Books! Hey you readers, I have a question for you!

in #steem5 years ago

So I've been kicking around an idea for a while and thought I'd post it and see if anybody else might be interested. I'm an avid reader and always on the hunt for the next good book to read but I often have trouble finding new ones. I've written a few book reviews in the past and that got me to thinking that steemit could possible use some sort of book review/discussion project. I've looked around a bit and not found much (if you know of one I've missed, let me know), so I'm trying to see if there's much interest in that.

I'm not sure yet whether I want to run it from this account or create one dedicated solely to books, I'll burn that bridge when I get to it.

bookreviewshot.jpg

A few of my favorites

If you'd like to read book reviews on here or have discussions about ones you've already read, just leave me a comment!

P.S. What's your favorite genres to read?

Sort:  

was not reading a lot last few years. last one was few weeks ago, from the diskworld series. i did listen a lot of audiobooks.
fiction would be my favourite. from dwarfs and elves to robots and beings from strange planets.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've heard of the diskworld series but have never got around to actually reading it. Science fiction and fantasy is definitely my favorite.

Do you prefer audiobooks to hard copy? I feel like I follow the story better when I read so I've not listened to many audiobooks.

sorry for late reply it was a crazy few days at work.
Terry Pratchett was great at fantasy comedy (is that really a genre? :) ) and had a lot of talent to pack what is going on now into that fantasy world. Name that i am using is a translate from one of his characters.

Hard copy is better, in audios you miss some details, but few years ago i was working something that needed no brain work just copy some data from paper to digital so i started listening books. it is definitely not better but it is better than not to read it at all :)

It's all good, happens to the best of us. I might have to stop procrastinating and finally get around to reading some Pratchett novels (I'm pretty sure I've read some of his short stories in collections, just didn't pay attention to the authors).

That's how my brother got into audiobooks, good ol' data entry work. I normally listen to music while doing repetitive work, may have to switch it up some.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73