I'm earning more just by curating than from my daily dose of Drugwars

in #steem5 years ago

In the beginning I earned around 3 STEEM per day from the daily reward based on drug production, and now it has gone below 0.2 STEEM. I'm not upset about this as I knew from the beginning this was going to happen based on the way the reward structure was set-up. The second reason why I can't really be mad, is that I've reaped a massive 215% return for my investment: I put in 23.359 STEEM, and have ended up getting 73.517 STEEM back from the game so far, 50.158 of which is pure net profit.

But of course now you should not buy anything from the game with Steem as it is so late by now: 2 months – more like 2 years in Internet time – since the game started, so what you put into the game, is likely never coming back. This is, of course, with the assumption that it's money you're after, which most of us probably were – I at least was – but if you like the game itself, it's not much different than spending money on something whatever you can get in Candysaga, Kingdomhearts or whatever mobile games there are. The names might be complete nonsense as I don't play any mobile games.

When putting all my drugs into heist, I can still get something around 0.3 STEEM per day. But when I've gotten similar amounts just by curating a single post, it's getting close to the point where it's hard to justify putting the time to even make the few clicks a day for that little STEEM, since, like I have said: I don't really like the game itself, I just like the STEEM I was getting out of it.

curation reward.png

And when counting all the rewards from a single day, I'm consistently earning more just from upvoting content (although some of it with auto-votes).

curation rewards.png

And the great thing is, that curation rewards are only going up along increased stake and voting weight: it's all compounding. Meanwhile Drugwars just keep going down.

Though it's kinda amazing they're still at the top of the State of the DApps.

drugwars1.png

But I guess that only confirms the appeal people have for games. I wonder how low the dose must get until I decide it's not worth it to even push couple of buttons... or is it that addictive that I'll keep coming back even for a single cent?

Sort:  

I think it's still worth a few button clicks. I do get a little more than you though due to early investment. It's been a decent spinner while it lasted and like you, I'm up.

Having to click this button many times gets annoying. It doesn't work half the time even after many screen refreshes.

Having to click this button many times gets annoying. It doesn't work half the time even after many screen refreshes.

Yeah, that's annoying, lol!

I guess I am in a different boat then you. I'm a gamer and enjoy the game. The steem is just a bonus for me. However, I get what you're saying. You're trying to maximize your steem gains. It seems like the time it takes with the game you could be doing something else that would bring in more steem for you than playing the game itself. I think you should focus on what brings you the most steem.

Well, it's good to hear some people the game itself. I do play (or have played, less so today) games, but I'm more of a story type of gamer.

It seems like the time it takes with the game you could be doing something else that would bring in more steem for you than playing the game itself. I think you should focus on what brings you the most steem.

It's not a lot of time that the game takes me, as I'm going with a defensive strategy, but it's true that I should focus more on other aspects on Steem like interacting with others. I'm trying to post daily also, so the more Steem aspect is going to the right direction :)

Do you comment a lot or mainly do posts? I mainly use steem for some reading so I haven't posted anything but some comments. I wouldn't mind following an example to get more steem. Knowing me I would most likely just hodl the steem. lol

Do you comment a lot or mainly do posts?

Looking at my stats, I usually throw at least couple comments every day, though it varies widely up to 20+ per day. If you read a lot already, I'd definitely leverage that and keep commenting on those you find interesting and who appreciate engagement, as some people also like to reward it. Posting can work too, but it doesn't do much if you don't have any connections, since it's hard to be found around here. When you leave comments, you also leave little trails everywhere in the comment sections for people to have a chance to find you.

Knowing me I would most likely just hodl the steem. lol

Hodling (and powering up) is always a good idea, since it gives you more influence over the reward pool ;)

That makes a lot of sense. I will start making more comments voicing my opinion. Making a trail before I start making my own posts sounds like a good plan to me. I haven't seen much content on investing in stocks on steemit. I guess people that post about it doesn't have a following to make them trend or something? Seems like a chance for me to be the guy to do it. :)

I didn't know powering up gave more influence over the reward pool. I just thought I needed to power up to make comments. Because a few times, steemit didn't let me make a comment so I just powered up to make sure that never happens again. Thanks for the heads up on that.

I haven't seen much content on investing in stocks on steemit. I guess people that post about it doesn't have a following to make them trend or something? Seems like a chance for me to be the guy to do it. :)

If you know a thing or two about investing, that seems like a good thing to post about. Of course, building a following will take a lot of time, but if you keep engaging with people, you should be able to make something happen. I'm actually interested to potentially diversify little outside of only crypto, so that I might learn something when you start posting.

I didn't know powering up gave more influence over the reward pool. I just thought I needed to power up to make comments.

Yes, the more Steem Power, the bigger vote and influence you have about where the newly created STEEM gets directed. But the latter is also true, because powering up increases the so called 'Resource Credits', which are needed to perform actions on the blockchain. Another great thing with powering up is also that you will earn additional interest; part of the newly created STEEM gets distributed to Steem Power holders. Not to forget the curation rewards from upvoting content that get bigger with increased Steem Power so, I would say there's a lot of good reasons to power up :P

Thank you for all of this knowledge. I will make sure to put it to use. :)

You're welcome! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Wh00p! 0.304 for curating my post eh! :D The OCDB votes I'm buying must help quite a bit :-) But yeah, at some point there are so many opportunities of earning we really get into first world problem territory: what earnings do I care about and which earnings will I simply ignore?

Oh boy, if FIAT came to us that way...

Yeah, all hail OCDB :D

what earnings do I care about and which earnings will I simply ignore?

Seems like a good problem to have :)

Posted using Partiko Android

The only way to get a bit of rewards is by doing battles, which can be addictive, if you are so inclined. But it will come to a point when it won't be worth it anymore. I'm no longer doing upgrades as I find dumping everything into heist more profitable. Why bother with long term strategy when the game won't probably last that much longer.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, long term strategy seems to be getting to the point where it's not simply worth it like it was in the beginning so I tend to just dump everything into heist as well.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha playing some right now :))) The decrease in daily reward is pretty tragic, but it adds up, so as long as there's the chance for some gain, I'm in. Sure, you earn more through actually being active here, but does that tiny bit extra bother you?
No, so why not? ;)

Of course, it still adds up for now at least, and I'm still playing it. I'm just wondering if there's going to be a point where the rewards get so small that I literally can't make myself to do it anymore :P

I think that only way to get consistent good rewards in drug wars is upgrading pantheon to level 30+ and then sharing fights every day.

Interesting! I used to get 23 STEEM at the beginning, but now I get ~0.5-~0.7 daily 😅 but they also sent 140k FUTURE TOKENS 👌🏼

Posted using Partiko Android

I couldn't withdraw the Future tokens so I just spent them on upgrades.

Posted using Partiko Android

You need the obyte wallet from for that😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I know. I tried setting it up following the steps, but didn't work anyway. Tried it only on mobile, though.

I've yet to break even - ever so almost there! Now I've just upgraded my pharma lab a few more heists and i'll be in profit.

!bookkeeping drugwars

Curation is much more rewarding.

At least you got yer nice return for getting in early!

Are you planning on buying in more steem now yer waged?!?

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @revisesociology!

drugwars

Received:

  • 17.079 STEEM from daily
  • 8.204 STEEM from heist
  • 0.000 STEEM from referral

Spent:

  • 26.276 STEEM

Total:

  • -0.993 STEEM

First transfer was before 51.23 days.
Your ROI per day is 1.88 % and you are earning approx. 0.49 STEEM per day.
Break even in approx. 2.0 days.

ROI when taking only the last 5 days into account

Your ROI per day is 0.42 % and you are earning approx. 0.11 STEEM per day.
Break even in approx. 8.9 days.

I've yet to break even - ever so almost there! Now I've just upgraded my pharma lab a few more heists and i'll be in profit.

About time :D

Are you planning on buying in more steem now yer waged?!?

1st wage will come at 15th this month – will most likely buy into some more Steem!

Me too, I've got my eye on one of those Legendary planets, but my feeling is that I'm gonna be priced out massively.

Right - the new game. I haven't even looked into it that much. I just know there are planets being auctioned, but what to even do with those, I don't know :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Well the first wave went for 1.3K each, the second for around 1.5K each.

Even at those prices it's tempting, but I'm 95% sure that once Exyle and especially Bernie get wind of this, which they almost certainly will before the final auction ends, we could be looking at >5k steem for the final batch, a figure like that wouldn't surprise me.

@alexvan did a post recently, I noticed him make a bid on all three (since beaten) and that he's got 3K liquid steem in his account, he'll be lucky to get one for that I think.

Never bothered me really. Not interested from the beginning and I guess if Any real money will ever come through for me it'll be through steemit.com

Not interested from the beginning

Could be better that way as many of the new shiny things are still rather unreliable.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


Lemon-Mousse-Cake_2.png

another steemdrug addict here .but didn't know curating rewards have been increasing, great post as usual! have some cake from helpie,@macchiata.

Yey, thanks for the cake, @helpie and @macchiata!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86