Taking a Break from STEEM

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

It’s a decision I have deliberated for a little while now, but the time has come for me to step back from STEEM and take care of business. I’ve been having a look at my 2017/18 Financial Year and this is going to be my lowest income year for many years. It’s not a co-incidence that I first came to STEEM in July 2017 and it’s clear to me I’ve been spending way too much time here which has drawn away my focus. I need to take a break and get my priorities straight.

backtobasics.jpg
Source

It was good fun while it lasted. I’ve met some really interesting, funny and good quality people here, but I can’t justify the time I’ve been spending on the platform. I’ve been posting nearly every day for the last 6 months and when Crypto was pumping I could at least justify the effort that I was putting in as the sky was the limit. I hate to be that guy who steps out when the market tanks but I’ve been here for almost a year now so I’ve given it a fair go. I have to get back to earning some real money to take care of my young families future.

family.jpg
Source

I still believe there is enormous potential here and I do hope to be back some day, but there are a few problems I see that probably need to get fixed before my enthusiasm for this platform will be renewed. I might write more about that before I go. I’m giving myself 2 weeks to get those last few posts off my chest TODO list and transition myself out.

transition.jpg
Source

For those people who know me from my involvement in #SteemSilverGold I am hoping to facilitate a smooth handover for the management of the @ssg-community upvote bot. While I’ve been heavily involved in that, it was never mine and it was always intended to be a community resource. I’m in the process of canvassing the guys behind it and the broader membership for a new Bot Operator. Over the next 2 weeks I intend to be drawing up some documentation and training up a successor before I go.

baton.jpg
Source

It’s not a hard job and after being stable for 3 months the bot practically runs itself. It just needs a bit of hand holding now and then with a bit of admin work for book-keeping on the financial side of things for Contributions and Leases. If you’re interested in stepping up to Volunteer for the role I can help you with all the documentation and training you need so please reach out to me on Discord buggedout#9522


steemsilvergold_buggedout.png

teamaustralia_buggedout.png

Images and Credits
https://smallbiztrends.com
http://www.joeloveiw.com
https://healthtransitionwi.org
http://www.littleelmisd.net

Sort:  

Hope we'll see you again.
Have my (not farewell) upvote

Totally understand mate. Steemit can definitely take over your life. I've found the same thing with my business and I probably need to do the same thing you're doing.

I've been thinking about setting up some auto votes and stepping away for a little while as well.

It's a work-life balance thing, which I know sounds like a cliche these days but it's true. Steemit can be addictive and sometimes it feels like work - but bills don't pay themselves :)

I totaly understand where you are coming from, steemit has a way of pulling you in and before you know it, its consuming A LOT of your time. You are a Smart Man Bugged, you need to handle your family, for with out them life is empty. You have touched this platform in ways you can never imagine. You where the lifesaver of SSG, you stepped in when we needed the most help. You kept everyone calm and focused on what this community is about. You WILL always hold a GOLD membership with SSG. So take your time, get your fam/fin back where you want them and I am sure that at some point in the future are paths will cross again. See once a stacker, always a stacker. SSG4LIFE--- Thanks for all that you have done! I am honored that I had a chance to work with you, get to know you, and call you a Friend!

Thanks @raybrockman I've indeed made a lot of friends here at SSG and across STEEM so stepping away has been a very tough decision to make, but reality bites some times.

I am sure we will talk again soon as well as a LOT over the next 2 weeks. Thanks for being a great inspiration, a great person to work with and showing great leadership for SSG :)

Your greatness is not what you have, its what you give.

@buggedout I fully understand where you are coming from and I may have to do the same thing soon also. I hope you pop in when you can. I thank you for the service that you have provided with the Precious.............

You're welcome. I'm sure I'll pop in sometime when you least expect it ;)

Please do and take care of yourself

Well, if nothing else, you got yourself another friend in the states! I have no doubt you will readjust and find a way to create more success for yourself and your family. God Bless you all!

Thanks. I appreciate all the support and chats we've had. I still want to get over there some day if I can swing it...

It was good fun while it lasted. I’ve met some really interesting, funny and good quality people here, but I can’t justify the time I’ve been spending on the platform.

Yep yep and yep. After 3 months I'm close to checking out. Lots of great crew but time consuming and there's life elsewhere I'm sure. I don't have the drive or know how to be a big player and it's depressing being a small one. Be interested to hear what you have to say in next few weeks. Best of luck.

Thanks for stepping up to the plate when we needed you. You’ve done a great thing and hopefully this crypto stuff gets hit again. Family comes first. Good luck and hope to see you pop in from time to time. All the best👍

Thanks. With any luck I'll get my house in order and can come back just when Crypto and STEEM upswings again :)

We’ll miss ya bugged! Steemit is cool - but so is real life - hope to see you back some day 😊

Thank's for all your time with ssg,I hope you pop in once in a while to let us know how its going!

It's easy to get jaded on this site, I find. I've got a holiday planned late July to early August. It's probably going to be the best holiday of my life, away from it all: technology... steemit. I can't wait. :D

Enjoy your break.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28