Who's Still Here?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)


A Year Ago Today


With Steem being the lowest I've personally ever seen it and my making Dolphinhood last week I've been musing on that and wandering through my account wondering what happens next.

I was curious to see what I was posting about a year ago and this was it, a post for a photography competition . . .


Chocolate Tart, Mango Sorbet and a Raspberry


This amazing dessert tasted every bit as good as it looks.

It was a very special treat on a very special day when we went to the top of The Shard in London.

We were very fortunate to get seats right at the window and spent the evening enjoying fantastic food and fantastic views over the Tower of London, London Bridge, HMS Belfast etc. etc.

shard dessert


If I remember rightly, I think it might actually have won a prize.

The post earned me $3.28. This one may not even make $1 since it is Saturday and it's extremely unlikely to make it to $2.

I was also interested to see who'd commented on it and where they were now and this is what I found . . .

@thedailysneak - last curation post 3 months ago
@photomag - last post 8 months ago
@anouk.nox - still going strong and probably even stronger I would say. I didn't know her this time last year but we have since become friends via Steem Monsters so I'm happy to see she is still around and posting regularly. (By the way, Anouk, this time last year you and your boyfriend were just recovering from the nora virus 😱)
@aramat12 - last post 11 months ago
@indigoocean - posting less frequently but definitely still going strong 😍
@the-witty-waiter - last posted 10 months ago.
@photocontests - sadly no contest for over a year now. I really miss those. It got me out of the house more and really looking at the world in a different way. 😢

These commenters are only a small subset of the people I was engaging with a year ago but, thinking about it, I suppose the rot had already set in by them. And there were far fewer people around than in my early days - Dec/Jan 2017.

So, if you've nothing better to do this weekend how about taking a look back to a year ago. I'd be curious to see what you find on your own posts.

Whatever you decide to do . . . Make It A Good One!!! 😍

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

We stopped curating regularly because there were no guest submissions and it was not a priority for me to find them myself anymore. This is the first anybody has really noticed or mentioned it, so I don't think we were really missed.

Good to hear you're still around anyway. 😊

I’ve been looking back during this last three years now and it’s always the same: dead accounts... this is not necessarily bad as it’s like a cleaning/purging system where all those expecting an economic revenue got out of the game.
I still believe in Steem so here I am ... now I can see more clear who is who in our ecosystem and who is making what and which is the purpose. That’s nice, doesn’t it?
To be honest I don’t miss anything, I’m quite excited of what’s going on here with real steemians supporting great ideas and spreading their love everywhere.

Hugs

Glad to hear you're still really enjoying it all @drakernoise. 😍

It's sad to see how low we have fallen. I never thought I'd see Steem trading at these prices. There are coins without a project that are worth more than Steem. 🙄

Yeah. I don't get it @trinscowski but then I don't really understand what affects the price anyway. As long as it is this low I will try and keep buying a little bit every week with the hope that one day it will rise again.

I also look back more and more often to see those who are still active here. Especially pleased that let a small but active number of people continues to to wage their blogs. This is especially valuable to continue to support our communication. A lot of things change in life , but I keep moving on. :))

Yep. Good to see you still here @madlenfox.

Yeah I’ve been finding it easier to feel like curating than writing lately. I’ve also noticed a lot of my favs from last year now gone. Glad to see you still posting regularly. And congrats on dolphin status

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @indigoocean. It will be interesting to see how many follow your lead and switch more to curating once HF21 comes in.

This time way more comments 😉

Yeah. But this is unusual for my posts these days @rimicane. Glad to see you around still 😊

This month I am celebrating 2 years on Steemit and I did something similar to your post. I’ve decided to make a throwback series to some of my first posts and the once that got some good appreciation from the community. If you’re interested here are my last two throwback posts: 😊

https://steemit.com/eateem/@river-island/happy-steemit-birthday-to-me-part-4-throwback-to-my-top-post-ea8d26ab39793

https://steemit.com/esteem/@river-island/happy-steemit-birthday-to-me-part-5-throwback-to-my-top-posts-3c0726de10f1

That's an interesting idea @river-island. I like it. 😁

What a great idea. I will look back.

I'll be interested to see what you find. There's been more action on this most than most of my recent ones. Probably because I tagged people. But it's fun to see who is still around. 😊

I'm still here!

@thedailysneak is an account from @josephsavage, and he's still around!

I also like to remind myself that the financial value of Steem isn't the coin price, it's the market cap. $63million.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't understand the mechanics of the finanial side of things but while I can get Steem at such low prices I will try and continue you to buy a little bit each week.

That's the spirit!! I hope it pays off for all of us.

Posted using Partiko Android

You have received 5x upvotes from the members of @steemexplorers from your free link submission in our discord server. Steemexplorers is an initiative bringing information on various Steemit services and communities in a central discord to save you time and help you grow. It's free, it's easy, and it's here to help you in so many ways. Come by our discord to learn more! Link to Discord: https://discord.gg/6QrMCFq. Our team also offers an additional upvoting service called @givememonsters where you can presently trade in 1 to 10 DEC from the Steem Monsters game for up to $0.03 upvotes on ANY steemit posts. The vote purchasing value here is some of the best returns on your investments that you can find anywhere so come by and visit this service today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29