Just some thoughts

in #steem5 years ago

I was thinking today about old users returning when Steem starts to climb up the charts again and has more value. So much has changed in the last 6 months and it won't be straight forward for them.

When Steem-ua launched it's delegation for votes most users looked at how they could tweak their scores.We all looked for any dead account or ghost account and removed them. When they return they will see a majority of their followers have left them and will have to start from scratch again.

The users that have stayed have grown considerably and other things have changed. We now have Dapps which have their own communities now.Users have changed the way they work as I know I have.I definitely have to weigh up my time in the various communities and spend less time on Steem looking for new posts and users.

In the past I used to spend a good couple of hours looking for others to follow.I don't have that luxury anymore dividing my time between the various Dapps and the users I am following.I am not alone with this as I see virtually everyone involved in other things today.A returning user will be shocked how much things have changed. They are so far behind the 8 ball now and will be difficult to catch up.

The landscape has changed and it won't be the same for them.What was maybe once fairly easy for them has now totally changed.

Image source emojiisland.com

Sort:  

The way the whole platform is set up right now it's relatively easy to just set up an autovote for you account and earn from the curation of voting accounts. So the question is have people left - or just taken a break from posting while upvotes and comments are hard to come by - but they still have their stake in Steem and use their Steem Power passively. Some will have powered down and sold out for good, they will regret that when the price recovers of course.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Hey @c0ff33a.I think even the leave the account on autovote and have a break is also a bit dumb.If you can grow now then you will have no problem when the boom time returns.I have grown more now than ever before.Nothing is easy in life,but it gets easier if you stick with something and battle through.

I agree with you totally, which is why I have been grinding away since March 2017 and still do. In fact to be honest I really just like reading the posts - so much good content on here it's just not always so easy to find it. But I see the other side as well, not sure people so much leave as just take a break while waiting for the market to climb.

I am one of those “old” Steemians. A few months without spending any real time on the platform and wow things have changed. Any tips for projects to checkout ?

Hi Stephen. Welcome back and it's not too late lol.I suggest you download the browser for Steemhunt from Google chrome and start earning some points.I would start going through all the different Dapps and see what interests you.

Is @steemhunt a browser extertension? I am rarely on desktop. Do the have an iOS option ?

I am not sure as only have it on my laptop.I think you could ask them in their discord channel though.

The Steem blockchain is morphing into all kinds of platforms.

Catching the attention of new members is also quite challenging. I still doubt if old members who left the platform would come back again. When prices hit a really high value there is definitely a possibility. They might have to again start from scratch.

Posted using Partiko Android

I haven't been on Steem long enough to know anything about that.

So.... why am I commenting?? LOL !!!!!

Because I can I suppose. :)

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 10.66% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

You got a 22.11% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @cryptoandcoffee!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 12 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hi @cryptoandcoffee!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.750 which ranks you at #4905 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 5 places in the last three days (old rank 4900).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 248 contributions, your post is ranked at #65.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85