HOW ABOUT WE LIGHT THAT FIRE AGAIN – STEEMFIRE!

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Remember those days when you wanted to change the world. And for that you planned and plotted and build castles in the skies of your imagination. All of it so that you could change those things in this world that sucked. Then we grew up….. That optimism morphed into something else and we now ascribe those feelings to the optimistic naiveté of the youth. Now we prefer to think of ourselves as realists.

james-carol-lee-771467-unsplash.jpg
(Photo by James & Carol Lee on Unsplash)

Let me say this – BULLSHIT!!! I am calling this shit out and in the process I am doing the same for myself. The truth is that we just became a little more jaded than we wanted to. We can paint the picture in whatever shade we want to but the fact remains that we let that fire fizzle out…

Or did it? That desire to do shit that can bring about a change was a faraway dream and by now we should all have given up on it. But if we did give up on that dream then the question is – ‘what are we doing here on Steem?’ Is it possible that there might be a spark that burns within and perhaps that’s what brought us all together over to the blockchain technology?

Let me ask you this – ‘Why do you Steem?’ Chances are that like me you too are not making tons of money here (at least with these prices). So why are you blogging? Why are you reading this post? In fact, why are you here at all?

The answers to these questions would be quite indicative of your inner revolutionary. For me Steem means defiance. It’s a way to tell the world that we still got what it takes to be free people. It shows that communities can come together under the banner of humanity without being bound by their flags (read agendas).

So let’s keep this fire burning – STEEMFIRE!

PS: The term Steemfire was pointed out to me by @soyrosa. Although the context of it was slightly different when she referred to it but I feel that it aptly describes a mindset that could allow us to push through this crypto winter. It would be interesting to hear about it origins though….

#paws - People At Work for Steem


Shameless Referrals

Sort:  

Why do you Steem?’

I'm an addict. Hehehe. There's simply something (people!) here that I can't seem to find elsewhere. In the Facebook era we connected with hundreds of people but often from our past or family - Steem makes it possible to connect with people I'd not be able to meet otherwise.

FIRE burns in my heart for Steem <3

LOL! Addiction is one way to put it...... I guess a lot of here are just that. Although I am not running to the rehab anytime soon ;-) This ecosystem has such a diverse crowd..... I doubt that we'll ever find any other place to connect with this bunch.

Do you have a thing that when you hear a phrase, it reminds you of a song? I know, different context and stuff.

LOL! I think I must've had 'I am the fire' by Halestorm's Lzzy Hale in my head when I was writing this :-)

I came for the rewards but stayed for the community as many others say! It has been a great expertto learn more about blockchain and the way its potential can build an ecosystem of value based on community. I continue to enjoyed the experience!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I came for the rewards but stayed for the community......

Man this is so true for a lot of us. There just something abut the people here. You find a family here and at the end if the day you won't be putting that on line for just money.

Congratulations @hashcash! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87