Steem is Rising, but activity is low - If you're not actively posting, you'll miss the rewards wave... Or get hit buy it hard!

in #steem6 years ago

Will the last 2 days of the STEEM price rising continue long enough to see post rewards improve much? Will it trigger more activity on posts and comments? Only those that paddle will catch the wave...

Surfing_at_North_Jetty_Park.gif
source

For the last few months, Steem has been on the down. Have a look at the chart of active content creators (posts and comments) over the last 6 months... It's quite a sorry sight to see... It shows money and rewards mean a lot more than most of us care to admit... Yesterday's active content creator count: 17834. Out of over 1 million accounts? That is less than 2% of all accounts actively posting.

Here's 6 months worth of STEEM price charts from Coinmarketcap.com. See the similarity?

The last 48 hours or have been really good for STEEM, with the price bouncing up nicely, from about $1.20, to just over $1.80, and now sitting around $1.65. I recon this could induce a few fair-weather accounts to sprout up and post some content to hopefully get some better rewards... but they're 3.5 days too late!! Reward are paid on a 3.5 day median STEEM price, so we need these prices to stay up another day or 2 to get a good reward on our posts from 3 days ago... If the price fails to maintain this level, and sinks back to the $1.20 region in 2 days time, those accounts coming back to post articles now will have missed the wave, and their post payouts will be back down to where they were before the latest price run.

You have to be paddling before the wave comes, or it'll go right under you, leaving you far behind the others. So keep paddling, and posting even though the price isn't quite right... because when the big one really hits....

BUMOhvilpf6oeak0LanYV5YWyTzzV9PjauOW3CgqzRs.gif
Source





Team Australia, Team South Africa, and The Alliance banners by @bearone

My Awesome Upboks by @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Will have to keep an eye on the wave @bmj

BTW I posted about the Sardine Run, if you feeling up to seeing it visit...
Visiting from #teamsouthafrica

Ah the good ol' sardine run. Always a lot of fun gouling to the beach when the fishies are there.

Ha! I didn't know that about the 3.5 day median price, actually, that's good to know! I try and be consistent, though some days my brain is just "wat r werdz," but even then I try and leave comments and vote!

You may not catch every wave perfectly, but if you're not paddling you won't catch any. The price for rewards works on a 3.5 day moving average on the blockchain. Mainly to prevent gaming the conversion system, even though that's non-existent. Also to iron out any market shocks and manipulations.

Thanks for this @bmj. I noticed that my account had dropped and because I'm still new at this, am only just learning the ropes. Similarly today I saw it had risen. Now I'm learning why. Thanks

Yeah, the account value goes up and down with the STEEM price. It was great when STEEM was over $4😂😂😂, but the true value is inside the platform with Steem Power... then the $ value isn't as important unless you need some $ to be taken out.

This is what I'm learning. I'm a slow learner...lol

I've been using this analogy for two years now.
So I couldn't agree more, @bmj; spread the word. Testify.
You got to do your paddling BEFORE the wave's under you.

Well look at that!! And it still rings very true today.

Absolutely. I think Steem was around 12-15c when I wrote it.
I was angling for 500 followers, now I have nearly 7 times that.

everybody is going crazy for the prices jajaja but i know something, we will be fine! just wait until the december madness start again!!

meanwhile we just have to keep posting, keep making friends and keep the steem on!

Hopefully we can keep building up toward December... that's a long way off in crypto terms... anything can heppen between now and then... we just keep going and hope for the best.

Yes, a big change! I hope this STEEM graph will extend higher like before... I need to send money to my country for my father who suffers from his illness "cerebral stroke".

I hope so too @kennyroy. Wishing you and your father good health. I'm sure a good STEEM boost will help you.

Thank you so much @bmj...

I love a good wave analogy - and you’re spot on! I hadn’t posted much because I’ve been busy, but luckily a trip to the snow has inspired me to get back on steepshot. Hopefully I’m paddling just in time 😊

Hopefully you are just in time, and we catch a good one!! A break can be a good thing sometimes to get your thoughts gathered too. Sounds like you're back in the water and inspired!! That's great!

I’m in and out of the water all the time - my inspiration definately comes in waves!

A great analogy. I'm still here, still paddling daily!

Keep going, it will pay off in the long run....

Thank you for the info on the 3.5 day average. That is news to me. Being new to Steemit I have done a lot of research into how it all works and yet I still learn more each day. I think this is one of the aspects that keeps me so interested. Time to get paddling i guess!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85