Stop Missing Out on Curation Rewards and Vote at 15 Minutes!

in #steem5 years ago

steemstickershf20.png


When I go through my upvote notifications, I've noticed that some people still have their automatic votes set to 30 minutes. I guess if you haven't been following @steemitblog, you might not have noticed that the curation time window has changed from 30 minutes to 15 minutes.

So, be sure to change your Steemvoter or Steemauto rules to vote after 15 minutes. It will make a significant difference to the amount of curation rewards that you'll receive.

I know that this information is pretty much redundant for the vast majority of my readers, but not everyone is on Discord or in close contact with someone who knows this type of stuff. If @bozz hadn't mentioned it to me, I would have probably forgotten to change my Steemauto rules myself, so I'd like to extend the favor to other people as well.

You can read about this change in @steemitblog's HF20 summary => Steem Velocity Hardfork - Hardfork 20

Self Votes

Also worth a quick mention is the fact that self-voting makes less sense now than it did before, so if you're still upvoting your own posts, you might want to reconsider.

Before HF20, you would receive 100% curation rewards from your own vote if you voted before the 30 minute window. This has changed, so the curation reward you would normally receive goes back into the reward pool.

Note that this only affects authors who vote for themselves before the 15 minutes mark. I don't think anything has changed if you self-vote after 15 minutes. Please mention it in the comment section if this is incorrect, I am not 100% sure.

There's a whole debate to be had about self-voting and you're more than welcome to state your opinion in the comments. I've personally stopped self-voting altogether, though I sometimes accidentally vote for myself through a curation trail. I don't mind that too much, since it's only for a couple of percents.

That's it! I hope that this was new information for at least one person, since this is already such a heavily discussed topic. Either way, I'm sure that some newbie will eventually find this post and learn something new.

Have a great day!


Advertisement


Check out Mannabase if you want to receive a free basic income

Receive free Litecoins every 5 minutes

Get FREE basic income through Swiftdemand

Join STEEMFOLLOWER to gain more exposure on STEEMIT


Stish Airdrop


Sort:  

Thanks! Great info here. Resteemed!

Thanks for the informative post champ

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the reminder! I'm still trying to sort all of the HF 20 changes out. I appreciate this!

@slobberchops @chops.support
I've noticed that chops is still voting at around 30 minutes, you might want to change that ;- )

Thanks @daan will do, chops is at 25 minutes right now. Maybe a little earlier?

I have mine between 15 and 20 minutes, seems to work best

I also heard that you should not vote too early as well. It's definitely something a lot of people don't know. Thanks for making the post! I'm going to re-steem so others know as well.

Yeah, never vote under 15 minutes for sure! I'm experimenting a bit with times between 15 and 30 minutes now. Thanks for the re-steem :)

Why experiment? I thought it was a no brainer to upvote after 15 minutes. What's the advantage of upvoting after 30 minutes?

The 15 minute mark has definitely made a difference. Did a similar post earlier and hope people read it.

This post reminded me to tell a friend too lol thanks for sharing @daan

Posted using Partiko Android

If I upvote after 0 minutes, what happens then?

Curation rewards go back into the reward pool, I think

But the author reward is being paid out, correct?

Yeah indeed, this is the full statement regarding that:

According to the current blockchain rules, if authors vote for themselves immediately, they get their author rewards, 100% of the curation rewards from their vote, and a portion of the curation rewards coming from everyone who votes for the post after them. Any other curator voting at the same time as the author would get 0% of the curation rewards. This gives the author an unfair advantage over other curators, because the author can earn additional curation rewards through self-voting.

In order to eliminate this advantage, the portion of curation rewards that is not given to the curators due to the early voting penalty will be returned to the rewards pool instead of being awarded to the author, thereby increasing the overall percentage of rewards paid to curators. This will better serve the original mission of the curation rewards budget: to ensure that the Steem blockchain distributes rewards to the most valuable content.

Source: https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/steem-velocity-hardfork-hardfork-20

Flagged for comment spam. @steemflagrewards

Steem Flag Rewards mention comment has been approved! Thank you for reportingthis abuse, @flagawhale.

  • comment spam
    Your comment has been repeated multiple times without regard to the post. This post was submitted via our Discord Community channel.Check us out on the following link!
    SFR Discord

Hi @daan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.604 which ranks you at #5521 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 57 places in the last three days (old rank 5464).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 471 contributions, your post is ranked at #393.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77