Curating Is That Important

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Computational-social.jpg
source

Today I read a post from @korver regarding the importance of voting and leaving a comment. This is so vital for everyone as it helps you grow and grow your following. You get to interact with other users and get to know them that much better. Just by voting a post you have only done half the job. I had a rule that if I voted I had to leave a comment and before you know it you have made 30 comments in an evening and picked up a handful of followers. That is the secret of growing on Steem or Sports or any other tribe. It is not easy as it takes work and effort and it is rewarding once you become established.

When I started on Steem I had nothing and luckily Steemit had delegated 15 SP for me to at least do something. My votes were worthless as they never moved off the 0.00 mark for ages. What I could do though was comment and I saw it as my only opportunity to grow. It takes time as you need to be good at it and stand out and make a decent comment about the post you just read.

More often than not the author will respond to you and possibly give you an upvote for your interaction. That is where the social side of this platform comes into play and it isn't discord as many of you may think. Discord may get you some extra followers over time but the interaction around the posts is where the importance lies.

Some of you may have realised how I work and I reward decent comments like a few others on here. I feel it is the least I can do as you have taken the time to read my post and it is me saying thank you. We both benefit really as whatever I reward you I receive half back in the 50/50 and that is how it helps everyone grow.

How many posts have you written with no comments? You start to wander if anyone read it and if it was an autovote that landed. If you write a post and only receive the normal comment from a busy or an esteem app it is disappointing and many of us look out for at least a few comments. Thankfully this is starting to change and I am noticing more posts with comments and those users are being noticed and are appreciated.

There is more interaction on Sports than I have seen on Steem in ages and may it continue to get bigger.

Sort:  

I left Steem for a long time and even though during that period I made a decent amount of Steem(Had to power that to personal situations.) I didn't enjoy creating content because most of the time I did not receive a comment and the rest of the time it was almost always some spam comment. It was so frustrating .

I think interacting makes the community a much healthier one and it enables and helps people work together when abuse occurs.

Well, I can say Steem (it) is totally different than the Steemit before. HF 17/18 was far the best. Curation is peacefully alive that time. I think manual curation started to decline when Bidbots were introduced.

Moreover, I totally agree with communication and interaction aspect. As an author, I feel valued when people leave a comment.

I think that this is natural and why we all should comment when we vote for something.

Yeah. One important thing that I love about communicating and engaging with others is that I let them feel there posts were valued.

I know what you mean as I had that at one point. One comment makes a post worthwhile at least.

The thing is that imho , the more the tribes separate that we are on the Steem blockchain but not Steemit and use that as a Mantra the better. There are 4 tribes I am interested in and I keep my stuff mostly separated on accounts used cause if and how I use my stuff is up to me. Staking ensures some things but def not others, look at Libra, in a snap the thing gets dropped by Pay Pal. We all do it differently and can have similar results

Right now it's still hard to drive in the fact of a few basics like. Steemit Inc. and Tribes are different and hence, behaviors are different. Curating is more important because smaller user bases also the flipside is the fun and responsibility that can come with that. I sometimes feel under a microscope on every move and that comes with the territory.

Steem's price and the way many things are going are not in a blogger friendly direction which leaves some of us with more incentive to support the niches we are into. If people don't like things they must change from grassroots, on Steemit very few had power to change much of anything and it's gone the other direction into driving the price to a joke because of trying to regulate biz motivations. Abuse will always happen, overdoing it on becoming hall monitors which is very much a BIG issue on Steemit atm is pissing a lot off. These downvoting bots and groups there can piss off. Decentralization is supposed to be just that but then again like 80% of Steem was Ninja premined so who knows.

Tribes will always be different from Steem as everyone has a common interest in that particular subject. Steem is different as you tend to find the users you enjoy and seldom find new ones after a period of time. I must admit I haven't kept up much with the downvotes on Steem and knew there was some bitching by a few and the ones that were getting upset were most likely the bigger abusers of the bots. I have no idea how this plays out and how will SMT's impact on the tribes is the next issue. I think we have to just take it week by week and see what unfolds but I am fairly confident Steem will survive and do well hence I am still staking Steem and Sports.

True and thankfully curation in Sportstalk is alive. I normally reward my audience a range of 5-30% upvote and sometimes 100% for a meaningful comment.

When I was on my early days in Sportstalk, I also applied the traditional way of growth - engaging with people. I was lucky that time that the top investors have been very kind to reward people which is totally different from Steemit.

If only people take time to consume posts, especially those who are hesitant to invest. It is also amazing that the top investors (whales) here are curating and fighting abuse. I believe that drives this platform in a better direction.

I still can't believe that some person complained that certain users were rewarding with too big an upovote. I reward what I think is fit for the comment and see it as a thank you and not a tip.

Yeah. I think those people who complained were the ones being hit by their abusive actions (aka comment voting / centralized/circle-jerking / etc) because that was only brought when you and @abh12345.sports were bringing people who abused on the table.

You are really doing a great job as far as curating good content and comments. I think this will also motivate people to put in their best. Keep the good work flowing.👍

Still a comment though. Much appreciated and great to see lol.

Hehe, it was the best I could come up with :O)

Support your sports post (by SPORTS Token and MARLIANS Token)

Not knowing whether someone read your post or not is something I wonder often and is a reason I almost gave up on Steemit. But your posts are definitely read by people!

I immediately took the advice and applied it. Guess what, my first comment got me a follower and more than 0.30$ in upvotes. Both were not my goal, but a result of being active, engaging and providing a valuable comment ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Doesn't always happen but when it does it is great. Difficult to find the time sometimes but well worth the sacrifices.

You are definitely right here, one of the best way to survive on steemit and other tribes is by interacting with other users.

I couldn't agree more.

Truth is, I get so busy that I only set out limited time out of my limited time to set up a post and voom but I know within me it isn't right.

I hope to pick up and start interacting. Oh, I already started.😄

We have a long way to go with curation.
I welcome the idea and the work that come with it.
A good post highlights #sportstalk and we all look good.
Kudos to all that understand and take time to provide positive criticism.

That was part of the thought process behind the post getting more eyes on Sports and maybe users purchase tokens to stake.

There is more interaction on Sports than I have seen on Steem in ages and may it continue to get bigger.

It is true that there is more interaction in Sports than on Steem.

In Steem your posts can get easily lost there because the platform caters to a diverse set of interests and topics. That is not so in Sports because all the posts are concerning sports and only people with at least some interest in sports would gather here.

In Addition, someone who followed me on Steem because of my post on topic A, may not be interested in a post on topic B from me and is unlikely to interact with me on that topic. So it does help to be a single interest platform.

Whether Sports will continue to get bigger would very much depend on the users here. If more and more people adopt your style of rewarding others, then it would grow fast, otherwise the growth is likely to be muted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29