Rants on the Next Price Rally

in #steem6 years ago

money-case-163495_640.jpg

Steemit has been hovering considerably below $1 for a while now and price forecasts no longer look so good compared to the beginning of the year. Steemit hopefuls still expect an eventual price turn and a spike upwards, but perhaps we should consider the aftermath of such good fortunes.

I imagine right now a lot of steem and crypto hodlers are hoping to sell off when the next price jump happens. Engagement generally has gone down even though there has not been a massive sell off per se. What happens is that we may see a lot of holders dispense their steem permanently as soon as the next jump happens.

The problem of crypto has always been too many people selling and too few holding, which causes various swings in prices and volatility. Perhaps volatility makes it attractive, as some people love the high risk high reward thing but I wonder if such a spike might put steem at risk of dipping a lot further in value.

While steemit might be tiring and frustrating at times, I think we create a lot more value for the future by holding and believing in the vision. While a lot of us probably do not have individual stakes to cause a major shake-up in the direction of things, if everyone has the mindset of selling off I am curious about the possible extent and consequences of such a time.

Sort:  

Hodl Hodl Hodl! Keep the faith. I know for me personally, an opportunity like I have here with Steemit\Steem and a few other select cryptos I hodl, has not come along but a couple of times. I am not a wealthy man and for a relatively small sum of fiat I am in the game. In the past, getting in the game was financially out of reach. My particular attraction to Steemit is that to a small degree I have some real skin in the game. My involvement along with yours can influence the outcome. Name a time when you have felt that your vote really counted. Well it does here!

I could not agree more

I want it to stay low for another while to build my rep and network before the wave hits

I posted on this just a few moments ago on another post, and instead of retyping it will just leave a link to the comment here. The post I responded to is by @ura-soul, who is one of the witnesses and has a lot of interesting things he posts about if you are unfamiliar with him.

https://steemit.com/steem/@practicalthought/re-ura-soul-low-traffic-levels-for-steemit-com-post-hard-fork-20-show-yet-more-reason-to-support-a-fresh-user-marketing-campaign-20181014t193559673z

I agree with your analysis. The likelihood of Steemit taken down once SMTs take over is quite high. Also agree that the current time presents a lot of opportunity for the platform's very future

I think while everyone is so focused on price they are missing the continued building of intrinsic value in the steemit network. There are not many projects that are developing at the rate of steemit. Eventually when the market turns and projects are re-rated, Steem will recognise its true value.

We are the true value of Steem.
Posting and surely,holding #steem will make the difference

Excellent @empress-eremmy .
Steemians have to change the mentality. We are the whales of the future!

I believe so too

I think the truth is no one knowz!

Personally I just feel it's a good move to power up n hodle.

But that's easy fr me to say when my Vests r < 5% of my wealth!

Responding to yr comment on my last post btw.

Posted using Partiko Android

howdy there empress! oh so they might kill off steemit if the smt's succeed? I thought the success of the smt's was going to save steemit! wow. well no one know's for sure at this point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05