there were only a few, the next great Steemit contributor may have been among the bunch. You never know what seeds you may have planted.

I wanted to come and see your talk! Unfortunately, being a delegate and wrangling the family, left me with very little time to catch any of the speakers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28