Sort:  

So you did check out other alternatives? I think there is one running or going to run on EOS. I think Steem still has a good chance of coming out on top.

I see steemit becoming the new facebook because you can earn by posting pictures, stuff about your day, or just anything.

Awesome post dude could you clarify some of the acronyms and terms for me so I have a better understanding . Could you clarify
DAPPS
ORACLES
SMTS
I have an idea of what they could be but clarification would be awesome for this layman.
I always imagine worst case scenario and the truth is even if the platform tanks I have to look at the people I have met through here and the experiences . So for example I going to go skate with some steemians next month which will be super rad and far beyond the realm of simply looking for votes and trying to apease people so you can get a big vote.

DAPPs = Decentralized applications = blockchain based applications is a simple explanation, but there's more to it than that.
Oracles = seem to be curators and custodians of the blockchain from what I've been able to read so far.
SMTs = Smart Media Tokens, which are tokens built on top of the STEEM platform.

Good read @clayboyn. Very insightful. Thanks for sharing!

Nah, you're not overly idealistic in my book, as this is how I see it to. Dapps on top of blockchains are a possible path to accelerated mass-adoption. STEEM is a prime candidate to fulfill that role due to it's proven track-record and the fact that it's running at very little of it's total capacity now. Fingers crossed that SMT's will bring what you and I think they will bring :-)

I suppose time will tell all.

Like everything it depends who ends up buying enough Steem to control things. After all places that pay out get the big attention. While places that can’t just get a small following.

I could see at some point a few larger banks getting set up in a place like this. You have the blockchain for auditing pursue. Zero transactions fees. Very fast transactions. They could earn interest from lending out SP or bandwidth for big projects. So little risk of loss other then losing the time it takes to resend there delegation.

Having digital assets like steam monster cards will provide collateral and I’m sure more digital assets are to come.

Very true, I hadn't really thought about the banking approach, but that makes sense.

Clay for president :)

Thank you for writing this. Not really being over all the tech stuff, the back end of how this operates is beyond me.

I’m just wanting to participate in creating content and sharing it and the work of others, and being part of a global community of curators and creators.

Your post has helped me get a handle of where we’re at here on the Steem blockchain.

Looking forward to seeing where this all goes.

Being aware of the problems, flaws, and shortcomings are the best way to solve them, are they not? I have faith that there are folks around here working towards that end.

😊🙏🏽☯️

That sounds like a very level-headed approach to me. I hope you enjoy the platform! :)

Cheers!
I have plans for website, and I can’t wait to fully integrate all the various aspects with Steem based dApps

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Very good posts, hopefully you can always be successful in the esteem business

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87