"Why in the world would I want my tweets immutable?" - A Case for Censorship Resistant Social Media

in #steem5 years ago (edited)


image.png



This is a statement I heard from a well known Bitcoin influencer when I went to a recent conference in LA. It's one I can relate to.. hell I see no use in most of what I post being immutable. Why in the world would anyone need to ensure what they share on social media can't be removed by some other party? Who the hell cares if no one can ever find that post I wrote about some experience at the fair I had or that rant I did when I was annoyed? Why is this something that is even seen as needed?

I think to understand this you have to look beyond oneself and the way they use social media and instead look at what social media has become to the world - A way to communicate.

Social media has become more than sharing cat photos and bitching about your ex - it's become a way for people all over the world to be informed with recent events and communicate with one another, instantly. It's a way for us to get first hand experience on events happening around us. Do you know where I go to get the most recent information on the uprising in Hong Kong? Twitter. That's right.. I scroll twitter tags to see citizen journalist first hand experiences. I then feel like I am getting information from multiple sources and therefore can get a clearer picture of what is actually happening.

Social Media Has Become A Way To Share Information

So what happens when that information can just be filtered? What happens when we can only see what specific individuals want us to see? What happens when this form of communication and the extremely important right to free speech that goes along with it is censored? Well then we are back to where we were - only seeing a small piece of the puzzle.

For content creators this also means that their ability to share and communicate with their audience is completely in the hands of the companies who hold the rights to that content. They can be shadow banned, silenced and their content can be completely deleted without so much as a warning, it happens everyday.

This morning in my twitter feed I came across an article that @Lukestokes had retweeted-


The case stems from an Austrian politician who requested specific critical comments made about her be removed from Facebook. Clearly we don't know what these comments were... were they threats? Harassment? Or just disagreements? The articles states that the Austrian court found that the remarks could be harmful to her reputation by insulting and defaming her and therefore they ruled in her favor.

"This judgment raises critical questions around freedom of expression and the role that internet companies should play in monitoring, interpreting and removing speech that might be illegal in any particular country," Facebook said in a statement.

The social network said the decision could force internet companies to proactively monitor all content and then interpret if it is "equivalent" to content that has been found to be illegal by one nation's court.


Now what does this mean? Well we already know that social media platforms like Facebook, Twitter, YouTube etc have already removed content they found to go against their TOS or possibly just what they did not agree with. This adds another interesting aspect because now a court, not the site owner, is deciding what can and cannot be communicated on these sites.

I am a big believer in freedom of speech and that also means protecting even what I don't agree with. I feel that when we go into the realm of threats and harassment things get a bit tricky, as while I believe in freedom of speech for all, I don't feel people should have to take being harassed and there should be options to somewhat combat that.. but to me that does not mean silencing anyone who I disagree with. I don't know the specifics of what these comments where but considering Facebook hasn't been known to be much of a protector of speech, I would assume if they were threatening they would have been removed without a court order, but that is just an assumption.

A Case For Steem

While I don't see any reason for my tweets or posts to be immutable specifically, I fully understand that there is absolutely a need for it. We may think our own social media activities are "not important" but can we say that for all information shared across social media? I think this is a huge use case for Steem personally and am glad to see projects like @threespeak targeting this market in such a visual way.

I feel that having the ability to share information across the globe that cannot be censored will become more and more important as we see more cases like this. And while I know you all will tell me _"Well Steemit.com can be censored too." Well of course it can, it's a private company that has laws they need to follow as well as make a user experience that people will actually want to be involved in... But the chain can never be altered.

Even if every single Steem UI that we currently are aware of has to remove some content in the future, another UI can be coded that could easily read that information, as it is fully immutable.

This means that the sharing of information will always be protected, no matter if it's censored everywhere else. This is monumental in this day and age and I believe will continue to be more and more important as we go along.

So while I see absolutely no reason to have my tweets immutable or my posts on Steem.. I see that some of the information shared fully needs this ability and I think we see examples of this every single day.

Anyone who sees the importance of free speech has to recognize that.. even a grumpy bitcoin maximalist. ;)


What are your thoughts?


Much Love and Steem On,

Justine

image source

Sort:  

Ideally, I would like to see the full control of the social media content to be in the hands of the user. Let the users toggle the options to keep their content immutable, forgotten after some time, private and only accessible by user defined permissions, etc.

P.S. For example: Often we see companies monetizing users’ data with ad revenues or selling data. Steemit is doing the same, other front-ends will too. I am all for Steemit to become more profitable and sustainable with ads; I want them to be successful. But once they become big, I would like to be able to set the permissions if they can use my data for those profiting purposes or not. Or only allow certain platforms I give permission to use the data.

Yeah that is a great point and something that I think could be accomplished quite easily. In fact the idea of try social accounts that would be UI specific would allow this, but then that content would only be seen on that UI. I’m not sure of a technical way it could be picked up by each front end but not be held on chain, but maybe there is a way.

I think giving users ownership and choices with their data is pretty powerful.

The way it can be done is if all data is initially encrypted when stored on blockchain. Then user can choose to make it visible (decrypted) to all users, select users, select communities, etc in the settings. In a similar manner user can also authorize UIs or revoke authorization from UIs to display the data.

P.S. We already have a similar function with encrypted memos.

Steem is a little more complicated because of the rewarding function. If you expect to be rewarded by Steem stakeholders for your contributions I don't think it is reasonable to have it only be visible to your friends, or even, in most cases, to remove it later (after rewards have been paid).

It could always be tried but I know as a stakeholder I would be downvoting and not upvoting any encrypted content put on the chain that I can't even see which is also asking for rewards.

Not every usage of Steem has to involve rewards though, and there are some big ones on here already that don't. Perhaps such an app could be developed that offers social type features, restricted visibility using encryption, and uses Steem but either without the reward pool aspect, or with a narrower pool (using SMTs, etc.)

Yes, I agree. Not making the content visible to all, would automatically decline rewards. UIs would hide encrypted content.

I think, at some point in the future reward pool for content will be removed anyway, once SMTs show different use cases for rewarding content. Tribes already showing that Steem can function fine without the Steem reward pool.

Regarding removing the content after some time, it is a reasonable feature to give the users, maybe after a year or two. There can also be a return of rewards back to the pool when removing content or revoking authorization to display the content.

All good points!

Exactly. Just another key pair or two (or three) in our pki keychain...

This is also a great time to have a solution to this problem as many are currently aware, not just of demonetizing content, (youtube) or even suppression (google) but the actually removing it and wiping away evidence of opposing views.

Great post.

Oddly enough my tweet about it seems to not be getting much traffic.. which is odd compared to my normal engagement. Perhaps they just shadowban anyone who uses that tag? 🤣

6657E0F3-C0A5-4F14-8E7C-2E84CD5E2885.jpeg

Made me giggle, had to share.

yeah it's not on my twitter feed at all, I found it only by going to your profile

Yes for sure. We are seeing this in the news constantly, and here we sit with an already working product. It may need some fine tuning, but it’s a proven remedy for this.

Thanks!

I also support the freedom of speech. They can't put people into the same shape. We don't need to behave as they want.

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree. And we can’t learn anything in an echo chamber after all 😉

Well if General AI is ever going to be able to see the real fundamental flaws in human thinking we require immutable sources if information to power it!

It’s not about it being important or not and yes users should decide what they see or don’t want to see!

But as we move into a AI driven world if certain content cannot be found it’s actually skews data sets! The intent should be a sample set of every type of thinking, view and perception

If we don’t have counter narratives we build dangerous echo chambers which we already see on traditional Social media where it quickly becomes polarizing since you don’t get the centric argument or the various degrees in between you just get the black and white

But I don’t want to help the AI robots 😫

I agree fully with the echo chamber.. we learn and grow as human beings by experiencing new things and interacting with individuals who have different backgrounds, experiences and ideas.

Fully agree.

A good counterpoint to those question why social media should be immutable: Why Not?

Who cares if you don't find @justineh's fair memory worthy of being read, engaged with, or commented on. It should still be saved.

We, as humans, have developed a remarkable technology to allow us to record our history in a way like no other. No longer will history be written by the winners, no longer will we have to rely on heresy and rumors, no longer will we have to hope we are getting accurate accounts of events.

The blockchain allows us to fully embed our thoughts into the record of our history, and that is a technology that should be championed, not censored.

Congratulations @justineh! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 6000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28