What does two years on the Steem blockchain mean to me?

in #steem6 years ago

I like words. I've used a lot of them on the Steem blockchain. While my account is two years old, I have only been actively engaged for closer to 16 months. Don't tell him, but @mattclarke deserves endless thanks for introducing me to this platform. As for the above image, Steem Reports has generated the image of my recently used words.

I used to review video games professionally. I studied visual art at the same time. I quit the video game review gig to focus on my visual art studies. I travelled. I got a full time job. It was an office role, based in customer service. I moved up quickly, and found my creative spirits drained.

At the cusp of wanting to take a long holiday, I was introduced to Steem. I made a post. I wrote some stuff. I didn't have any success. I stewed.

I came back. I made some posts. I got back into crypto currency after mining doge-coin in its early days. I started posting more regularly to Steemit. I made some blockchain friends. One of them died. I ran an art contest in her honour. I'll do that again soon.

I've become a dolphin in that two year phase, but that is insignificant. This platform has helped change me into a far more balanced individual. I've had criticism here, encouragement here, had my ideas challenged, and met people that I would have never, ever met before.

Its funny how quickly you can become fast friends with someone when the Steem blockchain is the common thread linking your relationship together. It strengthens all the existing relationships, too.

The value isn't in making money for your posts, or finding the best way to get your post to the top of the trending page. I've said this about a million times, but I'm going to make it bigger now.

The true value of Steem is the fact that it connects people, both distant and close, and allows the free passage of ideas across borders.

These last two years of my life definitely haven't been easy ones; I purchased a house, had a potential heart condition, got made redundant, and achieved ever-escalating accolades and responsibilities within my workplace.

I could not have done any, or all of this; if it wasn't for the confidence, bravado, and sense of humility that daily use of the Steem blockchain instills.

In addition, there's a sense of belonging, and the incredible rush of dopamine obtained when I give someone real value by splashing out at them using my stake on the platform.

There's too many people to thank for all of your support these last two years.

I hope all of you will still be here in two years time. I hope that there'll be so many more of us. I hope that you won't be offended if I don't name you individually.

I won't. You know who you are. :)

I leave you all with a grumpy selfie.

Sort:  

Congrats!!! I’m also thankful to @mattclarke for introducing me to Steemit 😊 Definitely enjoying the friendships and community 🙌

I'm enjoying these chunky upvotes now I'm delegating out less power :)
Also friendships and community and steem monsters.

Celebration wine on Sunday night I think! #openpackstogether

My house again? I don't want to leave it ever again. #toomuchrainforecast

#ballersforlife
Isn't it just great? I had an idea for the 2019 National meetup today while driving. Parked, looked up and the car parked in front had a bumper sticker from the venue. Done well, it'll be awesome.
Lucky we have a team which does things well :)

Our team is a well oiled machine, ready for success!

Well said! ... and I love the grumpy selfie!

It's just how I look, not how I feel!

Lol - I don’t even think you look that grumpy!

Friendship is magic.

And magic gives you power over others.

You're a wizard now.

[Citation Needed]

Perhaps you're a source(rer).

Good jokes never (m)age.

Why the grumpy face?! Lol

That would be fantastic if we are all still here in two years. I think steem will have evolved a lot in that time.

PS: While I can't credit Matt for bringing me here, I'd certainly say he was a big influence in me sticking around.

I can't do a ducklips or instagram model pose with a face as unruly as mine!

Lmao! I'd love to see unruly ducklips!

Very good posts, hopefully a successful brother is always in esteem

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Happy Birthday Grumpy! 😁

Nice milestone! I have also been on the Steemit roller coaster for 2 years now. We've seen forks, fights, and financial speculation come and go. We can weather the storm and make something great here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05