Does Content Quality Matter To You On Steemit?

in #steem5 years ago

It you have ever read any of my long-form posts here on Steemit, you would probably already know I am a fan of content with some thought put into it. A few of my posts have been short, but a lot of my content is written over the course of days and weeks, not minutes.

It got me thinking: does quality content matter to you? Does the quality of the content determine if you're willing to upvote it or not, or is it about the curation profits?

I am always looking for high quality content to upvote, but admittedly, a lot of the content on this site is junk and uninteresting. I find it quite difficult to find good content. I do my best to curate my feed, but I eventually run out of things to upvote. I vote a lot almost every single day, I never vote my own content.

What matters to you?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Does quality matter? I guess most people would immediately answer "yes", but thinking a bit about my own voting habits, I think there's more than just quality. I have limited time that I'm willing to spend on Steem so there's a good chance that I will "miss" quality posts. I have a couple of people on auto-vote of which I believe they produce consistent quality content or groups/communities that I want to support. These votes typically go out before I have read their posts. You mention curation profits - Curation for profit is a hard business and better left to bots, it takes a lot of effort to get good returns with manual curation. But for the authors in my auto-voter list, I try to set the voting time in a way that I have at least a chance for some curation rewards. Finding quality content sometimes isn't easy because there is just too much content on the chain. I found that going through the feeds of other people can sometime help a lot to find good content, esp. if they share similar interests.

The curation trails are a great way to support good content writers. The time factor definitely weighs into it, I completely get that. I think one of the reasons I struggle to find good content outside of my own feed is because I really don't have the time to go looking and admittedly, Steem doesn't provide a great way to easily find good content.

I really should look into an auto-voting curation trail.

Yep. Quality matters to me. I can kinda tell what a post is going to be when I read the title (usually).

But then, quality isn’t just words — I love that there are people sharing their photography or their drawings or paintings, etc.

Just because I appreciate long-form blogging, doesn’t mean I always have the time to read it... plus I don’t spend too much time on here...

Admittedly I follow a couple of curation trails, so my voting is taken care of mostly. But I also check the post-promotion channels in the Discord communities I’m part of and go see those posts too, and engage as much as possible on what has already been voted on by the trail.

I don’t both looking at ‘new’ ‘hot’ or trending, I’m pretty happy with my feed, and following the better curation accounts means I’m always coming across new stuff that interests me.

😊🙏🏽😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

You are absolutely right about the time aspect, which is something that I have not really thought of being on the other side. Long-form content can be exhausting and time-consuming to read, a lot of people might just skip over it.

And you also raise a valid point, a good photo can be just as high-quality as a well-written post can. After all, a picture is worth a thousand words and that must mean, a great picture is worth at least five-thousand words, haha.

Another commenter mentioned curation trails, I really should look into those because I really want to support people on Steem and secondly, I want them to stick around and not become disenfranchised that they're being ignored and efforts wasted.

Those trending sections I do admittedly go check out once and a while, but it is all of the same junk and it's dominated by the same bidbot abusers almost every single day.

It doesn't seem to impact the level of engagement, payout, or follow / subscription that I get from return on investment in terms of the time I spent in producing the content, to be completely honest.

There's a certain baseline quality that I won't dip below, but then there's the obvious "shitpost" that I will want to make every now and then.

Quality comes and goes - I tend to favour consistency in the people I curate, follow, and engage with. There's definitely a mixed bag out there.

It doesn't seem to impact the level of engagement, payout, or follow / subscription that I get from return on investment in terms of the time I spent in producing the content, to be completely honest.

I have experienced and seen the same thing as well. It seems length or even quality of post does not correlate to higher valued votes, follows or interaction with the Steem community. However, I have been fortunate to get upvotes from @curie before on a few of my posts which were quite-long form, which was a nice motivating factor keeping me around on Steem in the early days.

I like shitposts when they're funny, absolutely. I think it's the users constantly shitposting, self-voting and abusing bots who are bringing this place down. But, a good shitpost can sometimes be better than a long-form well-written post, ha.

There's nothing wrong with a well timed self vote - if you're larger than your followers. This enables you to reward them with increased curation awards.

There's a fine balance in all things. Curie is a great group of people and an excellent philosophy for this blockchain. They've ensured that I stay around, especially in my early days!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 27.02% upvote from us for your 4495 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Congratulations @beggars! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 700 comments. Your next target is to reach 800 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28