Announcing Steem Insights - Steem search engine based on Hivemind

in #steem5 years ago (edited)


steem.png

After an official announcement of Hivemind, I became quite excited, not because I understood what is was but because I’ve seen some decent progress with infrastructure cost reduction by Steemit Inc.

At the same time, I was already working on block explorer for Steem Dapps leveraging Steemjs API but then it went down for major changes related to Steem.DAO. I was pissed at first but that gave me some time to rethink the architecture of my project. After I’ve done that, I decided I need to test Tower, a Hivemind REST API made by @emrebeyler.

To be honest, it felt quite cool to dig through the docs and testing it live. If there are two things that are missing on Steemit or any other Steem-based interfaces, that would be clearly search and filtering options.

I cannot stress enough how awesome it is to have a simple way to look through the whole blockchain with multiple queries, it’s a bless for users and a relief for users.

What is Steem Insights?

Originally, I was planning to create an explorer for Dapps only but then I decided to switch my focus towards changing the whole concept of block explorers. All of the modern explorers display data mostly for tech people but how we’re going to attract new users if we’re building products only for nerds?

Thus, I would like to call Steem Insights a Steem search engine. An engine, yes. Basically, I want to make an ability for people to search for Steem-related data and getting the results they can understand. If you take Steemdb or Steemd, you would see lots of info that tells nothing whatsoever to your mom, an artist or even a sales manager. My goal is to change this and make search process great again.

Current features

At the moment, I implemented accounts and dapps search. I deliberately made it similar to how facebook search used to work prior to removing all of the advanced filtering settings.

You can now find all of the guys and girls from your hometown, the place you’re considering moving or just curious about. You can find the influencers, the whales, the Steem old souls and even delegators of responsibilities. You can sort by multiple fields also which is by default set to descending (for some obvious reasons).

Here’s a few shots of the engine:

1.png
Search by location: Korea

2.png
Search by account name: emre

3.png
Multiple filters: 10,000+ followers, 40+ reputation, 10MV+ voting weight, 2017 – minimum account creation date.

I also decided to add basic search for Steemapps. It took me a couple of hours to implement that which was quite satisfying. Thanks @therealwolf for an awesome api, really appreciate your work. Although you do have to type the full name of the app, there's no 'contains' querying yet. I'll try to change it with autocomplete in the next update.

5.png

P.S. Forgot to mention the website, it's steeminsights.com

How to use Steem Insights?

The usage is pretty straightforward, you just type in the name of the account of the person you’re looking for or you select the filters and hit apply. In both cases you’ll see some results. By default all of the accounts are filtered by reputation which means you’ll see top quality accounts on the Steem blockchain.

Besides, even though there are over a million Steem accounts, you might find no results if you apply too many filters. You’ll see something like that:

4.png

If you stumbled upon that, you can simply click reset filters and start your new search.
There are a few things you have to be aware of due to how Hivemind queries work now:

  • Main search box – currently does the search through Steem account names, not the display names that users set
  • Posts – work only if you put the exact number of posts, there’s no minimum value in Tower API yet
  • Proxy – has to be the exact Steem account name of the proxy, otherwise it finds nothing

What are the plans?

My nearest plans are to collect the feedback and to see which features search options do people desire.
But overall I’m planning to implement:

  • Followers and following search.
  • Proposals search (as soon as @blocktrades releases them on a testnet which could happen next week).
  • Posts search. I'm still considering whether to add tags-based lookup or implement communities right away. In any scenario I would love to see more filters for posts to implement this one.

I also consider adding search through top Steem dapps, including @steemmonsters and @drugwars. I have a decent architecture to diplay data of virtually any rest api so dapps are definitely on the list.

For those who was looking for a link, here we are steeminsights.com

P.S. Already made the first update, added a dashboard.


If you like what I do, make sure to vote for my witness (via steemit or steemconnect). Witnesses keep the infrastructure going so don’t skip.

1.png

Sort:  

I like you try to provide to the world a block explorer adapted to the mainstream capabilities.

Thanks, somebody has to do it.

I agree with @cryptoeera! That is awesome!

@dmitrydao, I would vote for you as witness but I already voted! Nevertheless, I am a high performance action account that gives "F-URR" "URR" $UPER $UCCE$$!!!

This is a small music gift of appreciation from a YouTube contributor named Geogeniuzz22...

Thanks. Appreciate your support

We're looking at the website.. Gotta say! Looks awesome!! Love the UI!!

but how we’re going to attract new users if we’re building products only for nerds?

That's our first impression when looking at the explorer, very human readable and sleek!

Thanks guys, your opinion is always important to me.

I like your engine, its gonna improve search dramatically.

Just a quick suggestion to change if you don't mind, it does not necessarily have to be guy's account only ;)
dfgdfgdf.jpg

It can simply be changed to "Type in a username"
Would be more professional :)

WOMAN; you fall in love with the features that make you happy, and they try to take that feature from you.

Nice search engine for Steem! Can this be used to create a classified ads app like Craigslist or like what Cybermiles (CMT) is doing with their 5Miles integration? More info here: https://www.cybermiles.io/en-us/blog/decentralized-e-commerce-at-5miles/

This is a very very useful tool. Thank you.

A couple of small points...

  1. Can you show Reputation in the display output for accounts - as it is one of the filter criteria.
  2. In an ordered listing (like by Reputation) can you include a ranking number (#1, #2, #3...) for each account in the list.

Thanks. No problem, will add.

🎁 Dear @thura123,

SteemBet Seed round SPT sale is about to start in 2 days!

When our started the development of SteemBet Dice game, we couldn’t imagine that our game would go so viral and that SteemBet would become one of the pioneers in this field.

In order to give back to our beloved community, we’ll distribute 4000 STEEM to SPT holders immediately after Seed sale. Plus, investors in this earliest round will be given 60% more tokens as reward and overall Return on Investment is estimated at 300%!

Join the whitelist on SteemBet webiste now and start investing! Feel free to ask us anything on Discord https://discord.gg/tNWJEAD

spt-sale-2-day.jpg

Your wish is my command. Reputation is added. Decided not to include ranking number though cause I don't want people to start compare themselves to others. Not something I'm ready to take on my shoulders yet.

Okay thanks. Ranking number is purely a mathematical function.

Add the ranking, adds to the utility.

WOMAN; you fall in love with the features that make you happy, and they try to take that feature from you.

Decentralized search engine ? Will rock👍

Posted using Partiko Android

good the job @dahri

This post is supported by $0.27 @tipU upvote funded by @cardboard :)
@tipU voting service guide | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97