Will you be buying the DTube SMT?

in #steem6 years ago

Rumor is that DTube will be one of the first major SMTs when SMT technology launches on Steem sometime this year. The interesting thing to note is that DTube provides similar benefits of Youtube but with a different government. It must be noted that there is a controversy on Steem about censorship. Certain notorious Steem accounts are auto downvoted by bots (such as accounts associated with promoting Bitconnect). This in my opinion means that Steem is not censorship resistant in the way people expect.

Steem is censorship resistant to a point but you can still be demonetized

It is possible for accounts on Steem to be demonetized. You can have multiple accounts on Steem in theory if you want free speech but demonetization does happen. DTube is different because if you are demonetized on DTube the consequences are likely more severe for the Vlogger. Dtube developing an SMT means DTube may have it's own unique moderation system and could evolve along it's own path separate from Steem.

DTube as it's own ecosystem and with it's own evolutionary trajectory?

DTube having an SMT means at least in theory the reward structure can be entirely different. This means we can have different whales of DTube vs the whales of Steem. In my opinion this is very very good for the entire Steem ecosystem because it solves the problem of early whales dominating the payouts. It in my opinion resolves the bickering that goes on with the reward pool by creating a multitude of reward pools. This in my opinion will reduce the necessity of arguments against for example reward pool abuse because with an SMT you can in theory launch a new version of Steem with a totally different power distribution.

Busy for example could launch an SMT. The Busy SMT could provide for BusyPower instead of SteemPower and those who have it would be able to vote with the higher or lower weight according to the BusyPower. This means whales today on Steem have no guaranteed future advantages once SMTs catch on. For this reason I think SMTs are the great make or break moment for Steem and DTube is in my opinion the flag ship example SMT.

I do intend to buy DTube SMT if it launches

As a primarily text based blogger I do see the writing on the wall. The future is video blogging. DTube will in my opinion make sense to buy to diversify away from Steemit. In fact I predict DTube to quickly surpass Steemit in importance because Steemit (being a reddit clone) is limited. DTube in theory could combine the best of text based conversation while also enabling video chat by simply plugging it in. At the same time when people discover Steem, I would expect most will discover it via DTube going into the future rather than Steemit or Busy. Busy I think will still exist but mainly for more elaborate long form blogs and this in my opinion becomes much more possible if Busy adopts it's own SMT with a reward structure that can reward posts beyond 7 days. In other words, an adjustable reward schedule is a desirable feature because text based bloggers in my opinion need to be encouraged to produce timeless content rather than report the news (which is best for video bloggers).

Sort:  

It means that after launch of SMT steem price could fall...because people sell steem to buy smt..

is it true that we can trade smt in steemit market like we do trading on exchanges like binance or bittrex??

That makes a lot of sense. As much as I hate it, might be a good idea to learn to make videos while there is still time to evolve before it "takes off" which also might not happen, but probably will.

And about busy - I really doubt it will go past a frontend for steemit. And why should it?

DO you think SMT will weaken steem at the beginning in order to strengthen SMT?
At the end everybody wins ??
What do you think?
It is like steem will be disperse.
I think it could be more opportunity for anyone to jump in any bandwagon and push that SMT to the moon and eventually push steem as well!!!

I’d definitely buy some Dtube SMT when it’s launched, the analysis by you is very inviting for one to buy it when it launches

The future is video blogging. DTube will in my opinion make sense to buy to diversify away from Steemit. In fact I predict DTube to quickly surpass Steemit in importance because Steemit (being a reddit clone) is limited

I totally agree with you on this one my friend, this made some sensible point . Thanks for giving us the insight

As an early adopter of YouTube, I've been interested in vlogging since the term was created. I do plan to get SMTs and will look carefully at what DTube offers. I did see Ned talk about a DTube token in his talk in South Korea a few days ago, so it seems like it will happen. Like you say, this gives people another chance to be a force in aSteemit-like platform.

DTube having an SMT means at least in theory the reward structure can be entirely different. This means we can have different whales of DTube vs the whales of Steem. In my opinion this is very very good for the entire Steem ecosystem because it solves the problem of early whales dominating the payouts.

This is indeed awesome, majorly in the sense that every one keep giving their best and keep putting in value continually.

As a primarily text based blogger I do see the writing on the wall. The future is video blogging.

I totally agree with you. Even in life, people appreciate visuals the just mere write-up.

DTube in theory could combine the best of text based conversation while also enabling video chat by simply plugging it in.

If this is achieved, it will be mind blowing.

At the same time when people discover Steem, I would expect most will discover it via DTube going into the future rather than Steemit or Busy

With the writing so clear on the wall, I should not be second guessing my decision.
I love videography, and I find this a great opportunity.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

It is decidedly so

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Hmmm Interesting thought. If they have their ecosystem, Steemit will not be considered a problem for them then. But will it happen also there as it's happening here? Who knows...

Is this your thought or there is a talk already that they will make DTube SMT?

Thanks, I'll check it out!

Ned doesn't run Dtube so he should not be considered an authority on the matter. However, it's widely known that the Dtube team has expressed it's intention to launch an SMT. Most recently in today's post:

Luckily, we will still earn curation rewards and will be able to keep afloat financially without having to compromise our future tokens fair distribution.

But what about copyright infringements? Personally, I lack the technical information that's why I don't know if it's possible to make a posted content inaccessible on the blockchain. I know it's possible to hide them from the UI's. However, this is not a permanent solution. Anyone can access that content by using different UI's reading the blockchain. Will it bring legal liability to Dtube when somebody posts copyrighted material? I am sure that there will be some shark lawyers attempting to make million dollar cases. Since there is no leading case, if a judge rules against Dtube this will kill the whole business.

And I am sorry that I couldn't answer your comment on Panopticon thread last night. European Time Zone :)

Undesired content gets "shouted down" by the larger voices in the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87