Steemit- The payout is not the destination 2

in #steem6 years ago (edited)


I wrote the article, Steemit- The payout is not the destination 8 months ago, precisely on the 26/09/2017. That was the time I was mostly out on the streets telling everyone I see about Steemit. I was also trying all I could to tell the world, my world of the new reality that was upon us.

During that period, I faced a lot of backlash from people who mostly knew me. They bombarded me with series of questions about the genuine nature of Steemit and rebuked me of patronizing and introducing a ponzi scheme to Nigerians.
For those who know, that was the era of MMM and other ponzis that was gradually sweeping away the earnings of innocent Nigerians.


Getting back to this platform then and also to the hub, I had to constantly convince users of the need to follow through with the Steem for what it will mean to them at the end of the day, than what they want it to mean to them then- which was the quick SBDs.

You see the destination is not about the earnings you make on Steemit, but about the gratification you get from knowing that you are a part of this community that encourages free sharing and an opportunity to mine your earnings.
Lots of times, we are motivated by the things we see other people achieving and we try to achieve as much as we see them achieve forgetting that, that motivation is not genuine and it will most likely fizzle out.


I Feel Blessed!


When you lay your goals and aspirations based on someone's performance, you will only live long enough to help them celebrate it while you stay dreaming of your day that may never come because, you didn't put in the work.


"I figured a goldmine and I am taking my people with me."


Understanding what the destination is, in every travel is what makes the journey interesting. It is like life as we know it, the destination is the great beyond and we are well aware no one leaves the earth with their possessions, so many of us are careful not to be foolish to think amassing wealth for ourselves is the ultimate.


Steemit is still here and will be here for a long time, (I know this). make sure you are set for the journey and get set to put in work to make sure you get the whole idea behind your active participation on this platform.

During the last dip in the price of SBD and then Steem, we were supposed to commence a project. We were ready and everyone was in high spirit, but when the bottom fell out, we couldn't then continue because the earnings didn't tell us there would be days like that. I knew, but I am sure not many knew.
You see, most of us didn't expect that the Crypto dip could get so red and then apart from being red, go on bleeding for months, but it did.
Many left the platform disappointed and some vowed never to return. Some felt "betrayed" by those of us who told them so many good (lies) stories about Steemit.

I didn't leave, I am not leaving and hope you stay too and jin us in building the world we want to see and live in.


In the coming weeks or maybe months, we shall be seeing Communities, SMTs and more and that means, the destination is looking set to be more awesome and rewarding.
If your target is the big upvotes for thrashy contents, then Steemit is not for you; but if you are about original and creative contents that will help the ecosystem grow, then WELCOME to your New Reality!


Make the world a better place for someone today!

Sort:  

I know what steemit has done for me. Personally I am not a social person, always doing and about something on my own. If some one tells me I would be this committed on a social media site a few years back, I would have laughed. I stoped facebook since 2013 but steemit is just right for people like me who want to be real and be themselves irrespective of the payouts. Not following the crowd to where the music is loudest.

Steemit leaves you with a life lesson, it depends on how you take it good or bad.

Thank you for this motivation @ejemai.

Steemit sure leaves you with valuable life lessons. The journey has its perks and the destination has got to be amazing.
Stay awesome!

You're a leader. You inspired and will keep being an inspiration to me. Thanks for this motivation

Thanks bro, you inspire me too.
Stay awesome!

You zeal and determination keeps me moving. I wonder how it would have telling people about steemit and getting rebuked. Some persons would have given up on steemit after getting rebuked but you were stilll determined.
Now, see how far you have gone here? Having a reputational score of 70 is something to be happy about.
I love your spirit and determination, and I always watch out for your posts because you inspire me.

Thanks for always stopping by and I am glad you feel this way.
Stay awesome!

Thank you my friend. It is nice having to know you

Getting back to this platform then and also to the hub, I had to constantly convince users of the need to follow through with the Steem for what it will mean to them at the end of the day, than what they want it to mean to them then- which was the quick SBDs

I love this part. Though, I would still say, if you don't tell people about the earnings, you are wasting your time. I join steemit in February and really became active this month but one thing is sure that I know, people are delighted with free social platforms like facebook, instagram etc and don't want to hear 3rd about steemit unless perhaps they present something better which is the rewards. The only thing I think people should always do is telling people about the every possibility of earning and the nature of crypto currencies.

The earnings is what made many sign-up and also what made them up and leave. I am always very careful talking about the earnings because I see it as a perk and I like to have their minds prepared.
Stay awesome!

What a vision. I joined steemit because I am convinced, no one canvas for me. Read an article about the coming web 3.0 that led to a further discussion with a friend in which steemit is a good example of web 3.0 social media. Right there I can envisioned what the future of social media is going to and I am in regretting I am late but not too late

I am in and I will always be here. I missed out in the era of YouTube/adsense., fiverr, online real estate (domain swapping). Never on steemit. The future is brighter. I will

NEVER GIVE UP

Web 3.0 is a good fit for this. When you take time to research something, it is easier for you to make decisions and follow through.
I too discovered Steemit while browsing the web and I took time out to study it and glad I did.
Stay awesome!

Goodmorning sir. Some of us never valued what we have until we lose it. Im blaming myself not to have known steemit earlier enough before the time i knew it.

Like you said, steemit is here to stay. Not all about the payout but the value ww gain and instill in others.

About the date you cited about is in the future not in the past. My humble observation sir

I wrote the article, Steemit- The payout is not the destination 8 months ago, precisely on the 26/09/2018.

You may have joined Steemit recently but I can assure you it's still early and you will still get the best of it.
Thanks for the correction, edited.
Stay awesome!

Thank for you and most welcome sir.

This is a call for a genuine perception to steemit. Thanks @ejemai for the light thrown on this.

Thanks and stay awesome!

My steemit journey has been filled with ups and downs and I've quit, returned, quit and returned again. It's not really encouraging bro; no one even appreciates my poetry talents here. I'm hanging on just because I still have that hope that steemit will blossom someday in my life.

I always look back at Dec/Jan with so much fondness. It was almost hard to believe. $10 -$20 can easily take care of a prudent spender's expenses for a couple of weeks.

The mistake was I thought that was how it should be because I met it like that. Now I know better. I was focussed on earning then.

Had i know it can get this low, I would done some things better. I almost gave because of the dip myself. Steemit and idea behind it is too wonderful to quit.

Thank you @ejemai for this great post.

I had a similar experience until I made some good money while blogging, now I'm focusing more on this platform. All you need is to research what successful people on steemit are doing and do the same... you'll get the same result or even better.

Thanks a lot @kdcextra... You could also help with tips so I could ask be successful here.

I think you either invest some money to boost your SP and grow faster or search for various contests and participate. I think you recently won third place in a competition. You need more of such contests, go through the transactions of those earning and find out the things they do. Search for other contests and most importantly be patient, you will certainly tell your story! I'm learning also and hopefully, I'll love to get more serious with the platform, I think there is money to be made here as well as lots of sharing. :)

Well, I'm just short of words. Thanks a lot bro... I do appreciate it

Great, all the best! :)

Thanks! Still can't find the contest I came out third bro... Can you help me mention my name there? Thanks

Hanging on because it suits you is the way to go. It is a reward and it will surely come as it gets better. I do Steemit because I love it here and I get to learn so much.
Stay awesome!

Yeah... I'm hanging on. Thanks for the encouragement

Infact this is very great, u have done a very great job, it obvious that steemit is not a get rich quick that is why i always tell people to stop attracting people whit what they have achieved on steemit only, lets keep on using the power of this platform in terms of (pwp) people empowering people, because that is how we can grow.

Steemit is work and definitely not a get rich quick scheme. The lessons learnt helps form a community of like minded individuals who will do it all.
Stay awesome!

To an extent, this is still earnings. But how you earn or how patient you are matters alot. No one wants to start a predestined lost course. No matter what one does here, be it to make steemit better by posting desired content by all, it's still about making the money. But our attitude about making it is what really matters so we won't get frustrated.

You see the destination is not about the earnings you make on Steemit, but about the gratification you get from knowing that you are a part of this community that encourages free sharing and an opportunity to mine your earnings.
And before I forget, thanks so much for sharing this sir. Someone resteemed and I get to see it, now am following you for more great post. God bless you

Attitude he here is everything. Thanks KS for stopping by and I am glad you got something off the article.
Stay awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77