CURATION MAKES STEEM GO AROUND

in #steem6 years ago

Up until the Hard fork 20 I was concentrating trying to master the art of curation. It was fairly difficult trying to work out timings ,experimenting had mixed results. After the hard fork Steemit has turned me into a clock watcher now, how sad is that. For someone who never bothered much about time it is becoming a little more important these days.

We all need curation on our posts as otherwise they would be worthless. Lately your votes are worth a little more because of the increase to the rewards pool but that will go back to normal very soon. It is interesting to note that everyone says vote on 15 minutes for maximum rewards. I disagree with this and I will tell you why.

Everyone is aiming for 15 minutes and it is a lottery where you vote pops in. Yesterday I tried two posts with an adjustment to the timing. All my votes are manual so it takes commitment hanging around. The first post I hit my vote at 15 minutes and got a normal return but no shooting stars. The second vote I cast at 14 minutes or just after and I actually received 8 times more than the 15 minute mark. Both posts went on to reward the authors for similar amounts.

I hope that not too many people read this and just my followers. I can think of nothing worse than users now jumping to 14 minutes as where would we end up lol. We have to outsmart the smarter ones.
Image source iemoji.com

Sort:  

Bugger this was upvoted in minute 17!
Also here all curation is done manually! So probably I am missing a lot by not using an upvote program!

I only have one or two votes on auto so it is hard and we are missing out.

It is funny that you post it and say you hope not many read it. What ?? LOL ! You never hear THAT on Steemit ! Or are you being Tom Sawyer and trying to make everyone else post at 14?

Lol. I want all of us to vote just before 15 and everyone else to carry on at 15. There are way more rewards just before the masses hit and is guaranteed to maximize your return. Gambling at 15 minutes with everyone else just doesn't work. Genuinely if loads read this then and they change the timings where will we end up, next will be 13 minutes.

lol, I subconciously placed my auto's on 14,ims for some reason a little while after the hf20, thanks all the same for the update

That is lucky. How do you check your steemhunt wallet? I log on and can't find where to look.

stehnt.PNG

click on your profile image, then the drop down shows the wallet option

I aim for 12 and in some cases 8 or 9. My custom had almost trebled :0)

I am happy everyone sticks to 15 and believes that is the right number. I am with you on this and 12 is looking good on the bigger reward accounts.

It is. That's definitely something to consider is the rewards on the post when you vote. If there is nothing on it then wait as long as you dare!

Thank you for the tip, I shall give it a try my friend!👍

Well you just left the cat out of the bag genius ! 😂😂😂😂! You may as well do a post on musings next

What all 8 people who read it and know all ready.

Hey, @cryptoandcoffee:

I suppose me coming in and saying it shouldn't matter when we vote would not be very helpful to the discussion here, nor the point, right? :)

The problem is, if the masses ever arrive, this system of voting is just going to make the issue of curation worse, or it will have to be changed. The whole thought that I have to calculate precisely when I'm going to vote in order to maximize returns makes it not only annoying, but as you describe, frustrating at the very least, if not flat out impossible for the manual curator.

I strictly manually curate too—which means a lot of reading—and so upvoting before 15 minutes is less likely than me voting after an hour or more. Like now. This was written yesterday, yet here I am. :)

I believe this adjusted time frame will make many more (since plenty already doing so before the hard fork) move to autovoting. For me, while I completely understand the reasoning, is maddening, because ultimately, I don't only want upvotes, but I want engagement, too. That means actual human eyes on the content.

So, anyway. My two cents. For what it's worth. :)

I agree with you Glen and I prefer manual voting as I don't want to miss posts out and actually read them all. I wish it was a little simpler but i think it may get to a point where it is luck of the draw as it is impossible to just wait for each post to get to 14/15 minutes.

Even if you work on your comment first waiting to vote, that's not going to take 15 minutes, so then you're heading off to look at something else while keeping a dozen tabs open or something? I don't know. It doesn't make sense, especially when you know the bots are just going to find the optimum time and sit on them anyway.

@miniature-tiger has just done a chart which is very interesting. i don't know if you have read it yet.

I haven't. I didn't even know there was a miniature-tiger, let alone that they could create charts and do crack curation analysis. :)

I've got a tab open now and will make and effort to get to it by sometime this evening. I'm afraid it's information I'm going to want to know, whether I want to or not. :)

It's good news and kind of what I have been playing with.

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 53.52% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

howdy sir cryptoandcoffee! yes sir, I hear ya, I only vote manually at this point also so it's a very hit and miss system with me with mostly misses and not efficient. Plus like Glen said, what happens when the masses come in?

So, there is another reason voting before 15 minutes can be a problem. If you check out posts on Steem world, you'll notice "Payout Burned" stat.

Here is an example:

The interesting thing is it appears that even a tiny vote is able to burn a disproportionately larger amount of rewards.

I still need to analyze the data but may be something to look into.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi Anthony. The burn is normally from voters or self voters posting their votes too early. There is a sweet spot and it is looking around the 12/13 minute mark. I have been working on another post after explaining to a self voter how much he had wasted by voting too early.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22