Steem Torch

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

people-2596905_1920.jpg

image source

Steem Torch is an experiment to demonstrate the speed and trust in transferring value on Steem social network.

Steem Torch Keeper is a user who received a Steem transfer with "Steem Torch Experiment..." memo and is about to pass it to the next user.

If you are a Steem Torch Keeper please read the following rules to pass the Steem Torch to the next user.


Steem Torch Rules:

  1. Add 1 Steem or lower amount or nothing at all to the amount received in Steem Torch transfer.
  2. Do not decrease the amount received.
  3. Use the original memo Steem Torch Experiment! Count: 1. Please read the Steem Torch Rules at https://steemit.com/steem/@geekgirl/steem-torch before passing it to the next user. and change the count number by adding 1. For example, if the ​received memo is Count: 20, your sending memo will be Count: 21.
  4. Choose a Steemian who you would like to pass the Steem Torch to. Preferably someone you trust will follow the Steem Torch rules, is active, and you believe will pass the Steem Torch to the next user.
  5. Not required, but recommended to inform the next Torch Keeper of the transfer and follow up after the transfer.
  6. Send the Steem Torch with the new amount and memo to the next Torch Keeper as soon as possible.
  7. Try not to send it back to the previous Torch Keeper or someone you know already was a Torch Keeper.
  8. When Count reaches 337 the experiment ends with success. The 337th Torch Keeper can donate the total amount to Steem based charities, Steem projects, distribute to minnows, burn it by sending to @null, or ask the community what to do with it.
  9. The 337th Torch Keeper must not keep the funds or use it for personal projects.

Optional Bonus Instructions by @andrarchy:

  1. Create a companion article on steemit.com (or your Steem UI of choice) when you pass the Torch. Bonus idea: take this opportunity to explain why you're participating and why you're sending it to the recipient.
  2. Use some kind of thumbnail image with a torch in it so that everyone knows it's part of the Steem Torch experiment. Feel free to use the thumbnail image below, or make a better one!
  3. Share the article on Twitter with the tags #steemtorch #steem @steemnetwork

steem torch.jpg


You can read the original post explaining the Steem Torch Experiment here.

Let's show the power of Steem!

Sort:  

My Clerk bot just ate the Torch. Lol. I have the liquid Steem to cover it, so I'll deal with it in about 12 hours from now.

Posted using Partiko Android

My guess is we'll somehow stop at 1337.

It was suggested to lower the end count to like 1k instead of 10k since it is the first experiment. Is it ok if I lower it to 1337?

Update: I will change it to 1337. I like the number. I think you will be ok with that. :)

I'm gonna remind the user I passed it on now. xD

I bet someone will end up running away with it :D

Yeah, my clerk bot ate it. Heh. Some extra-large donations to causes I support, a bit powered up etc. I love automation, but it isn't steem-torch compatible. I'm just about to relight the torch using some liquid I have lying around.

I would dare to predict that there will be fighting at the end what to do with all steem collected. And a lot of disappointed steemians.

If it makes it to the end only the last user gets to decide what to do with it though. Unless that user chooses to ask the community. I am more optimistic in the end result. My concern is how long will it take to reach 1337th user. At the current speed, we are looking at a couple of years. :)

Let me put this way:
What if the last user gives money to the animal shelter community project to save some cats?
What if the last user is a member of the gaming community....
or sport, or pot, or art.
I hope you got my point.

ah ok. I see what you mean. Maybe should just burn them :)

"I have decided to donate to 'the awesomianist lunch fund', a non profit I started to fund the lunch of awesomianist over the next 3 years"

😂😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @awesomianist! I think you forgot to pass the torch to the next user. :)

I have definitely not forgotten. ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Love this idea! Excellent!

I really like the idea - curious to see how the torch will travel!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you. I am curious too. I will try to write a script to pull the data on​ transfers​.

by train:)

You mean a ~steam~ steem train :D

Posted using Partiko iOS

it can go very far on twitter if keep simple

hehehe, looks like it traveled to you @soyrosa Congrats!!

Looks pretty interesting! Best of luck with your experiment!

82F29B8D-63A8-474A-973E-1C0680988CF2.jpeg

Interesting experiment. This will show the power of the community.

... and whether our trust to one of our fellow steemian is rightly deserved ... LOL.

Waiting for the torch.

Wish you all a lovely day and an amazing day to the initiator of this experiment ... @geekgirl.

This is a very interesting experiment @geekgirl and I have high hopes that it will end up making it to the end 1337th steemian for 2 reasons
One, if anyone runs away with it they are essentially destroying their accounts rep.
Two, people will only pass the torch to people they trust and my personal experience is that those people I've truly got to know on steem are 100% trust worthy.

Ha ha, that's not to say everyone will have had a similar experience as I've had. There are undoubtedly some shifty people on steem. Let's see if the steem-limpic torch reaches the stadium 😉

Thank you @raj808. Yea majority on Steem is trustworthy. Challenge with the experiment is that we rarely pay attention to our wallets. It is easy to miss the transfers. However, we are a social network community, so we can easily communicate.

Exactly, that's the only problem I see. Not untrustworthiness, but negligence.

Posted using Partiko Android

Definitely interested in keeping up with this! I really want this to work out well... Hopefully I can be trusted with the torch at some point in the chain!

Yes, I hope to see you in the chain too.

cool sounds fun. any harm in keeping it for a least 13 weeks? :)

I lowered the end count. I hope it won't take longer than a month. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29