How Do You Determine Vote Percentages? I'm Having Trouble Keeping VP Up

in #steem6 years ago


I've been having trouble lately keeping up my vote power (VP), due to following quite a lot of curation trails and being pretty generous with my vote percentages. Maybe I should come up with some rules for myself when upvoting other people's posts and comments.

Currently, I'm usually voting above 30% for both posts and comments. I do this because I'd like people to receive a little bit more than $0.01 at the very least. Now with the Steem prices going down, it's getting harder and harder to maintain that, while also keeping my VP high enough.

I was thinking of setting up a rule for myself, so I would only upvote comments at around 10 to 20%, while reserving higher voting percentages for actual posts. I really like to hand out a couple of 100% votes every day, but when I'm voting on 30+ comments sometimes there isn't much left to give without completely draining my VP.

I was wondering if you have certain rules to hold yourself to, when you cast your votes on other peoples posts and comments? I'd be very interested in hearing from other people.


Image Sources

Fresno Wood Texture by adesivosrl, released on Pixabay
Steem logo by Wintergoldhähnchen, released on Wikimedia
Image made by @daan


Check out Mannabase if you want to receive a free basic income

Receive free Litecoins every 5 minutes

Get FREE basic income through Swiftdemand

Join STEEMFOLLOWER to gain more exposure on STEEMIT

The 4 links above are referral links and support this blog


Sort:  

I don't do curation trials, that's probably why my VP is above 90% now. I don't know what kind of drain they have but maybe that's whats contributing to your woes.

I like to be in control of who I vote for, that's the only reason

Yeah they're certainly the biggest contributor, but I'm in a few groups where it's mandatory. Might need to leave them, since I don't really think it's worth it.

Hmm.. I'm not one for being told what to do. It's your choice though at the end of the day.

Yeah me neither, I got invited pretty early in this particular group and just went with the rules at the time. It's only recently that I've discovered that following trails is optional with most other groups.

It’s an issue with the current steem prices. I’ve watched my vote value dwindling over the last few weeks. I’m just hoping to stay above $0.01...

I am not currently able to adjust my voting percentage on comments, but once I am able to, I plan on doing something similar to that. I have a couple of people whose posts I upvote at a large percentage. Most everything else I enjoy I upovte at 40%. I am trying to upvote comments more, but at 100% this kills my VP.

I hear ya, under 500 SP it's pretty much impossible to regularly upvote any comments.

That’s a though one @daan
My normal VP for postings is 25%, for some post with higher pay outs already I do decrease them!
My VP used for comments is increasing. It now stands on 22% to get it above the dust threshold!
One person will always get a 100% upvote on his posts because I do want to help him grow. Some other account who are also supporting mine will get upvotes around 50%!
But yes with the decreasing value it gets a lot harder to give a decent upvote. A 100% upvote now also has a value of $0.07 while it has been around $0.12!

For me it's the same as with you, I also have around 1100 SP that I can use for voting. Planning on just upvoting a few comments on every post at minimum 30% then.

@daan, Please explain how the free Litecoins work. When I go to that URL it asks for a CoinPot address or a Litecoin wallet address. Thanks

You have to enter your Litecoin address and after that you can create an account at Coinpot. You can start claiming free Litecoin when you do so.

Upvote less!
Start with my comment!

Do you know the dust threshold?
So no need to upvote comments with less than let's say 15%.

I also have auto voting running. But that only starts upvoting when my VP is above 99%. That number is very high, normally I use 96%. But this week I'm curation hunting.

Oh I have my Steemauto set to vote at 75%, will turn that number up a bit.
Going to upvote only the first 3 or 4 comments at around 20% I think. Need to look up the dust threshold, but 20% should cover it I think.

Dust threshold is hard capped at $0.02. So I think around 15% should do. But you could also upvote with let's say 25%. That's basically having a higher value then receiving 5 times 5%. Cause die to the threshold that would end up as 5 times having nothing.

@daan, I am upvoting at 100% on Steemengine and Steemfollower. I also delegated some of my voting power to SteemAuto, also at 100%. However, being a small account holder I don't think my upvoting amounts to a great deal

For you it's maybe $0.001 at 100%, but I think people still appreciate it when you do upvote someone.

For sure it does. Every little push in the back helps. Suppose that you will get 100 of these votes on a post, that would accumulate to $1.

@daan and @fullcoverbetting, thanks for those insights. I take your points that one should try and support fellow steemians as much as possible.

And you should only upvote comments. Since every upvote below $0.02 will not be paid.

Congratulations @daan! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Flagging is my biggest VP drain...😐
If resteem I upvote 20+ percent, depending on remaining VP. I try not to drop below 80%.

Personally with those steem prices atm I am adapting every few days. Changing the percentages in the voting trails (as I would like to see at least 0.001 SP reward and not a ton of votes with 0 SP reward). So I keep track on that in Steemworld..
And I usually maintain around the same percentage with manual voting for every post and a lower one for comments. If I see that I have high vp I can make exceptions, but usually it's pretty steady with all the curation I do every day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85