What would you do if you would be given 100,000 Steem?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

View this answer on Musing.io

Wew! That is a lot of Steem! What I would probably do first is say Thank You! Can't believe some people missed that XD

Truth be told I have been thinking about this hypothetical scenario for a very long time now, except I was thinking around 1 Million SP 4 months ago. I was very specific on what I would do with it on one of my blog post to which you can read in here: https://steemit.com/steem/@jlordc/what-would-i-do-with-a-1million-steem-power-43cefbdc7fa61est

Anyways, 100,000SP ain't really that much in terms of how much an upvote gives. According to SteemNow.com, at full power 100,000SP only gives $6.41, a significant amount but not really enough to properly scale one's vote. 

Now if I am to be honest here, if I was given 100,000 liquid Steem with no strings attached the very first thing I would with it is cash out 25% of it. To some people that might be a hypocritical move of me considering how I am bubbling how I love Steem and how I am so hell bent on powering up. 

But honestly one life goal of mine is to be a millionaire in my country before I reach the age of  30. With the current market price of $0.8, 25000 STEEM is exactly 1 Million Pesos, achieving one of my life goal. Yipieee to whoever gave me that liquid Steem right? XD

As for the remaining 75000 Steem, I would power it all up. I really believe on what Steem will be in the years to come and I am just so lucky to be one of the earliest people to be a part of it. 

After powering it all up I would delegate 1000 SP to 25 people, that would be 25000 SP to be given to people who have the same mindset as me in here. Of course I am not trying to be a saint here, I see delegation as a sort of investment. If you delegate to someone, there is a high chance of them upvoting you back as a sort of "Thank You".  They might only have 1000SP now but just imagine how much SP will they have after a year. If they are planning to stay here for a long time, then they will most likely double or even triple that 1000SP in a year making their upvote worth much more. 

Also as one who started here with the default 15SP, I know the struggles of most newbies on this platform with no investment. It's really really hard to get noticed and be taken seriously with what little SP you have. Me delegating 1000SP on this hypothetical scenario will make 25 people happy and would encourage them all to stick and stay with the platform. The more people who stick to the platform, the more this platform will grow.

The remaining 50000 SP would be for my personal use. A $3.20 full upvote is a good enough amount to get noticed by other people here. Based on what I noticed, people flock in to where the money givers are. I usually say I hate attention, but deep inside I really do lol So yeah this would probably make me more popular compared to now and those other orcas/whale would definitely notice me after which would significantly increase my post payouts too xD


Sort:  

what a vote is worth seems to drop so quickly, there's some serious inflation, very noticeable as a minnow. I've found people are stingy with their votes, its like free to vote wtf?. I like the platform but i'm not sure its even worth having a lot of SP. I would probably delegate to a community service. My question is how do we make plankton's votes worth anything. i dont want another social media platform with useless "likes" i dont care how many people like me.

what a vote is worth seems to drop so quickly, there's some serious inflation, very noticeable as a minnow.

I agree. Compared to months ago it seems that a worth of an upvote now have dropped to almost half.

I've found people are stingy with their votes, its like free to vote wtf? I like the platform but i'm not sure its even worth having a lot of SP.

Again I agree on the stingy part. What I really think the problem is that only a few accounts here have an upvote that means something. For reference, 99% of all accounts here on Steem have less than 500SP. So I think only around 100 accounts have SP greater than 50000 and can give a significant payout. With over 50k active accounts daily, there is just no way they could upvote or curate all posts even if they upvote all post at 1%.

how do we make plankton's votes worth anything. i dont want another social media platform with useless "likes" i dont care how many people like me.

The only thing I could think of as a solution to this is Steemit Inc's Oracle system something which is supposed to be released next year. Based on what I have read, developers will have an option if they will use "stake-weighted voting" (how much SP an account has) or use "1Account per Upvote".

And yeah sorry about that. I also don't want another social media with useless likes. I should have worded that differently :)

What a coincidence, I was also eyeing to have at least a million before I reach 30, but I think you have a strong chance once prices starts to kick even without someone delegating to you since, at this point, I think you are among the veterans and established individuals in the platform and the growth in here as I see it is exponential, meaning as you reach greater heights climbing up another height becomes much easier. Getting past the 15 sp delegation I think is the hardest thing to do in this platform, because as what you've said it is rare to find someone that is going to give them the time of day when everyone is hell bent on earning $.

Posted using Partiko Android

I totally agree about the hardest part here is getting past the 15DSP from Steemit Inc. I still remember the time where they take little by little some of the DSP hours after you claim your post rewards lol The struggle is real

Or we could go straight to being a billionaire? Ultra Lotto 6/58 ha ha

Posted using Partiko Android

The lotto is no longer viable, two individuals already got the time of their life lol. Let's just stick with the hard grind haha

Posted using Partiko Android

D*mn it! I honestly bought a ticket this week lol

Well I just need Steem now to go back to at least $8 for me to become a somewhat millionaire online lol

Posted using Partiko Android

hmm interesting! probably never gonna happen to anyone but hope dies last :P

I would hold 25% in steem in order to cash it out quickly if i wanted, then i would power up the remaining and i would give certain amounts as delegations to people and communities i believe in. I would keep around the same as you and do the same thing as now.

Probably i would use autovoting services in order to have the time to find more and more quality users and reward them. Ofc i would self vote each and every single post i make :P

I would hold 25% in steem in order to cash it out quickly if i wanted

Yeah this is much better than immediately cashing out, probably keep a percent of it on-hold in case Steem moon's up(for God's knows when lol) instead of cashing it all out immediately xD

Ofc i would self vote each and every single post i make

Well I don't really self-vote now but with a guaranteed $3 on every post, I really might reconsider lol

yes it will be better to cash out for example if steem is at 3$ than 0,80 :P you never know when it's gonna happen though but i don't think there is any fear that the price will drop at 0,10 or lower :P

I am all for self voting your posts even if it's worth 100$ :P but only if it's a post that you took some time to write and not a single picture or phrase and at the same time you have to upvote others too. ( like what you and i do at an everyday basis)

Ok, keep on dreaming and one day you will achieve it. Steem Dream On!. XD

Hi @jlordc!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.317 which ranks you at #7450 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 7454).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 223 contributions, your post is ranked at #158.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79