Facebook Partially Down & Normies Are Freaking out

in #steem5 years ago

Hey Steemians!

Facebook and its complimenting apps have become part of billions of users lives and it some cases its the primary source of information and connection with others, don't judge them for they know not what they do, steemians.

So It looks like the Facebook group of sites are down (Facebook, Instagram & Whatsapp) and users are freaking out, the spike has started over the past 24 hours which you can see from this downtime graph here.

owv8yvhz5m.png

The effects aren't really being felt too seriously since load balancing means it only affects a certain subset of users but naturally they think they are being persecuted and are incest by the limited access to their precious platform. Newsflash! NO ONE CARES!

pbmztsz9tz.png
Facebook using Twitter to let people know they are down*

A single point of failure

Just goes to show billions of dollars in tech and infrastructure and you can still have bugs and down time which is naturally costing FB revenue in the process. The company has begun to plateau and it looks like it is only a downward trajectory from here.

let this be a lesson to you boys and girls, centralisation always leaves room for failure on a large scale.

To many people the Facebook ecosystem is there internet and if it were down do you think they would be patient or look for alternatives?

Have your say

What do you think of the Facebok fail? Do you even care? What would it be like if Facebook was shut down for a week or a month? It would make for an interesting thought experiment wouldn't it

Source:

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Get Daily Upvotes With SmartVote

Member of the SmartVote community

Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies


Sort:  

Hope they will stay down for ever.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol could you imagine how everyone’s traffic would shoot up if people don’t waste their time looking at 3 year old memes and checking up on their ex’s on Facebook! I could actually make money with my website traffic lol a guy can dream can’t he?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, he can. Collective suicide for facebook disciples like Jim Jones Jonestown.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jim_Jones

Posted using Partiko Android

I heard the news and I was like "Meh...I don't really care".

For me, the only bad implication that this event implied is that I was not able to send memes to my normie friends on whatsapp for about 1 hour.

wojak_computer.jpg

Lol well steemit was attacked too during the same time and was down for 25 minutes we all just used another dapp to interact with the blockchain and moved on with our lives! that’s the way it should be, hopefully people catch on eventually

Posted using Partiko iOS

Using twitter to notify is pretty funny!

Lol I thought so too, how ironic! Like you couldn’t even get a service message out on your site or a 404 page? I heard some people would get the site but couldn’t do anything while others just had a white screen lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

I checked after this post and it is down for me. :)

That’s crazy!! Thanks for writing a post on it!!! I’ve been having issues all day with my messenger and I thought that FB was against me now because of the post I made this morning 😂
This reassures me in a way :P
Thanks Ché!

It’s pleasure, but who knows? Maybe yours is just an isolated incident, Mark might just be watching you! 🤷‍♂️

Posted using Partiko iOS

I hear about this on the radio. I thought to myself, Poor Sheep.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lol it’s already on radio? Then you know it’s out there because that’s the last place I think go get news! I hope it actually wakes people up, who knows work productivity could be up and real life conversions with people could become a thing again! I say stay down let’s just see what happens

Posted using Partiko iOS

I was on the drive home when I heard it. I thought to myself, people might actually interact now. Maybe just maybe!

Posted using Partiko iOS

No lie I actually read a post about this community somewhere in the US banding together while Facebook was down! I’m like this ain’t a tragedy, lol what you’ll rallying for?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very nice post.

"Normies are freaking out", "centralisation always leaves room for failure on a large scale",... Sir, you have my upvote.

LOL! Glad you share my sentiments and that I merit your upvote! I feel like I’m finally sitting at the cool table, suck on that my entire high school career

Posted using Partiko iOS

I laugh at the antiquated relic that it’s become! I just feel bad for the small businesses that rely on them. It’s just like cable though people pay to advertise and then it’s old and derelict.

Lol my mom still uses it and people still pay me to post on it and run ads on it, other than that I’m not quite sure why anyone would use it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ya that’s good tho, the average people that get paid to do stuff on it are who I feel bad for. The revenue stream takes a ding for this stuff.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @chekohler!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.807 which ranks you at #4743 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 9 places in the last three days (old rank 4734).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 222 contributions, your post is ranked at #80.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28