HELP ME GET TO STEEMFEST -- Hunt for cheap flight tickets hasn't yielded any results

in #steem5 years ago


Today I am writing to tell you how my journey is going thus far on my road to Steemfest 2018 in Poland. As most of you know, it was only 5 days ago I found out I was the lucky winner of a ticket to Steemfest, thanks to the generosity of Steemian @pharesim. From that moment, I have been looking at ways to make Steemfest happen. One of the hurdles is the price of ticket to get there, I have been literally digging through Cheapair to find cheap and reasonable flights but that has been difficult to find. Given the fact that I don't hold a US visa or Canadian visa, some of the cheapest routes are out of my reach. The cheapest flight I am seeing currently is a flight going from Panama---> Germany--->Poland, which comes in at USD 1950.00 adding travel insurance 2250.00. There was other cheaper routes if I am going through the US or Canada but that is out of reach due to travel restriction from these countries. There is also a more convenient route for travel time through Aruba to Amsterdam---> Poland which would take as little as 15 hours travelling time but that comes in at USD 3,717.00 including travel insurance. These prices are definitely OUT of my reach at the moment, in a bullish market with better Steem or SBD prices that would have been no problem.

On the funny side of things, does anyone remember Kevin Hart, i think he is the one with the funny video clip "See, the way my bank account is set up"

I am currently in that scenario, where the way my bank account/ crypto holding can't take that kind of hit. My setup allows me USD 700.00. I have reach out to a couple Steemians but it seems like the bear market has taken its toll which is understandable. So I am in a spot where I desperately want a major pump and this hurdle goes away. This morning I was speaking with @meno and I got excited when he found a flight for USD 1209.00 only to realize one of its stops is in the USA. At the point, Steemfest remains a 50/50 affair, getting a US transit visa under current immigration climate is nearly impossible, you have to get an interview, have X amount and maintain X amount for a year in a bank account with a bank statement.

This is the summary of the last few days trying to get over this hurdle, I written is my last blog I love to get some help if anyone can help and requesting the same here. You can send Steem or SBD to @daudimitch. I have also left my BTC, Eth and BCH address.
BTC: 1HofGDjDHGnFXWgx5sAucQqVfGsEnTgzEo
Eth: 0xEE41713591Ce4895A79FF1B10c6dfCe78e5Bb85A
BCH: qrj3nssjy4ku5vv4am3j4ktelfx60h2tsycfpv393x

Any other crypto would be welcome, I am trying to remain optimistic even with the tight time schedule, I like to book my tickets at the earliest convenience. Keeping my fingers cross, Steemfest 2018 happens for me.

Sort:  

Damn, it's getting close. Sent the offered amount and resteemed, hope you find some more support. Would be a pity to have an empty seat at the closing dinner!

What exactly are you looking for? From Panama City to Krakow?

It's not yet 700$, but a quick search on flyhacks.com shows me this, 500$ less than the one you found, all via Amsterdam and not even with unreasonable layovers :-)

Screen Shot 20181104 at 00.39.46.png

I always look for flights from Tuesday/Wednesday and for a full week, they are often the cheapest.

I looked a bit further, but all other options go through the USA.

I hope you're going to find your way to Krakow!

Hey @daudimitch I found a flight on kayak.com for almost the budget you have... Although it's through kiwi.com

Go snatch it now. Leaves on 6th and arrives on 7th.

IMG_20181104_004426.png

Posted using Partiko Android

My starting point is from Trinidad--> Panama--> Germany---> Poland....

That 827 would be a sweet deal if that was the offer

Oh didn't get it was from Trinidad.

$1200 is the cheapest I could find... But there's a layover in MIA... I guess that's a no go. Although if you are in transit, you shouldn't need a visa if you don't leave the gate.

IMG_20181104_020016.png

Posted using Partiko Android

there is also a $775 flight from Miami as well, unfortunately, they won't even let me on a flight going through the US even though I am in transit..

there is also a $1110 flight from Toronto but visa thing again

I know it is not a lot, but I will send you 10 STEEM in a second - If every attendee would do so, you probably would be a lot closer to the ticket.

Did @pharesim tell you about the @t-r-f? You also would get some Steem from there later I assume.

Anyways, good luck! If you can‘t make it, please send the 10 STEEM to the @t-r-f so that it at least helps others with their travel expenses!

Thanks appreciate it, no I did not know about @t-r-f but I would look into it...

No problem, I would forward it to @t-r-f if I can't make it

Congratulations!


This post has been granted a 100% upvote, courtesy to @tbaumer2, from BlissFish!
Enjoy the Bliss!

Join us on Discord!
Upvote this post to help the minnows win a bigger upvote!

I also sent you 10 steem, perfect suggestion of @theaustrianguy

make it happen dude! hopefully some fund can help you as well!

Hmm I don't want to fligh if I went to there it was by train or something like that. Good luck finding your way to steemfest. 😊 sorry for not voting i want to have 100%power before I'm voting again. I was too generous with voting the last few days and I powered up today.

Congratulations @daudimitch! You have received a personal award!

SteemFest TRF 2018
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16