Will @riverhead Bring steemit.chat Online Until @followbtcnews Takes Over?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

@riverhead thousands of us use steemit.chat every day which is proof we do think this service provides a huge value to the community. We have paid for that over the last year with hundreds of thousands of dollars of witness rewards to you as a top 20 witness most of this time. We understand you would like a break. We would like to continue using the chat as long as it is possible until @followbtcnews takes over.

Will you please remove the message we see below and put https://steemit.chat/ back up until @followbtcnews is ready because this will give us a chance to thank you for your service here?


steemit.chat error.png

Fired or Quit?


I am confused why it says fired on steemit.chat when what I see appears to be voluntarily stepping down? Here is what I observe.

First, @riverhead slips out of the top 20 witness rankings which costs over $600 a day in rewards.

riverhead slips out of top 20.jpg

Two days later, @riverhead posts the following message at https://steemit.com/chat/@riverhead/steemit-chat-migrating-to-new-management saying "Steemit.chat Migrating to New Management"

steemit.chat moving to new management.jpg

In a reply to a comment, @riverhead explains further!

riverhead plans.jpg

According to what I can see, @riverhead gave up the top 20 witness position which leaves me confused as to the language indicating a firing? First, quotes from the message on steemit.chat.

Yesterday I was sending messages on https://steemit.chat/ which left me confused when I read a post by @allasyummyfood saying it was offline. I then observed the error message that I put to begin this with. Here are the key lines.

If you are reading this then @riverhead, and by extension steemit.chat, has been fired.

As many know witness positions are highly coveted as pay at current prices is around $200,000 - $500,000+ per year versus around $50k - $90k for the 21st position and dropping sharply after that. There is a HUGE difference between the top 20 and backup witnesses. As @klye mentioned the other day, "These are the rockstars of witnesses".

From what I can see, it appears @riverhead wanted to take a break from Steem and was getting burnt out managing steemit.chat along with the constant need to keep getting more witness votes to stay in the top 20.

Rank 21 Witness = Fired?


The top 20 witnesses get about 260 Steem power a day by producing a block and getting a reward every 63 seconds while the remaining 21 take turns getting the backup reward of 0.957 Steem power up to 60 times a day at rank 21 and down to once a day at around rank 100. This means today every witness in the top 20 earns over $1,000 worth of Steem as long as the votes and the servers stay online. I get how much it sucks to take the drop after making my way into the top 20 witnesses in October 2017 only to then lose 20% of my votes within a week and today being grateful to be at rank 25 or so.

@riverhead appears to be defining as "fired" is getting the same witness rewards I do today which is more than most witnesses receive at around 50 Steem power a day worth about $200 a day today. Yes it is painful to be making 260 Steem power a day and then to drop back down to 21 then to almost 30 after losing votes. The question is do we keep contributing when it gets painful or do we quit?

What hurts us the most is to see all that we have given as a blockchain and feel like it is not enough to keep steemit.chat up through the transition? We have given hundreds of thousands and maybe even millions of dollars worth of Steem for your service with steemit.chat combined with $200 more a day still! You have been taking the time to cash out $1,000 a day on Bittrex. You have almost $3 million dollars worth of Steem power today. Is this enough to merit a week or two more of hosting steemit.chat?

riverhead wallet.jpg

@riverhead we hope this is an opportunity to make a warm goodbye from steemit.chat and connect with all the people that appreciate steemit.chat by putting it back online.


So far we just have confusion about "being fired" and suggestions that the witness system we have today at https://steemit.com/~witnesses is not good enough. Believe me I have thought that many times myself and I can say today that while it leaves room for improvement, it is better than any other top cryptocurrency offers!

To add to the confusion, @riverhead is not voting himself as a witness. Does that mean you fired yourself too?

riverhead teamsteam.jpg

Before making the post about quitting, @riverhead appears to have lost a big vote by first unvoting @xeldal who then unvoted back just before @riverhead made the post about quitting.

riverhead xeldal votes.jpg

Then following the post about turning over management of steemit.chat, a few more big voters like @donkeypong and @ats-david removed witness votes along with @pharesim this morning leaving @riverhead in good/bad company.

riverhead jerrybanfield.jpg

Let's Stay Together?


The challenges we face are our true tests of faith. When life gets challenging for us, we have the opportunity to change and grow. We hope this is a chance to grow together @riverhead after all you have given already. That said, we understand if a break is needed.

We would like to end this stage of our journey together and make the transition into something new with a chance to connect with you and make either proper goodbyes or figure out ways to stay in touch. The error message we are receiving is blocking us from doing this and creating confusion as well as perhaps some panic as many of us have shared confidentially in steemit.chat and are not sure how to stay in touch with some people without it.

One more time ...

@riverhead will you please put steemit.chat online again until @followbtcnews takes over because we would all appreciate it?


Love,
Jerry Banfield

Sort:  

Is there a chance to create alternative chat platform connected to steemit?
Just curious :)

Good to make another article about this and clear it out! I’m sure everything is fine, but a lot of us use steemit chat and has been a great part of our daily life! Thanks @jerrybanfield for outlining it all even in more details. Let’s hope it’s all going to be sorted soon! :)

Hi @jerrybanfield, I'm writing to you because you are vegan like myself and also I noticed your bot was used to upvote a vegan burger contest that I entered, the competiton said they would upvote any entry I joined the burger contest so id get more exposure, i'd didn't expect to win but they did not upvote me, i even left a comment twice, then a comment again when they annunced the winners and I was still ignored. i'm merely a minnower here, working from the bottom up. No job, no money putting all my effort into steemit because i believe it is the future of platforms after having so much trouble with instagram and other medias lost in the vast expanse. I'd appreciate it if you and anyone else here take the time to look at my creations. I made a post in English & German and I also spent 2 days making and editing this video for the recipe
celestialcowlong.jpg

hey Jerry,

pardon the off-topic comment…

I made a post today regarding a large-scale idea to advance Steem’s development, and it was recommended to share with the witnesses to help get this in front of the audience who’d be in the position to do something with/about it:


The $1 Billion Steem Development Fund: How Steemit Inc.'s Stake Could Be Best Allocated To Grow A Thriving Network Of Applications And Users...

would be cool if you could have a read, and IF you feel it’d be a great idea that’d serve the community, forward to anyone in particular you know who might be in a position of influence to advance the discussion. 🙏

cheers,

Rok

Rok this is an awesome discussion to have and I think what you have suggested is very helpful to the conversation to focus on funding projects especially when combined with @gtg's comment about onboarding! Our @budgets account funds projects designed to help grow Steem and sent an upvote for your post through my voting bot because your post might help with opening up new opportunities for funding for our blockchain!

My team and I are taking over operations of Steemit.chat and we are working hard to get it back up.. Gandalf and Riverhead are being tremendous help in the process.. Steemit.chat will be back online shortly .. Thanks for your patience everyone.

Edit: self voted for exposure

If myself or team of sysadmins can help you guys, let me know. We'd be more than glad to help!

Outstanding thank you Jeff! I am very happy to see it is back online today!

Upvoted you for a more better exposure lol. Thanks for your hard work and dedication towards steemians

Yes, there are many developments on this platform, which I consider the platform of my favorite and also find that the service Chat by a distinctive and was a reason to know many special people

So bad... Maybe that's why this kind of service should reside on a blockchain, so we could keep the "database" forever (even encrypted for private messages) and plug it to a few backup hosts / domain names, what do you think @jerrybanfield ?

Wow: the optics don't look that good...looks something like a ragequit. It's not really a ragequit, as @riverhead agreed to hand off Steemit Chat to new management, but I can see it being maliciously spun as that.

Definitely looks like a rage quit.

When everything on the blockchain is so transparent (as evidenced by @jerrybanfield's completely legitimate rummaging through of @riverhead's past), a witness (whether at position 21 or position 121) ought to know that certain things will trigger a reaction. Unapproving a witness will trigger an unapproval of yourself, unfollowing someone will trigger an unfollow of yourself, flagging will trigger flags against you.

If everyone rage quit when that happened, steemit.com would be a very empty place.

@jerrybanfield , I hope many more talented developers will get involve in this site because it's a great opportunity for individuals...

excellent writer........I'm always posting when I'm coming ... I'm a big fan of your post.♦ thanks sir♦.............@jerrybanfield

@jerrybanfield I am very grateful that you are my PROXY for witness Voting. The TRUST I place in you is because You and I have similar things in common and I know you always give 110% to making STEEMIT the BEST it can be. I Thank You once again for your Service..................

I wish this chat devolop in the future we want place of chat like facebook

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05