Lemons to Lemonade part 1

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Part 1

Lemons to Lemonade (Harlem P.S. 186)

I grew up in Harlem 1976-1995. The uptown section of Manhattan 145th st. My neighborhood didn't have a variety of playgrounds, parks with trees and activities for young kids to enjoy during the day. As I look back at the situation me and my friends at the time made it a daily practice to make lemonade out of lemons.

There was and still is an abandoned school building that sits in the center of the block on 145th st, P.S. 186. The building was abandoned in 1975 because the school could not pass the fire drill test. All students and faculty had to be able to exit the building within 15 minutes if the fire alarm activated. Many people wondered if it had more to do with a teacher who was robbed and raped by a street wandered who found there way into the school. The school had an odd design and connected two city blocks, one could walk through the lobby of the building entering on the 145st side and exit on the 146st side. I wonder why the school didn't just hire security guards to watch the doors.

The design of the building was a major safety concern because it was an invitation for neighborhood crime. This was a public school in the uptown section of Harlem so budget concerns we probably an issue. In the 70's and early 80's many of these schools were 50%-60% populated by African American students.

Below are some pictures of what the building use to look like.

Screenshot_2018-06-06-16-32-35-2.png

Screenshot_2018-06-06-16-31-45-1.png

Screenshot_2018-06-06-16-32-08-1.png

The site was purchased in 1986 by the nonprofit Boys and Girls Club of Harlem for $215,000 under the condition that new development would be completed within three years. After several decades of inactivity, the group introduced a redevelopment plan that called for the demolition of P.S. 186 and the construction of a 200,000 sq. ft. mixed-use facility with affordable housing, commercial and community space, and a new public school…

https://abandonednyc.com/tag/145th-street/

The school yard of ps 186 was the only way me and my friends could get out of the house for outside activity. The school yard was in view of our apartment windows. The neighborhood was dangerous and our parents were very careful to keep us in close proximity. The rule was, we can go outside and play, but we had to stay on the block. Our parents were all from different countries. My family is from Antigua, my upstairs neighbors Mike, and Nicholas are from Grenada, my neighbor from across the hall Kenneth is from the Dominican Republic, and my friends from down the block Aurtley, and Neil are from Jamaica. The rest of my friends Mike, Mike, and Chris families are from down south (USA). It was a nice mix of different cultures.

We all collaborated on using the ps 186 school yard to play "stick ball" 11 years after it closed. The building was dirty rundown and to be honest scary. If you don't believe me watch this video.

But we didn't care we found confidence in each other for the purpose and the goal of getting out of the house to create an activity for ourselves. Me and my friends Climbed over the concrete wall and used brooms to sweep up the glass, broken bottles, crack viles, condemns, and other debris scattered around the school yard to make it safe to play stick ball. Now all we needed was a mop handle and a 99cent ball from the corner store to play ball.

I will post part two of this story in the coming days.

If you think this post is interesting, upvote comment, and if you please resteem.

Sort:  

I see you got screwed on jerrybanfield bot.

Paid 9.58 sbd upvote of $13.04

Yea, thats -20% roi. There's bot called oceanwhale which has fixed 10% roi. I use that with my strat

Ok thanks buddy

That was the first time I used the @jerrybanfield bot

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 13.54% upvote!
I was summoned by @clearbluecrypto. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

You got a 28.78% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @clearbluecrypto!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Thank you for sharing your content with #theluvbug :)

This post has received a 100% upvote and a resteem. Be sure to share the news of @theluvbug with your blogging buddies - and remember to keep a look out for our daily posts where you can share your links :) If the link which you selected to share with us was a little too old, we have selected a newer one to support.

I AM

header.jpg

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of INSPIRING, MOTIVATIONAL & POSITIVE Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

This is a very positive story. I have herd some scary stories about Harlem but this one was very nice. You and your friends made the best out of a bad situation. Congrats!

Have they gotten the permission to demolish and rebuild on it ? This is amazing . I grew up not too far from there , but I never realized that school was there . It’s crazy .

The building has been renovated and is converted to apartments, condos and a boys and girls club.
Some deep history in that building. The building sits in the middle of the block and allot of people just ignored it.
I lived directly across the street from p.s. 186.

That’s amazing. I’m surprised that with that area being developed it wasn’t purchased sooner.

I grew up by 170th a little north of this place .... I could see how it served a purpose to the kids .... bc even tho we had a park nearby ... we always played In the school yard at 173rd .... handball was a big thing back then too .

Wow I went to school on 153rd st. St. Catherine of Genoa. Right across from the big cemetary. Do you know where that is?
We didnt venture that far uptown very often but Im familiar with your neighborhood. Are you close to vancourtland park?

Noooo van courtland was wayyyyy up north ... I went to ps173 on 173rd street .... I think 160 was as far south as I was allowed to venture .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01