The lower steem price visualized in a funny way!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem6 years ago

Dear Steemers,

As a steemer you are busy posting, collecting and giving upvotes. Regularly you look at your wallet and - how nice - the overall value goes up. This week despite your new rewards the value goes down and ….fast!

Although I win or loose more on the stock market in an average week than I have in total in my steemit wallet, the amount of time put into steemit makes it hurt in a kind of way. I think that "time input" must be it as I have no other reason.

How bad is it?

If you have a wallet value of 200 USD and an average post value of 1,50 USD and steem increases 2% each day this means that the steem price change (= 4 USD) is more important already than your activities for the value development that is. So if the price drops from 2,40 USD to now 1,90 USD in one weekend this is 20% or 40 USD of your wallet value. It takes - in this example - 27 posts to make up for that decrease!

So how can we visualize what is happening?

I see it like this. If the steem price goes up it is like cycling with tailwind.

You think Hey, I can cycle really hard and I am doing 20 miles per hour ! I am gonna be home fast !

If steem goes down however it is of course headwind.

You think, FAK I have a real race shirt but I am going almost backwards. I will be late for dinner!

So maybe this helps you understand what is really going on! In reality our speed and earnings are made by the quality of your posts and the rest is market up and downs.

In the end we will all be happy again!

Goldrooster
proud member of #steemsilvergold community

Sort:  

If Steem ever decides to head back up above $5 it’s going to be quite the fun ride 😁👍

I totally agree with your analogy. And you are right... it is the "time input" that causes me to hurt, lol!

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

It is an interesting analogy. As I am here for the long time, it is not important to me if steem is up or down. Of course, if it is down, I would like to buy a few more...

You got a 38.46% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @goldrooster!

Send at least 0.1 SBD to participate in bid and get upvote of 0%-100% with full voting power.

You got a 49.91% upvote from @votepower courtesy of @goldrooster!

Steemit is still very young, it has quite a future. Talk to anyone on the street and all they know is Facebook. This community is growing fast,and for the first time when asked what is blockchain I can show people. I just go to Steem block explorer and show them blocks. Kind of amazing 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05